We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hand at Llanarmon
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic overnight stay”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

For the price paid the room was unbelievable. comfiest bed ever and the biggest bath, note take someone with me next time.
Available in the bar were several local beers and main brand lagers backed up by a reasonable wine list.
The food is fantastic.
I would recommend The Hand to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnhllwll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    83
    25
    6
    6
See reviews for
49
234
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

If you decide to stay at this little hotel, make sure you book the correct 'Hand'. There are three of the same name in the area and our coach driver went to two others first. Our stay was brief--just two nights--and though it was somewhat out of the way, it was located in a picturesque, peaceful valley. We were welcomed by the hosts--as though they were genuinely happy to have us come. The food was excellent and the small lounge with an open fire was a cosy place to check email and generally relax before dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JIJknitting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West midlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

What a superb spot, the drive is beautiful and The Hand is a lovely destination. The atmosphere is great, the staff are very friendly and the food is of a very high standard and freshly prepared. Really couldn't be better

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel82a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Me and my wife stayed for just one night and thoroughly enjoyed it. The Hand is a real ale pub with a great food menu and we extremely surprised at the quality of the food which is prepared by chefs with great skills. The rooms are lovely and clean and all the staff are attentive and extremely pleasant. The breakfast was very good and was to the same quality as the meal the evening before. Set in a beautiful countryside with walks that help shed a few of the calories. We will return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I do not know why this hotel gets rave reviews. Bearing in mind it is rated by the AA as 4 stars, our bedroom had mismatched cheap furniture, only 1 bedside table for a double bed, only 1 chair to sit on and that was hard, divan bases which were tatty, no pillow protectors on the stained pillows , the windows would not shut properly, the shower over the bath was a trickle with hardly any pressure, the television would not switch off by the controller, odd colour scheme and a tired carpet. The lights on the wall over the bed were not in line with where the bed was situated and there was a valve cover missing on the radiator in the bathroom. Dust on switch covers and no bottled water as stated in the guest accommodation booklet.
The evening meal was spoiled by the long black hair in the salmon starter. Uninspired vegetable selection: savoy cabbage shredded sprouts and big chunks of carrots. Breakfast had minimal choice of cereals, half jug of milk for 8 persons , no fresh fruit, concentrated orange juice and not enough bowls. The dining room itself is dismal, very dark stone walls and drab in colour , and there's a pervading smell of smoke from the bar fireplace whilst eating your meal.
On checking out we told the receptionist about the hair in the starter and the shower problem. Although a little shocked, she noted the shower problem on her list of jobs to be done. The hair in the starter was not as important. The 1 night stay with the meal had cost £149. The hotel is tired. Perhaps we just got the wrong room, the wrong meal , the wrong hotel.
If this is assessed to be 4 star by the AA , it calls into question the integrity of the AA rating system . Our stay was definitely not 4 star.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catandc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We have travelled to this Country Hotel for some years now and each time have found the place absolutely wonderful. I am quite loathed to write this review as I really don't want the place to be spoiled by too many people, but I feel I have to as it is quite special. The food is second to none with real ale and very fine wine to accompany. The best place to eat is in the bar area next to the open fire which is so warm and cosy especially after a long walk or horse ride. The rooms are spacious and clean with beautiful bathrooms and comfy beds. I really cannot describe in words how really good this place is.....you will want to return again and again as we have.

Room Tip: Have an evening meal in the bar, with a real fire and cosy seating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Occasionally, when exploring, we find little gems. The surprise of our discovery leaves us with a warm glow, and we can't wait to share our finds with family and friends.
Well today I made a wonderful find.
The Hand Hotel. Great food, very officiant and helpful staff, and a real country pub feel.
Visit, you won't be disappoint.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanarmon DC
0.0 mi away
The West Arms Hotel
The West Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Llanarmon DC
493 reviews
11.7 mi away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,464 reviews
5.5 mi away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Pale Hall Hotel
Pale Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llandderfel
113 reviews
7.1 mi away
White Waters Country Hotel
White Waters Country Hotel
#2 of 10 in Llangollen
751 reviews
7.8 mi away
Abbey Grange Hotel
Abbey Grange Hotel
#9 of 10 in Llangollen
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hand at Llanarmon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hand at Llanarmon

Property: The Hand at Llanarmon
Address: Upper Ceiriog Valley, Llanarmon DC LL20 7LD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Llanarmon DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Llanarmon DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hand at Llanarmon 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hand is an ancient hostelry with all the attributes you'd expect - bags of character, a cosy, relaxing ambience and a warm welcome from your hosts, Jonathan and Jackie Greatorex. As soon as you arrive you feel the weight of the world dissolving as the surroundings work their magic. All the classic ingredients are here - old beams, roaring fireplaces, a casual mix-and-match of pine and oak furniture, real ale and good food. The latter is seriously good. Thanks to the talents of Head Chef Grant Mulholland and his team, The Hand is renowned for award-winning food, an inventive marriage of country fare and sophisticated metropolitan cuisine. The bedrooms, in a variety of sizes, reflect similar influences, with rustic decor and sparkling modern bathrooms. Country lovers just love the location. You can walk in the Berwyns for hours with only the sheep for company and the ever-helpful Hand can arrange many country pursuits, including horse riding, fishing and shooting. You may be away from it all, but you'll also be in the swing of things; this gem of a country inn is so much a part of village life that locals and visitors mix in unaffected harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Hand at Llanarmon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hand At Llanarmon Hotel Llanarmon Dc
Hand At Llanarmon Dc
The Hand At Llanarmon Llanarmon DC, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing