We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At the end of the road”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hand at Llanarmon
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Certificate of Excellence
Glossop, UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“At the end of the road”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have just stayed a couple of nights at his love old inn and had a lovely time. You drive along a country lane for around 11 miles and then just when you think you can't go any further the village pops up!
The Hand is an extremely friendly pub all the staff were lovely.
There are parts of the pub that are a bit tired e.g. the dining room but that doesn't really detract from the place itself.
We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was lovely and plentiful.
One point about the bedrooms, is that if you are not a sound sleeper try and avoid one of the rooms over the bar, which can get quite noisy until about 1:00am. This didn't affect us we slept like logs!
Lovely area, when out and about with all sorts going on.
Lovely weekend, thanks.

Room Tip: Avoid those above the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMRGlossop_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    83
    25
    6
    6
See reviews for
49
234
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, Cheshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Great country pub with log fires and that lived in feeling. Staff were great and helped us settle in when we arrived. Big beds and beautiful bathrooms. Food was brilliant.....the porridge with whiskey was just so different. We met friends there for one night only but we will be back.
The area is so unspoilt and is excellent for walkers, have a look at the local church its lovely.

Room Tip: Have stayed there twice and most rooms are lovely and warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jude-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stopped here with my wife for one night. On arriving we were met by the owners who made us most welcome. We were promptly booked in and shown to our room. The room (Number 11) although a double was not the biggest we had stopped in but this was a late booking and it was the only one available. The facilities within the room were very good, with fresh ground coffee and welcome change to the usual nescafe sachets. The room was clean and the bathroom looked to be new. The view from the bedroom was lovely looking over a hill covered with sheep. The only issue with the room was in the middle of the night we woke up to discover the temperature was about 100 degrees! This was easily resolved by opening the window. The bar area is welcoming and locals very friendly. The owners keep a tight ship and do not allow anyone to upset their guests stay. For example on the night we stop I heard one swear word used , to which the owner told the local to mine his language! We ate in the bar area at night and enjoyed a good meal and a few real ales and a bottle of not too over priced wine, next to a roaring fire. The breakfast the following morning was very good with a full selection of cereals, fresh fruit and yogurts. This was followed by a full welsh cooked breakfast with all ingredients coming from the local area. Overall this is a lovely location if you are looking to get away from it all. Mobile phones are useless here as there is no signal and no Wifi, therefore you can just kick back and relax. The only shame is we only stopped for one night. We will definitely be back but for next time for two nights. Thanks for a lovely stay looking forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Book Early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Webheathjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Spent the weekend at the hand, the inn is friendly clean and warm our room was the same with great views over the welsh hills.
We ate both evenings in the restaurant the food was excellent too.
Breakfast was excellent with great choices.
The area is beautiful, I would highly recommend this hidden gem to anybody who loves Wales like we do and enjoys peace and quiet like we do.
The pub is very popular so booking a table at the weekend is a good idea.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmofud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmarthenshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed here two nights over the last weekend with a group.
I cannot rate the place highly enough. Called to ask about bringing my dog and as promised somebody actually phoned me back.
Very warm welcome on arrival, excellent beer and even better food. The staff are a total credit to the place. With regard to food, rooms and overall ambiance this place represents an all too rare example of how things CAN be done.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philCarmarthenshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed here with our two friends for three nights. Well worth the lovely trip down the Ceriog valley. The food in the evening is absolutely wonderful and not over priced. The hand cut chips are devine, ages since we have had any as good. The breakfast didn't quite live up to expectations - no choice of juice, just orange. Very small portions, not even a whole mushroom!! It was all well cooked and delicious though. Our room was well equipped and spacious. The towels could have been fluffier, they were rather on the thin side and the carpet wasn't swept each day. These are just minor irritations that didn't detract from what a wonderful place this is.

Room Tip: Worth asking for the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatariLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

At the end of a hidden valley - an oasis of peace & tranquillity in lovely countryside. It doesn't get much better really - A cracking country Inn with log fires, nice bedrooms, a lively bar & fine dining.

14 of us stayed for 3 nights on a walking break & had a wonderful time - the owners are very much 'hands on' & we found both them & the staff to be good fun, very helpful & friendly.

Excellent food & wine - The Hand is comfortable & cosy & we couldn't praise in highly enough!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanarmon DC
0.0 mi away
The West Arms Hotel
The West Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
493 reviews
11.7 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,464 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
113 reviews
7.1 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
751 reviews
7.8 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hand at Llanarmon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hand at Llanarmon

Property: The Hand at Llanarmon
Address: Upper Ceiriog Valley, Llanarmon DC LL20 7LD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llanarmon DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hand at Llanarmon 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hand is an ancient hostelry with all the attributes you'd expect - bags of character, a cosy, relaxing ambience and a warm welcome from your hosts, Jonathan and Jackie Greatorex. As soon as you arrive you feel the weight of the world dissolving as the surroundings work their magic. All the classic ingredients are here - old beams, roaring fireplaces, a casual mix-and-match of pine and oak furniture, real ale and good food. The latter is seriously good. Thanks to the talents of Head Chef Grant Mulholland and his team, The Hand is renowned for award-winning food, an inventive marriage of country fare and sophisticated metropolitan cuisine. The bedrooms, in a variety of sizes, reflect similar influences, with rustic decor and sparkling modern bathrooms. Country lovers just love the location. You can walk in the Berwyns for hours with only the sheep for company and the ever-helpful Hand can arrange many country pursuits, including horse riding, fishing and shooting. You may be away from it all, but you'll also be in the swing of things; this gem of a country inn is so much a part of village life that locals and visitors mix in unaffected harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Hand at Llanarmon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hand At Llanarmon Hotel Llanarmon Dc
Hand At Llanarmon Dc
The Hand At Llanarmon Llanarmon DC, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing