We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked again!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Prestatyn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lyons St Mary's Holiday Park
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My family an I really enjoyed our very first stay here as we normally use the site further on down the road. I must say that I was very impressed with the facilities on here and also the option to use the swimming pool on their sister park. We used the free shuttle bus service to watch some entertainment at Robin hood in Rhyl which was although a little noisy thoroughly enjoyable. The shower block was very clean, although in the morning when in high use became a little bit messy but that is to be expected on a busy park at this time of year. Looking forward to coming again especially for the fishing...... I caught a carp......well nearly....when I say nearly I mean I seen them!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyonsHolidayParks, Public Relations Manager at Lyons St Mary's Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Hi Ed, thank you for leaving such a positive review on our trip advisor page, we are happy to hear that you had a great holiday so much so you that you are already planning to book with us again! We are also glad that you were impressed with all the park facilities, our staff work hard to keep them as clean as they can. We look forward to seeing you and your family again and hopefully next time you will make full use of the fishing lake, from all the staff at Lyons St Mary's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

We camped here for the long weekend yes the site is level ground was very hard though small park for children which was fine but bin areas and toilet/shower facilities were not clean there was a filthy mop bucket which was left for you to clean your shower floor when u has finished but when I went to clean it the mop bucket water was congealed and smelt awful this looks like quite a new facility block so get the hygiene sorted and tho could be a nice site defiantly not a 9/10 site like some websites state.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyonsHolidayParks, Public Relations Manager at Lyons St Mary's Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Tracy B, thank you for your review. All our reviews are taken seriously and we value your opinion.

The toilet and shower block is cleaned at least once a day and is checked hourly. We are in the middle of deep cleaning the showers and changing all the shower screens. Every time they are cleaned or checked we empty the water from the bucket which guests leave. The mop heads are changed weekly. We didn’t use to have a mop and bucket in the showers, people then complained about the wet floors where people had splashed and dripped getting out of the shower. So as the old owners use to do, we put a mop and bucket in there for people to mop up any water in the shower cubicle which may be splashed or dripped so that it is ready for the next person to use. Most people think that this is a good idea and use them. The bins are emptied at least twice a day or when needed.

If you could please email us so we can discuss the issues you have raised further and work to resolve them, our email address is: marketing@lyonsholidayparks.co.uk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a long weekend with family and friends and we've had a fabulous time.
The site is very flat so it's great for tents - we had a mix of tents and tourers and the staff allowed us to pitch next to each other.
The shower / toilet block is extremely clean as is the entire site.
The staff are helpful and friendly.
Great big playing field where dogs can play too, and the children's play area is fab too.
We will definitely return. Thank you Jo

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyonsHolidayParks, Public Relations Manager at Lyons St Mary's Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Hi Kate, thank you for leaving such a positive review on our trip advisor page, we are happy to hear that you had a fabulous time! We are also glad that you were happy with all the park facilities, our staff work hard to keep them as clean as they can. We look forward to see you and your family again from all the staff at Lyons St Mary's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Since the change of ownership this year the site has gone downhill. Gone has the attention to detail and cleanliness that got all the good reviews last year.

Been to many sites and this has to have the dirtiest shower block I have seen. The showers have screen with seals missing so anything you leave on the floor gets wet. The showers are mouldy and the grout is all yellow. I wont describe the toilets but lets say stomach churning.

Now it was a busy weekend so I accept that it cant be spotless but mould and lack of maintenance don't happen overnight not to mention running out of toilet paper.

The block is only cleaned once a day at 11am which I don't think is enough I went in at 1145 and there was definitely no evidence of any cleaning and it remained like that for our stay.

There is plenty of hot water but if all showers are on you only get a dribble which you cant wash in. You are asked to mop out the shower which indicates they know they leak using the bucket full of dark brown water.

Waste water disposal is in the kids playground which I think shouldn't be allowed and its the only one I have seen with a ramp going uphill to it making it a real struggle as the ramp isnt big enough to walk up.

The site is a nice location but on a main road and there us some noise from this and the train that runs behind but not excessive.

There is a small children's play area which during our stay was littered and stayed that way for the three days we were here.

The location is great with a supermarket close by and talacre beach 5 mins away.

They advertise seasonal pitches which I thought about before I saw they shower block.

Overall an expensive stay using our own gas and caravan shower because of dirty facilities.

My advice is if you stay then use your own caravan shower and toilet.

A real let down for a nice location let down by lack of bin being emptied and dirty showers

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank graham j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyonsHolidayParks, Public Relations Manager at Lyons St Mary's Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Graham J, thank you for your review and pictures which you showed management.
We are in the middle of resealing all the showers, but as it is our busiest time at the moment, we are only able to do one at a time. They are all having a deep clean and re seal. (please see photo) 2/3 of the men’s have been done so far and we are working through the others. This was done at the beginning of the season, but as they get heavy use every day, they need doing again which we have started doing. New shower screens are on order.

We do have a little sign asking people to mop up the shower that they have used, just so where you have dripped or splashed, you can mop it out ready for the next person to use. Most of our guests do this and think that it is a good idea. The toilets are cleaned once a day. This may not always be at 11am as we try to do this when the park is quiet. They are also checked throughout the day to make sure that there is always toilet roll and any mess is cleaned up.
The bins around the park are emptied at least twice a day or when needed.
We have already had our health and safety look at the placement of our waste disposal and he has advised that it’s ok where it is.

If you would like to come and see the improvements we have made, then please get in touch with the office and they will be able to help you further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Since the change of ownership this year the site has gone downhill. Gone has the attention to detail and cleanliness that got all the good reviews last year.

Been to many sites and this has to have the dirtiest shower block I have seen. The showers have screen with seals missing so anything you leave on the floor gets wet. The showers are mouldy and the grout is all yellow. I wont describe the toilets but lets say stomach churning.

Now it was a busy weekend so I accept that it cant be spotless but mould and lack of maintenance don't happen overnight not to mention running out of toilet paper.

The block is only cleaned once a day at 11am which I don't think is enough I went in at 1145 and there was definitely no evidence of any cleaning and it remained like that for our stay.

There is plenty of hot water but if all showers are on you only get a dribble which you cant wash in. You are asked to mop out the shower which indicates they know they leak using the bucket full of dark brown water.

Waste water disposal is in the kids playground which I think shouldn't be allowed and its the only one I have seen with a ramp going uphill to it making it a real struggle as the ramp isnt big enough to walk up.

The site is a nice location but on a main road and there us some noise from this and the train that runs behind but not excessive.

There is a small children's play area which during our stay was littered and stayed that way for the three days we were here.

The location is great with a supermarket close by and talacre beach 5 mins away.

They advertise seasonal pitches which I thought about before I saw they shower block.

Overall an expensive stay using our own gas and caravan shower because of dirty facilities.

My advice is if you stay then use your own caravan shower and toilet.

A real let down for a nice location let down by lack of bin being emptied and dirty showers

3  Thank graham j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyonsHolidayParks, Public Relations Manager at Lyons St Mary's Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Graham J, thank you for your review and pictures which you showed management.
We are in the middle of resealing all the showers, but as it is our busiest time at the moment, we are only able to do one at a time. They are all having a deep clean and re seal. (please see photo) 2/3 of the men’s have been done so far and we are working through the others. This was done at the beginning of the season, but as they get heavy use every day, they need doing again which we have started doing. New shower screens are on order.

We do have a little sign asking people to mop up the shower that they have used, just so where you have dripped or splashed, you can mop it out ready for the next person to use. Most of our guests do this and think that it is a good idea. The toilets are cleaned once a day. This may not always be at 11am as we try to do this when the park is quiet. They are also checked throughout the day to make sure that there is always toilet roll and any mess is cleaned up.
The bins around the park are emptied at least twice a day or when needed.
We have already had our health and safety look at the placement of our waste disposal and he has advised that it’s ok where it is.

If you would like to come and see the improvements we have made, then please get in touch with the office and they will be able to help you further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

The whole park was fantastic so clean showers lovely and hot really clean def be back to this site staff so friendly and helpful lovely walk to beach great pub across the road lovely flat site so ideal for kids bikes pushchairs wheel chairs

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bevbeetle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyonsHolidayParks, Public Relations Manager at Lyons St Mary's Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Hi Bev, thank you for leaving such a positive review on our trip advisor page, we are happy to hear that you had a fantastic time!. We are also glad that you were happy with all the park facilities, our staff work hard to keep them as clean as they can. We hope to see you and your family again soon from all the staff at Lyons St Mary's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Lovely clean and friendly site. Great for children and dogs. Very relaxed with a calming atmosphere. Well maintained and safe. The toilets and showers are kept clean. Good indoor washing up facilities. A play area for the children in addition to ample space for ball games.Thank you.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Rayna4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyonsHolidayParks, Public Relations Manager at Lyons St Mary's Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Hi Rayna, thank you for leaving such a positive review on our trip advisor page, We are very happy to hear that you and your family had a fantastic time! We are also glad that you were happy with all the park facilities, our staff work hard to keep them as clean as they can. We hope to see you and your family again soon from all the staff at Lyons St Mary's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Prestatyn hotels
1.7 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
661 reviews
1.6 mi away
Halcyon Quest Hotel
Halcyon Quest Hotel
#3 of 3 in Prestatyn
115 reviews
0.8 mi away
Presthaven Holiday Park
Presthaven Holiday Park
#1 of 8 in Prestatyn
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Plas Ifan
Plas Ifan
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
120 reviews
1 mi away
Lyons Nant Hall Hotel
Lyons Nant Hall Hotel
#2 of 4 in Prestatyn
179 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
The Llinegar Inn
#3 of 4 in Prestatyn
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyons St Mary's Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyons St Mary's Holiday Park

Address: Mostyn Road | Gronant, Prestatyn LL19 9TB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Prestatyn
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Prestatyn
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Lyons St Mary's Holiday Park Prestatyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing