We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HELL ON EARTH ...RIP OFF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Presthaven Holiday Park
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“HELL ON EARTH ...RIP OFF”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed bank holiday weekend 2-5 may. Paid £108 for a wrist band for two adults and three kids believing that they would include activities for the family/kids.no all you can do with them is be allowed into the arcade to spend money. Be allowed into the bars to spend your money. Oh and entry to a tiny indoor pool as the outdoor one was closed. Pool far too small for size of site. Kids went in once. So basically it cost me 108 for the kids to swim once and for them be allowed to walk into the arcade. Discussing. The restaurant boasts that it has waiter service yet wen we went for breakfast we paid and got given two cups of tea and then had to queue for twenty mins for the food. By which time the tea was cold and the man played one breakfast and said we had to wait 5 mins for others as it needed cooking. The place is a rip off it's run by clowns. Almost £4 a pint. The spar shop is double any other spar shop prices. For the size if the site the amenities are appalling and all any of the staff want is your money. I pity anyone who has worked to pay for this hell hole for a holiday. By the time you have paid all they want you to u May as well have gone all inclusive abroad. I'm not exaggerating this place is daylight robbery. I came home depressed. The kids even said it was boring there. I will never understand why a site would charge you £30 to be allowed in the bar. It's a joke. I will never recommend this place to anyone and I will spread the news to as many people as I can how bad this place is

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PresthavenS, Front Office Manager at Presthaven Holiday Park, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Hi Sarah,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your holiday feedback.
I’m really sorry to hear that you feel this way about your recent stay with us. When booking privately (not through Haven Holidays) it does mean buying separate passes, which give you access into all of our entertainments complex for the kids clubs and evening entertainments as well as the arcade and bar facilities and free swimming, I apologise if this wasn’t made clear to you when you purchased your passes.

We do have two indoor pools and a flume, however again I apologise if this was not made clear for you. We do also offer a service in which if you are not satisfied with the passes, you can return within 24hr for a full refund. We would have happily done this for if it had been brought to our attention.

I’m unsure where you have seen that there is table service in the restaurant because as you say this isn’t the case, I have spoken with them team in the Mash & Barrel to make sure that this isn’t implied anywhere in the restaurant. I am concerned about your comments about breakfast being served separately, again I have brought this up with the team so I apologise that you weren’t happy with your experience on this occasion. I can assure you that the team are here to do everything we can in making sure that our guests have a brilliant time here and I apologise if you feel we fell below the high standard guests expect of Haven.

We do have thousands of families arriving every week who have fantastic seaside holidays with us; I hope we can welcome you back to Haven.
Kind Regards,
Cara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    529
    335
    184
    210
See reviews for
1,228
117
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wirral
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here Monday - Friday and yet again another fab 5 days!! I came with friends this time as went last year and was so impressed that I told other people about it.. Staff very friendly,park clean, on site facilities fab,stayed in a deluxe caravan in the area Llan y mor caravan spacious,clean, not noisy at all lovely and quiet...children's evening entertainment brilliant after all it is a haven holiday fun for all the family!! Special thanks to Grant on reception you made are holiday very special for us all... We will back to presthaven next year about 30 of us!!!!! Thank you Presthaven

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank natywirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PresthavenS, Front Office Manager at Presthaven Holiday Park, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to leave us your review.
It’s lovely to hear that you decided to come back to Presthaven Sands and had another fantastic holiday. The team are brilliant; as you say really friendly and we have a fab time working here. I love the Lan y Mor area, right on the sand dunes- if I was to holiday here that’s here I’d like to stay its beautiful. I agree with you about the entertainments as well, so much fun! I have passed on your thanks to Grant who is very happy that you remembered him :-) We will see you soon for what I’m sure will be another fun filled holiday!
Cara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Booked 3 nights in a standard plus caravan to accommodate us,our 5 month old baby & our cocker spaniel. On walking in the caravan it smelt & felt dirty, we tried to not let it bother us too much & know other dogs had been in there but it could have been cleaner & made to smell nicer! The first nights sleep wasn't good-this caravan is in no way suitable for a baby-the bedrooms were freezing in the night,I checked the monitor n it read 10degrees-too cold for a baby! We were freezing wearing layers in bed,our babies hands,legs,feet were really cold in the morning even though he had vest,sleep suit & 2 blankets in his Moses. Our friends were staying in the same standard plus,paid the same but theirs was so much nicer,bigger,cleaner,they had electric radiators on the walls in the bedrooms so were fine heat wise,an en suite! It was vastly different but we paid the same??? It should be the same standard!! I went to reception & explained all the above, they said the caravans vary from model to model,we could hire one heater but they are not safe to leave on all night so as soon as we turned it off the room would have got cold again in the night so we didn't see this as a solution! I asked to be moved to a caravan like our friends but fully booked etc-basically nothing could be done and we couldn't stay another night with our baby been so cold so we came home,paid for 3 nights & only stayed one. It cost £80 per night which is so over priced I wouldn't even say it's worth £20 a night!! So disappointed as this was our first little family weekend away was really upset how bad it was.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mp12_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PresthavenS, Front Office Manager at Presthaven Holiday Park, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hi There,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. I’m really sorry to hear that you weren’t satisfied with your holiday accommodation. We do keep a high standard here and this wasn’t the case for you so I apologise, had you let us know you weren’t happy with the cleanliness we would have happily had the accommodation team re-visit your caravan or moved you to an alternative. As our team explained there is a variance between makes and models, I’m unsure if we knew prior to arrival that you were travelling with another party or that you have a small baby, I’m sure if we had this is something we can try to accommodate. If you would like to discuss your holiday further you can contact me at the Park on 01745 856471,
Kind Regards,
Cara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prestatyn hotels

merseyside
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We booked our stay at haven for £105 for 4 nights. We arrived on monday and there was a mix up with keys but was quickly sorted. Caravan was lovely and clean we took our own bedding. The site is quite big with loads to do we went swimming 4 days out the 5 pools are clean and tidy. Staff are friendly and our 3 year old loved the kids show. Also close to other attractions if u have a car but u can get a bus on site into rhyl. All in all we had a lovely family break and will be going back soon.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PresthavenS, Front Office Manager at Presthaven Holiday Park, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Hi Claire,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on your stay a Presthaven Sands. I’m glad to read that we managed so sort you out quickly, and that your caravan was nice and clean for you to be welcomed into. The pools are fantastic, thank you for commenting on how clean the sports & Leisure team keep it. There’s loads to do as you say on and off site, sounds like you had a brilliant time. I hope to see you again soon,
Cara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Arrived at ptresthavan looking forward to a great first family holiday in a caravan .as soon as we arrived we went to book into are caravan at two o'clock but they had miss placed are booking said it had been sent down with the four a clock bookings so had to wait a while,but to be honest reception staff couldn't have done more to be helpful,just getting all the bad points out first .once got caravan keys got to caravan which was a prestige which was fantastic the only problems were that you don't have any cleaning stuff to clean toilets like toilet brushes did ask at at reception they said they don't provide them due to hygiene ,I thought it was more hygienic to have a toilet brush,secondly we did a local food shop at the supermarket to find out there is no cooking equipment in oven baking trays etc so couldn't cook wasn't really happy at all with that as had to eat out and waisted money on freezer food,they do provide cutlery and plates and bowels.the other annoying thing was no ironing board so being in a big family a nuscience to iron on table.lots of things closed to for example the lazy river kids were really looking forward to that and also the outdoor climbing area they said they were both closed till the summer,I think this should be advertised if not going to be open and dissapoint people when arrive.the only other problem we had is we didn't have any blankets or pillows for are front room bed as we were a family of eight and they only supplied for the bedrooms lucky enough we had brought sleeping bags if it wouldn't have been for these problems we would have had a smashing first caravaning holiday for the family gutted

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PresthavenS, Front Office Manager at Presthaven Holiday Park, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Hi Sammy,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review of your stay with us. I am really sorry about the issues you encountered on holiday. I’m glad the reception girls managed to get you sorted out and checked in. You should of had a Pyrex dish in your kitchen which I hope was there, if not we would of happily got one of these delivered for you, we also hire out ironing boards from reception, and are always happy to provide more linen, which is handy to know for next time. The lazy river opens at the end of May which we’re really looking forward to, it’s great fun! The Aerial Adventure is open now; it opened at the start of season so I’m sorry that you didn’t manage to get a go of that. I’m happy to hear that these things didn’t stop you from having a brilliant family holiday, and I hope we can welcome you back here soon,
Kind Regards,
Cara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We booked this late for an Easter break with our 10 month old baby. Check in was good caravan and surrounding area was well maintained and clean. Entertainment was fantastic for family's and food in the mash and barrel was not great but papa john makes a fine pizza.plenty to do pools a bit cold for babies? Would rec a day off the park to Conwy. The caravan was too cold at night after trying to get a heater for two days I gave up and when the shops re opened went to b&q and bought a heater to keep us warm. (Stacy in the office ) did try her best to get us a heater but it was Easter.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Food-stalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PresthavenS, Front Office Manager at Presthaven Holiday Park, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hello there,
Thank you for leaving us your review of your stay. It sounds like you really enjoyed yourselves here, despite the colder weather. If you would like to book again I would recommend speaking to one of our holiday advisors who can see which grade of accommodation will be best for you with having a baby. Conwy is a beautiful area to visit; some of the scenery there is amazing. I’m sure that Stacey will of done all she could to got you a heater, but as you say when it’s busier it can be difficult to get things on arrival as people pre-book them. Despite this though it is brilliant to know that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday, and I hope we can welcome you back again soon,
Cara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at the site for 4 days, and I must say the whole family really enjoyed their time here.

The site itself is really big and we I had booked a delux plus caravan which was located in Snowdonia Court and this was ideal as its about a 10min walk from the club house, so its very quite.

The staff were really friendly/helpful, the site is very clean and there's plenty to do on site as well as around the surrounding area.

Would certainly consider coming here again!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamer101Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PresthavenS, Front Office Manager at Presthaven Holiday Park, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your holiday feedback, it’s great to know that you had such a fantastic time here at Presthaven Sands. I think I know the caravan you stayed in...With the bedrooms at either end? It’s brilliant especially with that parking right next to it. Thank you for commenting on our friendly team on Park, and the high standards of cleanliness we keep across the site. I hope we can welcome you back here soon,
Cara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestatyn
2.2 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
6.0 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
6.0 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan Hotel
2.3 mi away
Plas Ifan
Plas Ifan
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
19.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel - Llandudno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Presthaven Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presthaven Holiday Park

Property: Presthaven Holiday Park
Address: Presthaven Sands Holiday Park Shore Road | Gronant, Prestatyn LL19 9TT, Wales (Formerly Presthaven Sands Haven)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Prestatyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Prestatyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Presthaven Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Presthaven Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presthaven Sands Haven Hotel Prestatyn
Presthaven Holiday Park Prestatyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing