We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Chinese restaurant in the area” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chynna Garden

Chynna Garden
Ranked #8 of 81 Restaurants in Prestatyn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
n.wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best Chinese restaurant in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

It is home from home and the owner Jason and his family are great the food is great to eat in or to take away

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dow29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    43
    17
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kindom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely place and lovely food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Visited here last weekend for an evening meal.
We were asked if we wanted any drinks as soon as we were seated.
We placed our food orders, 3 members out of the 7 of us ordered english dishes as their mains and they didn't have a problem with that, after reading a previous review having problems we were a bit anxious.
The starters arrived quick and they were piping hot and very nice.
We were asked if we wanted some time for our mains, we waited 5/10 minutes. They arrived piping hot and great portions, and the curries, duck and steak was very yummy!
One of our party had a mix grill but was disappointed with his meat being over cooked.
We all wanted to pay separately, and the woman kindly separated it for each one of us at the bar, which made it so much easier.
This was our second visit to Chynna Garden, this visit was much better than the last time, because we were rushed last time and was in and out in 55 minutes, but it was their first week of opening.
Will definitely visit again in the near future.

Helpful?
Thank claire j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Myself and 6 friends went to this restaurant and will not be going back. Despite ordering some starters and a main meal each we were told that one of our party could not order an English meal because we were told by the waitress it was unfair she had booked a table out and we were not eating a proper meal.

We spent over £70 in this restaurant and so as we were asking for something that was provided on the menu as an option to be told no is unacceptable. After that point service and basic manners did not exist. We were rushed throughout our meal and will not be going back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine5142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Must have been microwaved. Poor food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

There's no way you can serve food from order to table with such speed without using a microwave. Another reviewer stated 3 minutes. I think they beat it with our meal tonight. If Chynna Garden was our local Takeway, we'd perhaps know the menu better and would perhaps be happy to use it, knowing which meals were worth their asking price. The beef chow-mein was very nice. The duck was extremely fatty though. The sweet and sour very artificial in it's flavour (the first to be served and not quite warm enough). The dip with the spring rolls (which were very nice) tasted like refreshers and was a luminous pinky orange. The rice was quite poor and the only real difference between the fried and boiled seemed to be the colour. A hotch potch of results, mostly disappointing. We experienced excellent service though, very friendly. But the standard of the food not worth the £48 asking price. Quite disappointing for under an hour of our evening although the interior of the restaurant is very accommodating.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Egg1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food,poor staff attitude.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

The food is very acceptable and the general ambiance of the restaurant is fine but the staff need to at least smile now and then. They serve the food as though it is real chore to them. A little light-hearted banter might encourage return visits from customers.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chynna Garden also viewed

Prestatyn, Denbighshire
 

Been to Chynna Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing