We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The West Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Had a one night stay with dinner. Nice big room with great bath and wonderful separate shower in no 15.
Lovely food and nice friendly service.
Located in small quiet village, good for walks and cycling

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneNavein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    123
    37
    20
    10
See reviews for
52
339
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The west arms is a lovely old building full on character. The hotel has lots of quirky rooms which are cosy and full of warmth. It has a real laid back vibe with real charm.

Some comments had been made by previous guests regarding the food which I find hard to believe.
The food we had was a set menu through our Travelzoo offer. I could only be described a gourmet. The food was better than I could have expected, silver service but not over the top.
We didn't know what the menu was until an hour before we where taken to our table which was quite mysterious and magical.
We didn't eat from the main menu however when we first walked into the bar people where eating they where saying how good it was.
We sampled quite a few drinks from the bar but the ale's where fab !.
If you read a bad review on here my only comment would be that these people really need to get live a little. it's a fab old place with great staff, don't change a thing Gill.
We will defiantly be returning the perfect getaway.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11 brilliant views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel8mystew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossett, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from our nights stay that we booked with the travel zoo offer.

Having used voucher type websites before and not being impressed with the offer you end up getting The West Arms offer was amazing on paper and in reality!!!

We weren't sure what to expect but as we are doing a house up and it being pretty chaotic booked a night away and had the best time. The 3 couse meal we had was amazing, we eat out allot at various bars and restaurants and this meal is one of the nicest either myself of my boyfriend have ever had. I had gravlax for starter and the salmon was so soft it just melted as you ate it. For mains by boyfriend had the lamb which came with mash potato which he described as being like buttery clouds as were so fluffy, the food defiantly made us smile and for a traditional looking pub the food was a surprise. Deserts were also fabulous. We also had the cheese board and the selection on offer was good, staff were lovely and when we asked for a few more crackers due to amount cheese on offer they were happy to bring more for us.

The drinks on offer were also lovely, the cider on tap tasted really appley which is always how I imagined cider should taste but have always failed to taste before. My boyfriend worked his way through the local beers and whiskey and brandy selection and now has a few new favorite drinks.

We were in room 15 which was nice and large and had lovely deep bath and nice big seperate shower. Lots of hot water too. My only issue was with the bed as it was 2 singles that had been pushed together but were slightly different heights so a padded topper would have helped. Also the duvet was too small for the bed so ended up having few tug of war sessions in the night, had we been staying for longer I would have asked for larger duvet or second one but for one night it was fine.

Overall we have had a fantastic little night away and will defiantly be visiting again, staff were all helpful and friendly and really make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for your great review - just a little detail to say we have now taken your comments into consideration and put a mattress topper over the bed in the two superior rooms to make the stay more comfortable as huge beds for two!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We went on a deal booked through Travelzoo for one night with dinner, bed and breakfast. I have never been to this part of Wales before but the promise of multiple open fires, good food and peace and quiet convinced me to go. The building is lovely. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.
We found the staff very friendly, although at breakfast there appeared to be only one girl waiting on which meant that we had a bit of a wait for service. The three course meal in the restaurant on our evening there was lovely. The desserts were the best course with a treacle tart that was perfect.
It's a lovely little place but very out of the way. If it's solitude your looking for then this area of Wales is great.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lancslass64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Higher Bebington, null, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The most wonderful mini break!! If you relish peace, tranquility and glorious scenery in your location; first class dining, attentive service and old world charm in your accommodation then you can look no further than the West Arms! We booked on a deal with Travel Zoo and didn't really know what to exepect. Suffice to say everything exceeded our wish list.

Bearing in mind the hotel had been without power for 3 days due to the 12 February storms, there was nothing that hadnt been thought of in terms of providing guests with a first class hospitable and warm welcome.

Please visit and support this wonderful business. We will certainly be back and next time we may take our son - or maybe not as our mini break was so romantic and memorable we are looking forward to our next one as I write!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We visitited the West Arms on a deal booked through Travelzoo. Two nights B&B + dinner on the first night (first night being Valentine's Day). Just prior to setting off from home, the owner rang us to say that they had been without electricity for two days, due to the big storm of 12th Feb. We were given the option of cancelling, but after being told that they were still taking guests, and could still prepare meals and serve drinks, because we had been looking forward to the break so much, armed with torches and warm clothes, we decided to be adventurous, and go for it! The village of LLanarmon DC is a lovely place, in the Ceriog valley, and when we arrived at the West Arms we were pleased to see that other guests were indeed beginning to arrive. We were soon in the Lounge Bar, which had a roaring log fire and was bathed in candelight. A good atmoshere was soon established, and later the Chef prepared an excellent Valentines 3-Course meal (incl complimentary oysters). We eventually retired to what was a cold room (no heating)...but with extra duvets, a warm and snug Valentine's night was ensured!! We didn't let the poor weather deter us from a 9 mile walk on the second day, in what is fantastic countryside. To our relief the power had been restored when we returned, so it was hot baths/showers, and then back for more food and drink. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our Valentines with a difference. The staff at the West Arms were great. We will deffinitely return (in Summer next time maybe), and would highly recommend the place (don't listen to all the fuss-pots with their negative reviews).

Room Tip: We booked a standard double, but were in Room 11 which is a family room...it was excellent..!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miltonrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancs
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Had a pleasant two day walking trip in the village of Llanarmon.
We enjoy our food and dine out regularly.
All we can say us that if it's the food/chef that attracts you too the west arms we would suggest you try "the hand" which is the gastro pub opposite. The menu in the west is quite uninspiring. And that's both the "fine dining" (which certainly it isn't) in the restaurant or the more traditional fayre in the bar. The breakfast was adequate but the evening meal very disappointing.
We also ate over the road in "the hand" and found that to be excellent.
Our room was more than adequate. Comfortable, both in size & furnishings and with a nice bathroom & shower.
So it would be unfair to be over critical. A little pricy but overall adequate. But, if it's the food you are going for, choose elsewhere is our opinion.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior room at least.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walkwithfaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff and Gill L, Owner at The West Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
We are sorry you did not enjoy the fine dining experience of our restaurant - perhaps the menu/type of cuisine we offer is not to your taste and therefore the gastro pub is more to your liking. We are fortunate to generally receive many excellent compliments. However we are glad you enjoyed the walking in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanarmon DC
0.0 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
406 reviews
11.0 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
129 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
761 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Hand Hotel
The Hand Hotel
#4 of 10 in Llangollen
387 reviews
11.7 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Arms Hotel

Property: The West Arms Hotel
Address: Llanarmon DC | Llangollen, Llanarmon DC LL20 7LD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llanarmon DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The West Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Arms is a traditional Olde Inn (16th Century) with beams and uneven slate flagged floors, roaring open fires and low ceilings. It offers an abundance of warmth and charm with quirky individuality. No bedrooms are the same. We are a privately owned business with a wealth of experience, offer a friendly informal welcome. We have 15 bedrooms, a superb Chef who has a great pedigree, lovely friendly staff and are situated in a beautiful location. If you want a bland boutique modern hotel with a lack of soul, The West Arms is not the place for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The West Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Arms Hotel
West Arms Llanarmon Dc
The West Arms Hotel Llanarmon DC, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing