We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best caravan holiday we've had”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Presthaven Holiday Park
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

My husband, son (9), daughter (5) and myself stayed at Presthaven Sands from 30th June to 4th July. We've previously been to Craig Tara and Seton Sands several times but we are all agreed Presthaven Sands is our favourite. Our caravan was clean and well equipped, and the only noise was from the resident seagulls. The outdoor deck at mash and barrel is a suntrap and our check in was quick and easy. My son loved the football area and spent lots of time there. Our wee girl loved the funstars, especially Lynsey and Jake, who did a great job. The swimming pool was fine although the lazy river was closed. The location between the hills and the sea was excellent for me. All staff we encountered were very welcoming and friendly and we'll be back sometime without a doubt.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PresthavenS, Front Office Manager at Presthaven Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hi Julie,
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback of your holiday with us at Presthaven Sands. It’s brilliant to hear that you had such a fantastic holiday here, especially as you've been to a few Haven parks. I’m glad you found your accommodation to be clean and welcoming; we do get a bit of noise from the seagulls- I can empathise with this as I live right by the beach so they wake me up daily :-) You’re right about the decking; it’s perfect when the sun is out. Your daughter has a very good judge of character as the Funstars are absolutely amazing! The Lazy River was under repair during your holiday but is now back up and running so hopefully next time you come the sun will be out and you can have a swim in it, hope to see you again soon,
Cara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,896)
There are newer reviews for Presthaven Holiday Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,132 - 1,138 of 1,896 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

We came here for a week 27th june- 4th july and we
loved it, it was my sons 2nd birthday on 30thso he got called on stage and the funstars bought a cake out with two csndles lit while anxious sang happy birthday to him :) the onsite spar isnt as expensive as people say it is but just remeber to take carrier bags with you :) food was great in the mash and barrel resturant bit pricey but its to be expected comimg back next year also :))

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Kahjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PresthavenS, Front Office Manager at Presthaven Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to review your holiday with us at Presthaven Sands. What a lovely time to come away for your son’s birthday, memories you can keep forever :-) The Funstars are great for celebrating it’s so special to have them up on stage and a massive happy birthday. I’m glad you found the onsite prices cheaper than expected, we do keep them competitive. The food in the Mash & Barrel is so tasty; I think I have made my way through most of the menu by now. I hope you’re looking forward to next year’s holiday, if you need anything at all give us a call at Park and we’ll be happy to help,
Cara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We [my daughter, her husband two children and Sammi the dog, my husband myself and our granddaughter] have experienced a number of weekend caravan breaks over the last 12 months and I can safely say this is the best so far. Well organised, clean, well equipped, good amenities , great entertainment and a very well laid out caravan park. Our Prestige caravan was clean comfortable - well equipped and well situated - our daughter's standard caravan was equally clean and well equipment but not as new. There was plenty for each of us to do and we will certainly go again.

Room Tip: Make your request to reception they do their best to accommodate - we asked for our daughter to be c...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janrichGreatWyrley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PresthavenS, Front Office Manager at Presthaven Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Hi There,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Wow, you really brought the family out on holiday- just the way it should be! It sounds like you are a pro in caravan holidays now so I truly appreciate your comments. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed all of the facilities and entertainments on park. The pet friendly accommodations are brilliant, as you say not as new as the Prestige which you seemed to love but they are fantastic. It’s brilliant to know that you are going to come back to Presthaven Sands, don’t forget you can get an extra discount if you book before the end of this season,
Cara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Went in June 14, 2 adults with 2 toddlers. Very impressed with Standard plus caravan - clean and had everything we needed. Staff were very helpful and removed small beds so we could put our travel cots in small room.
Didn't go to the entertainment in evening as kids go to bed early but the swimming pool in daytime was great.
Good base to travel round North Wales and plenty of shops and supermarkets nearby if you want to keep it cheap.
Just booked again with another haven site for September! We'll go back to Presthaven again sometime too.

......Papa Johns pizza delivered to your caravan is a nice touch too!

Room Tip: Standard Plus caravans are wider -12ft than most of the others which are 10ft - even the more expens...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmck81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PresthavenS, Front Office Manager at Presthaven Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Hi There,
Thank you for taking the time to review your holiday with us at Presthaven Sands. It’s lovely to hear that you had such a good family holiday with us, and looks like you did it on a budget which is brilliant. We are always happy to remove the single beds from your accommodation if this makes your holiday that bit easier. Next time you come maybe the kid will be able to take part in more of the entertainments which will be great, and the pool is fantastic. There are loads of local attractions right on our doorstep so it does make us a brilliant base to explore North Wales. I hope you have a fantastic time at your next Haven holiday and I look forward to you coming back to Presthaven Sands,
Cara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

just been to presthaven sands with family,,3 adults 5 kids,aged 4 to 15,loved the site,the prestige caravan was lovely,,big,clean,en suite in the double bedroom,close to amenities as requested,will be booking again next year as is a perfect place for family fun,,kids loved it,adults loved it,great break all round.

Room Tip: book a prestige caravan,you get the extra luxury
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 423chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PresthavenS, Front Office Manager at Presthaven Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hi Chris,
Thank you for taking the time to review your holiday with us at Presthaven Sands. It’s so lovely to hear that your whole family enjoyed the time spent here, and you have a brilliant array of ages which just goes to show how much there is to do on site. It sounds like your accommodation was perfect for you; make sure you request this area again for next year’s holiday which we will definitely try to get for you. I’m really looking forward to welcoming you back for another fantastic family holiday,
Kind Regards,
Cara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

After reading some poor reviews we were not too hopeful for our week away...in future I won't take too much notice of the moaners.
Check in was fast and the staff very polite and helpful. The caravan was fab...location perfect and facilities on the site were very good. Great base to go out and explore the lovely beaches and other attractions. We also drove to Liverpool and took the river Mersey cruise..excellent day out.
Would be very happy to recommend this site and will seriously consider booking again for next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tknight2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PresthavenS, Front Office Manager at Presthaven Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hi There,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I’m really glad that you chose to come and make your own impressions of Presthaven Sands. Your holiday is what you make it and it sounds like you had a brilliant time. I’m happy to hear that you found check in so quick and easy. It is a brilliant base for exploring North Wales, and in your case Liverpool which is a great day out. I hope you will choose to come back for another holiday with us, you can get extra discounts for booking again with us so bear that in mind of you do book,
Cara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

To get to the reception, you have to go about a mile from the entrance of the park, past all the caravans, as the reception and all facilities are at the very back of the park.

We arrived at the holiday park at 1pm and had to sit outside for 3 hours before we could check in (our fault, we know) We had the dog with us and were surprised that we were offered a water bowl for her, by 2 members of staff.

Our caravan was a good 10 minute walk from the facilities, but it could have been worse as we were in the middle of the park. A mini bus service ran throughout the day - but at a cost of 50p a person! So if you have mobility issues, take this in mind before booking. We thought it was bad that we would have to pay to use the mini bus as it wasn't our fault the facilities were at the far end of the park.

The caravan was very very basic, but the bedding was made up on arrival which was nice but it wasn't meant to be so it did make us wonder if it hadn't been changed. A sofa bed would have been ideal for our group. There was no bin, chopping board or sharp knife (only a bread knife!) so we had to ask for these.

Site was busy but quiet. Outdoor pool is far too shallow to swim in, and if you go down the outside pool slide, careful as you land straight onto the bottom of the pool and can hurt yourself. The indoor pools were great - one for general swimming, one with a slide.

Where we were, there was beach access right opposite, but the beach was full of reeds so the best access is the entrance by the facilities.

Bar very expensive (£3.40 for a carling), and watch out they don't take your half drank drink from you!

Overall, unlikely to return due to the facilities being so far away.

Be prepared to have the following song stuck in your head: Oo stick your, cause your on blue and we're yellow

Room Tip: Ask to be nearer to the facilities if you have mobility issues.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mindgoneblank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PresthavenS, Front Office Manager at Presthaven Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hi There,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I’m sorry that you had to wait for your accommodation, but it’s lovely to know that your dog was well looked after by the team. The main facilities are located just around half way through the park, there are also lots of caravans past the complex, and we are always happy to take requests on bookings if being close to the complex would make your holiday more enjoyable. The bedding being made up on arrival is an extra touch we add in if you’ve booked linen, so I can assure you these were changed. All our caravans do come with a pull out bed- they are different types so yours may have been more difficult to locate. I’m glad you enjoyed the swimming pools, the outdoor pool is more of a play zone rather than swimming, but as you say we have the brilliant 25m pool if you do want to do some lengths. The area of the beach you were close to has got a lot of reeds, this is all SSSI protected area which is home to some of the UK’s rarest reptiles and amphibians which we are so lucky to have, and as you say the sandy area is a nice stroll down the sand dunes. I hope you will choose to come back for another holiday with us, don’t forget we will always take requests for you to be close to complex. And don’t forget- I just came to say Yellow!
Cara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestatyn
2.2 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
633 reviews
6.0 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
375 reviews
19.8 mi away
Merrion Hotel
Merrion Hotel
#26 of 60 in Llandudno
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
585 reviews
15.8 mi away
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
#1 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
535 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Presthaven Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presthaven Holiday Park

Address: Presthaven Sands Holiday Park Shore Road | Gronant, Prestatyn LL19 9TT, Wales (Formerly Presthaven Sands Haven)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Prestatyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Prestatyn
Price Range: £96 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Presthaven Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Presthaven Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presthaven Sands Haven Hotel Prestatyn
Presthaven Holiday Park Prestatyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing