We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel and surroundings xxx” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bron-y-Graig

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bron-y-Graig
Ranked #4 of 15 Corwen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and surroundings xxx”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

3rd visit here and will be back! Customer service is first rate. The owners are fantastic and very helpful lots of interesting history facts about the hotel in books you can look at. Beautiful place love it!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendiryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith80, Owner at Bron-y-Graig, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Thank you for your review and we are so glad you enjoyed your repeat visit. Over the past 18 months we have discovered so much more of the fascinating story of Bron-y-Graig and its previous inhabitants, so we are pleased you found our research folders interesting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    22
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
32
28
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

We have stayed here for the last 5 or 6 years with our border collie floss.... Judith and David have always been extremely accommodating and very welcoming Judiths poached eggs are to die for!!!. William Morris decor is not to every ones taste but suits this hotel extremely well making it a very cosy and relaxing environment. I suggest to the people that find it dreary don't appreciate or understand William Morris decor at all.......and as far as dogs being welcome........... so what !!!! the rooms are spotless!!looking forward to many more stays at brony graig xxx

Room Tip: rooms to the front have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith80, Owner at Bron-y-Graig, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Thank you for your kind review - we are so pleased to hear you like our breakfasts, and you may like to know that we have recently extended our menu to include American pancakes and more herbal teas. We are pleased that you found Bron-y-Graig welcoming and spotless and friendly to your dog.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

On arriving at the hotel,after a 3 hour journey, we found a note on the door saying "back at 5. 15." We waited about 10 mins and then the door was opened by our host ( unsmiling and unwelcoming!) His first words were "Sign in". it was not a very nice first impression. Also the reception area is a little dreary and dark. The wall paper is very dark and this gives a very drab effect. We were taken to our rooms which are decorated in William Morris wallpaper. Ours was dark green and very dark and dreary. The bedcover looked faded and worn. However the linen was all crisp and spotlessly clean. Good sized bathroom. Lovely views. Delicious biscuits too! The breakfast was good. However I would not stay here again as I found it too dark and dreary. I did not feel very welcome, although the service was ( after a bad start) efficient. Also I did not like to read that dogs are welcome in the bedrooms! YUK!!!!! I prefer less fussy accomodation. Would prefer even a Premier Inn every time! It's just a matter of personal choice.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 1 2 or 3 as they are the original "family" rooms. Some of the others are the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanePWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith80, Owner at Bron-y-Graig, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are sorry you were not welcomed as we would like: sometimes it is necessary to go out to collect supplies, and we are sorry that on this occasion we did not take the time to make you feel at home.

Bron-y-Graig is decorated in William Morris papers and Victorian colours and as such we realise you did not like the style.

We are sorry you did not like to see that we are pet-friendly. Guests may bring dogs by prior arrangement, although they are not permitted in the breakfast room. We do try to make this clear in our room information as we realise that some people do not like dogs. However given our excellent walking location we find many customers like to bring their dogs with them. Rooms are cleaned thoroughly every day, and we thank you for commenting that your room was clean.

We are glad you were pleased with your service and that you enjoyed your breakfasts.

Thank you again for taking the time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hook, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

The moment you arrive the lovely, well-kept gardens and the internal decor serve to relax you. Then the friendly welcome and excellent service make you feel right at home.

We stayed two nights, but were unfortunate in the weather. My wife turned that into an opportunity to go shopping in Cheshire Oaks outlet mall. My daughter then found Monopoly which we all played together in the lounge and I found a copy of Dune among the large selection of books, so it worked out for all of us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor with a view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank idlest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We have just stayed for one night at Bron-y-Craig . We were attending a wedding nearby . This is a lovely bed and breakfast !! Room and bathroom both spotless , the bedding crisp and clean .Lovely decor , giving a calm , relaxing atmosphere . Breakfast was wonderful , served to us by a very respectful young lady . She asked us several times if we would like more tea , coffee or toast .It was really cold the night we stayed but when we arrived back, quite late , to our room, the heating was on and it was so lovely to arrive back to a lovely cosy , warm room .My husband and I would certainly consider staying there again if we are ever in the area again .

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stiiycheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

I have just returned from a most enjoyable stay at Bron-y-Graig in Corwen. Judith and Mandy were so kind, helpful and welcoming. Their attention to detail is brilliant. The room was extremely comfortable and I was most grateful that they welcomed both of my (well-behaved) dogs. Wi-fi is available from the room. Breakfasts were consistently delicious with very efficient, friendly service. Thank you very much for my great stay.

Room Tip: Room One had a great view and is a very generous size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GilesAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cle Elum, Washington
Level Contributor
166 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

I conduct small group tour around the UK and we try to stay here at least once a year as it is one of my favorite places to stay in Wales. I found it a few years back and it is exactly what we look for when choosing accommodation for our small group tours. I feel instantly at home when I walk in the door and always look forward to a wonderful dinner as well. The William Morris decor compliments the house perfectly and Judith and David will meet your every need. This will always be my choice when we are in the north of Wales and I am very much looking forward to another stay in just a few weeks!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottishDreamTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corwen
0.6 mi away
Plas Derwen Country House
7.3 mi away
Chainbridge Hotel
Chainbridge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
7.5 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
9.5 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
0.4 mi away
Crown Hotel B&B
Crown Hotel B&B
#12 of 15 in Corwen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bron-y-Graig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bron-y-Graig

Property: Bron-y-Graig
Address: Bron y Graig London Road, Corwen LL21 0DR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Corwen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Corwen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bron-y-Graig 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bron-y-Graig is a luxurious 9-bedroom Victorian Town House Hotel in North Wales with tranquil river and mountain views. Set in the beautiful Dee Valley, it is the ideal base for exploring Snowdonia, Chester and North Wales Castles and Coast, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, SpeedyBooker.com and Priceline so you can book your Bron-y-Graig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bron-y-Graig Corwen, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing