We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third Visit and it`s still very good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The West Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The West Arms Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Third Visit and it`s still very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

My wife and I celebrated the Millenium here and also spent a Christmas here both a few years ago
but memorable.In the time since we last stayed the owner leased it to the staff and moved to the Hanmer Arms.Well whatever happened he`s now back and the place is running just as well as it was when we were last here.
This visit was a Travel Zoo overnight offer D B B.We brought our Labrador ( Dogs welcome here and very common).The meal in the evening was excellent as was the breakfast.The staff are very good being friendly and helpful.We only had a standard room (2) It is in need of refurburbishment particularly the bathroom but everything worked and we were not expecting a 5 star room.I`m sure that had we paid for an upgrade then we would have had a better room

Room Tip: Go for a superior room if you want a better standard and better view but if you want best value and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harveyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    110
    34
    18
    10
See reviews for
51
310
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here overnight on the 20th of April 2014 as a change from staying at The Hand (across the road) where we've stayed previously and this time we were certainly not disappointed.
As we were only staying the one night we booked into one of the cheaper rate rooms (Sarah's room) and found it both clean and adequate for our needs.
We tried to book our evening meal at the Hand because we've eaten there before and found it excellent but they were fully booked so we decided to give the West Arms a chance and booked there instead. So glad we did! The meals we had were delicious and served with a smile by young, friendly staff.
If I had to find fault with the hotel I would have to point out that the free wi-fi isn't available throughout the hotel and certainly not available in Sarah's room and the shower room is exactly 6'3" high so when I (6'3" tall) stood in the bath to have a shower I had to stoop to get under the water. Small criticisms.
We would certainly consider going here again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Took a two night, midweek break at this hotel. On arrival we were shown to a spotlessly clean,if quite small room, by (I found out later) the owner. We were early but the room was ready. We had a problem with the radiator in the room and were instantly provided with a back up heater, until we resolved the radiator issue. Log fires and comfy seating in the lounges and reception were most welcome before dinner. The standard of food is exceptional and we thoroughly enjoyed the two dinners and breakfast we had - long time since I've had boiled eggs with soldiers! The setting is magnificent, surrounded by hills and rushing streams, lots of sheep, rabbits and pheasants. If using a satnav, some of the roads are "interesting" - narrow, steep with spectacular views!
The staff were, without exception, charming and helpful - we will certainly return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is a delightful hotel to stay in. It is a beautiful, historic building yet delivers all mod cons for a comfortable stay. Charming and extremely clean rooms. Every single member of staff was warm, welcoming and efficient. The village is small and beautiful and is perfectly located for touring and especially for walkers. The food at both dinner and breakfast was absolutely delicious and I had a hard time deciding what to eat at dinner as all the dishes were tempting and none of them disappointed. In fact the seafood bisque with poached salmon was so good I could happily have eaten it again and forgone my main course. I would certainly stay here again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazzaCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed for one night to celebrate our silver wedding and it was perfect. The hotel is a lovely old building with lots of character in a quiet village in a beautiful rural part of Wales. Our room, room 2, was a standard twin in the main part of the hotel and was very pretty with a very nice en-suite. We very much enjoyed our dinner in the restaurant and there are bar meals available if you didn't want the "full works". Breakfast was delicious. The hotel staff were friendly and polite. Certainly hope to return!

Room Tip: The rooms seem to vary a lot in price but our standard twin was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 187061Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Walked in the main entrance and the fire was roaring, lovely start, proprietor was so welcoming and warm, room no 1 was lovely and cosy, the food in the restaurant was delicious including the breakfast, really enjoyed out stay and look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremy_pearce1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We booked one night's dinner, bed & breakfast through a Travelzoo deal, which was excellent value. We were a little disappointed that when we booked, they could only offer us a room in the annexe, but this turned out well as the other room in the annexe was unoccupied, so it was like having our own little house! The hotel is full of character, a very old building with all the usual quirks. The room was clean and a good size, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom had both bath AND shower, a big plus. We were a bit concerned we may experience some traffic noise as cars were parked right outside the window, but we slept very well and the only sounds we heard were sheep bleating and birds chirping! The best part was the food. What a fabulous dinner menu. The seafood bisque was divine. Wish I had the recipe! Service was excellent - plenty of staff around - although there was quite a wait between finishing the main course and ordering desserts - we had to ask in the end. Another slight "gripe" was that drinks were rather expensive. The village itself looked lovely. Unfortunately the weather was quite wet so we only managed a short walk round before we went home, but would definitely stay here again and take advantage of the local walks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraGeorgiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanarmon DC
0.0 mi away
The Hand at Llanarmon
The Hand at Llanarmon
#1 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
8.0 mi away
Bryn Howel Hotel
Bryn Howel Hotel
#7 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
7.1 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Premier Inn Oswestry Hotel
15.8 mi away
Ruthin Castle Hotel
7.8 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The West Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The West Arms Hotel

Property: The West Arms Hotel
Address: Llanarmon DC | Llangollen, Llanarmon DC LL20 7LD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llanarmon DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The West Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Arms is a traditional Olde Inn (16th Century) with beams and uneven slate flagged floors, roaring open fires and low ceilings. It offers an abundance of warmth and charm with quirky individuality. No bedrooms are the same. We are a privately owned business with a wealth of experience, offer a friendly informal welcome. We have 15 bedrooms, a superb Chef who has a great pedigree, lovely friendly staff and are situated in a beautiful location. If you want a bland boutique modern hotel with a lack of soul, The West Arms is not the place for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The West Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Arms Hotel
West Arms Llanarmon Dc
The West Arms Hotel Llanarmon DC, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing