We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely House, Lovely Owners, Lovely Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Plas Derwen Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corwen
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We just had one of the best weekends away with the kids in Wales. We stayed (very last minute) at Plas Derwen and only booked on the day of arrival! The owenrs were very helpful and obliging and made our stay fantastic. The family room was very comfortable, clean and smelled lovely. The location is great for day trips to loads of fantastic places. The breakfast (esp. the fresh plums and cherries) was brilliant. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank northernbrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
There are newer reviews for Plas Derwen Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 20 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2010

This is a very nice B and B, but I was a little nervous with 2 young children since the house is full of antiques and nice furniture.
The room we had was very nice. The beds are excellent and the bathroom was very good. This is a great place for a couple, but leave the children at home. There is no place to eat within 2-3 miles of the B and B. We drove about 11 miles to LLangollen for dinner at the Cornmill one night. This is a nice spot on the river, but a little far to go for dinner, especially with 2 tired children.

The breakfast was very good and the hosts are very gracious. I would definitely recomment Plasderwen, but not for children (mine at least).

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2008

A lovely house! Nice rural area, run by a lovely welcoming and friendly couple. We had the oak room for 2 nights, the largest of the 3 and it was a fantastic size with a fantastic lowered bathroom.
Well located for Llangollen, walking distance to corwen.
Will definately return if we are in the area again, GREAT value for money, very good rates.

Lisa from Leicestershire.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank captainbrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2007

Stayed over Easter and had a great time. Chris and Alan made us very welcome within their beautiful home. Our room was outstanding and even had a large bath, perfect for recovering from the walk up Snowdon. Alan even presented us with eggs to celebrate Easter!!. Open fires, Tea and Welsh Cake on arrival, wildlife walking past the breakfast room windows, idylic.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PopsCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corwen
8.0 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
164 reviews
9.5 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
15.1 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#2 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
427 reviews
11.1 mi away
White Lion Royal Hotel
7.8 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#6 of 10 in Llangollen
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Derwen Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Derwen Country House

Address: London Road, Corwen LL21 0DR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Corwen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Corwen
Price Range: £74 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Plas Derwen Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plas Derwen is the most charismatic and historical country house in the area. An eighteenth-century former rectory to the church in Corwen, half a mile away. Plas Derwen (which translates as Oak Hall in English), is a grade II listed building situated at the western end of the scenic and historic Dee Valley.Set within five acres of secluded garden and rolling fields, with magnificent views over the River Dee and valley, Plas Derwen offers a friendly, peaceful and tranquil setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plas Derwen Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Derwen Country House Corwen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing