We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Best”
Review of Karls Fish & Chips

Karls Fish & Chips
Ranked #7 of 81 Restaurants in Prestatyn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$26
Cuisines: British, Cafe, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Karl's Fish & Chips is a long standing family run business in the seaside resort town of Prestatyn. We offer take-away or eat in at our café. All fish is freshly cooked to order. We have many other meals from pies to chickens and we are pleased to offer a Gluten Free option of fish and chips on a Friday. We look forward to seeing you.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Despite seeing some good reviews I was still slightly apprehensive, however I needn't have worried. The large haddock was of excellent quality, with a strong meaty texture and delicious crispy batter. Importantly it wasnt over battered either. Nothing soggy here. Excellent chunky chips done to perfection and decent mushy peas to top it off. Even the wife was impressed.
True the staff were quietly courteous and efficient, rather than grinning and fawning in the 'have a nice day' and 'enjoy!' mould, but then I prefer that. This is Britain after all, we dont do obsequious.
Overall, well worth a visit, though one thing to bear in mind, there is also a Karl's Fish and Chip shop on the High Street, not sure if they are the same ownership, but it also garners excellent reviews - looks like you'll need to have F&C 2 nights running to check which is best - oh dear! :-)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scorzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    25
    9
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin, its Fish and Chips and great quality!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Went once, a good sign when it is busy. They provide nice looking boxes for your food which is a nice touch and even though it was sizzling hot, the staff are still friendly and patient for those of us are don't know what to order lol. Prices are fine. Recommended! Tip - enjoy the chips in the park opposite on the tables.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank telfordswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Same owner as Karl's Chippy on the High Street. Food consistently good. Great fish, lovely chips. Normally use it for take outs as we live local, but have dined in once or twice. Good friendly service. Possibly a little bit of a wait in the holiday period, but that's not a bad thing. Have no complaints in the past 10 years that we have lived in Prestatyn.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zwizlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice fish and chips”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Nice fish and chips, fairly quick service, generous portions and a lovely park over the road to eat them in.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bwlv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not a great chippy!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We visited this chippy whilst on a short break.We ordered a fish and chips and a chicken burger with Chips which wasn't up to much.After a long wait I asked for some salad on my chicken burger but they said they don't have salad so was basically a piece of chicken and a bun.Chips were soggy and not very nice aswel as the mushy peas not being up to much,overall not a great supper!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrkwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karls Fish & Chips also viewed

 
Prestatyn, Denbighshire
Prestatyn, Denbighshire
 
Gronant, Prestatyn
Prestatyn, Denbighshire
 

Been to Karls Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing