We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beaches Book”
Review of The Beaches Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Beaches Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Prestatyn
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Beaches Hotel is situated in a great location in North Wales. Literally, right on the beach in Prestatyn, and easy to get to. It is great for use as a base for exploring the rest of North Wales.

We booked three rooms for our family. The two twin rooms were great, with a wonderful view of the sea. The double room was very small and faced the car park, but as we were only using this as a base, it was no big deal. All the rooms were nice and clean.

The quality of the hotel bar food is excellent. The lamb mint burger was fabulous, and all at a reasonable price.

The staff were very friendly. My daughter left her DVD player in her room (kids!), and the staff rang to let me know shortly after we departed.

Overall, reasonably priced & great location, and would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: If booking on the phone, ask for a room with a sea view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darren c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachesManagement, Manager at The Beaches Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback about your stay here with us at The Beaches Hotel. We couldn't agree more with you that we are very lucky as to the location of the hotel. Being situated right on the beach, ensures that all our guests have the opportunity to experience fantastic views of the North Wales coastline and also witness some breathtaking sunsets. Thank you for your kind words about your whole experience with us and I will certainly pass your compliments on to the relevant departments and we are happy that we were able to reunite your daughter with her DVD player.
It would be great to welcome you back in the future and should you have any queries please do not hesitate to contact Claire at claire@thebeacheshotel.com who will be only to happy to help you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (634)
There are newer reviews for The Beaches Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 634 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We booked one night last minute to get away from work and rest. On arrival our room had work men in it however the view and room were so lovely we offered to go shopping and return when he had finished.. which we did Kate on reception was so apologetic it wasn't a problem.
We enjoyed few drinks on the decking looking out to sea and ate a beautiful 3 course evening meal with fizz at reasonable price high quality food.
We choose not to use leisure facilities as on checking in was informed sauna was out of use.
Had we been told at booking refurbishment was in progress we wouldn't have booked as a lie in was high on our list!! The room was superb and we enjoyed our evening however we were woken at 7am by other guests and there children nothing the hotel could do anything about. After the noisy family had gone for breakfast we opted to skip breakfast in a hope of extra hours sleep! Only to be woken at 9.20am by workmen drilling below! ! Followed by knocking at door from house keeping to check if room was vacant!!!
We showered and went to check out ... to be met by Kate again who was again so apologetic her concern for our disturbed morning was appreciated she insisted she got the manager sasha to speak to us.. she also apologised and offered us a return stay complimentary
So I am not in anyway pointing out bad points of this hotel on the contrary in this industry things do go wrong it's how staff deal with issues that count both these ladies made us feel that they genuinely were sorry our stay hadn't been 100% our room n food were both amazing and thank you beaches we would love to come and stay again esp in room 223 again but will see you after school holidays and when refurbishment has been completed ... We look forward to seeing you soon

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachesManagement, Manager at The Beaches Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback about your stay here with us at The Beaches Hotel. May I express a further apology to yourselves that you were not informed about the development work taking place at the time you made your reservation. During the work being carried out, we tried our very best to ensure that our guests were not disrupted or if there was any disruption that it was kept to a bare minimum, however, it is unfortunate that in the case of your stay, this was not achieved. As you mentioned, unfortunately the hotel is unable to prevent any disruption from other guests within the hotel, however, being disturbed by a member of our housekeeping team should definitely not of occurred and this matter has been dealt with to ensure no further instances occur.
It is great to hear that the way that your issues were resolved were satisfactory to yourself and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. The development work has been completed and we hope that you get to enjoy our new patio area and Promenade Bar during your next stay.
In the meantime if there is any further assistance that you require, please do not hesitate to contact Claire at claire@thebeacheshotel.com and she will more than happily help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We were very disappointed with the hotel. Although the rooms were okay the one thing we went for was the pool, Gym and Sauna. We were told on arrival that the pool was out of action as the chlorine levels were wrong they would know by 6pm if it was ok. No feedback as to the pool been okay at 6.0. We rang down again at 6.30. still not right but should be okay in the morning.
Yes you have guessed it by morning no change and no explanation. We decide to go to the gym where again we were disappointed. A very small room with about 8 pieces of kit in.
Looking back I had seen some reviews saying the pool wasn't open early July, my guess is it has been closed for sometime but unfortunately guests are not been told when they book that the pool will be closed.

Room Tip: don't open windows wide because any wind and this makes a loud noise.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dianebwbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachesManagement, Manager at The Beaches Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback about your stay here with us at The Beaches Hotel. May I take this opportunity to apologise for the inconvenience of the pool being out of action during your stay with us, this was an unfortunate incident, one of which, please let me assure you, is not a common occurrence. Unfortunately, with any mechanical equipment, elements can sometimes have an effect as to the facilities available. This was the case during your visit, issues that were beyond our control, unfortunately forced the hotel to render the pool out of action for a while so as to resolve the issue and to ensure all our guests safety. Sometimes, these issues can take longer than the hotel would like to resolve and this would appear to be what occurred during your time. Again, please let me assure you that the pool has not been closed for some time, it was just very unfortunate that when you visited it was.
On behalf of the hotel, we sincerely apologise for the inconvenience and should you have any further queries, please do not hesitate to contact Claire at claire@thebeacheshotel.com where she will be only to happy to help you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have stayed at this hotel a few times and each time has been BRILLIANT! The staff are very welcoming and the rooms are bright, airy, clean and comfortable.The breakfast (included) is Excellent and meals during the day are Excellent. We will stay there again, Thankyou Beaches.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachesManagement, Manager at The Beaches Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback about your stay here with us at The Beaches Hotel. How great it is to read that you keep coming back to stay with us here at the hotel, we always like to welcome back previous guests, it truly adds to the feeling of being a home away from home and long may your visits continue.
If you need any assistance at all in the future, please feel free to contact Claire at claire@thebeacheshotel.com and she will be more than happy to help you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

On arriving, the building is situated by the sea but as with other reviewers, it is very dated. You immediately see the construction workers but they do not interfere with you stay - except for the moment where they suddenly appear outside your window while you are changing - an experience - hence the first reference to Faulty Towers. However, and this was a great gesture we did receive a chilled bottle of wine on the house so that was a rare glimpse of a four star moment.
The reception itself - you are welcomed and if you are early for check-in you can store your belongings with them.
Rooms, we paid £100 per night and we were disappointed with our room. We had two adults, one child and the room was small, no fridge, small television, and the view as the construction vehicles in one window, and the old Pontins building and car park in the other - no view of the sea at all - but in fairness, it didn't say that on the booking - but for 4 star and £100 per night..
A further issue was on first flush without prior use, the smell of sewage was awful but we called and I think they got a plumber to sort as there were no further issues. The bathroom had been refurbished although fixtures and fittings are loose so again a little faulty towers.
One key reason for booking and paying this amount of money was the swimming pool. Go to their website, see their expensive looking brochures and it looks four start - however, and this did make us smile, when you enter the swimming pool it doesn't look like the picture. The windows are broke in that they are steamed up, and the room is so hot - but we enjoyed the swimming, our daughter enjoys swimming and with exception for a few other guys, we had the pool to ourselves each night. We didn't use it but the small gym looked good.
Breakfast - this is what pushed me with the faulty towers remarks - disaster really. Day one breakfast, got there 9.10 ordered three full breakfasts, simple. 9.25 no breakfast, 9.30, no breakfast, other people arrived after, got their breakfast. Waitress returned at 9.50 - are you waiting for your breakfasts? You know were are as you took our order didn't you and you haven't delivered any yet - apologies later and we had our very well cooked sausages - so in the end we still couldn't eat it fully. That confirmed that we wouldn't be eating at any other point in the hotel during our stay. Day 2 - this time they decide it is help yourself so no more 50+ minutes wait. This time though, a different waitress and we ordered some toast which they offer, 10 minutes no toast, 20 minutes, you get the picture - in the end we gave up and went. So again, very faulty towers and not really worth £100 per night and obviously they can't be serious in a four star accreditation with this type of service.
The surroundings however, make it worth the money. A walk on to the beach takes one minute. And the terrace/bar on a warm night where you are literally a stone throw from the sea i.e. you sit there and watch the waves, that is priceless especially as I say when its hot.
The management of the hotel, as I say with our plumbing issue - resolved. Issue with builders at the window - bottle of wine, very four star service. The reception staff were very good although we didn't receive the customary thank you for your visit, was everything ok, have a safe journey, please come back - none of that when we checked out which was disappointing - actually, first time at any hotel we were just given the check out bill and a thank you when we paid and nothing else.
In summary of this long review, if and a big if, the weather is glorious and you love sand and the sea, I would still recommend, but be prepared that you will pay £100 per night, for something that is not four star. The position by the sea, the bar they have, does make it worth it.

Room Tip: Rather than booking online try to phone in and insist on a sea view room.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank telfordswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachesManagement, Manager at The Beaches Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback about your stay here with us at The Beaches Hotel. Even though I understand that we have already apologised for the builder being at your window, please may I extend a further apology to you. As you mentioned, we try to ensure that our guests were not disturbed by the construction work going on and in general we succeeded, however again please accept our apologies for the incident that occurred with yourself. Could I please take this opportunity to clarify that The Beaches Hotel is not a 4 star hotel, we are a 3 star hotel, however that does not justify the issues that happened during your stay.
With regards to your room, unfortunately we are unable to offer sea views with all our rooms, we only wish we could, however due to this we do offer various rates depending on the room that you are allocated, whether it be a hillside view or a sea view. Again it is such a shame that construction work was being carried out during your time with us, however now that the work is completed the difference that it has made to what the hotel has to offer is outstanding, with a new Promenade Bar area and patio area, it is the ideal location to enjoy the views of the Irish Sea. The further problems that you had with your room will most certainly be investigated and resolved to prevent re - occurrence in the future.
In relation to the leisure facilities, it is nice to read that you got to enjoy them and that on the most part you and your family were alone in there and may we take this opportunity to assure you that the photograph that is used on the website is indeed of our pool.
With regards to the service that you received at breakfast, this is totally unacceptable and again may I take this opportunity to apologise for the delay that you had, day one with your breakfast and day two with your toast. There is no excuse for as to why this occurred and I can assure you that the management team are taking serious steps to ensure that breakfast does not occur like this for anyone in the future.
It is great to read however, that even though you did have problems with some aspects of your stay, you enjoyed the location of our hotel, we really are very lucky to be in a prime position on the North Wales coastline and as such we can offer absolutely fantastic views and sunsets from our new renovated patio area. Furthermore, I am glad that they way in which your issues were handled by both reception and management, allowed you a small insight into the way in which the hotel operates. With our reception team, I completely agree that more should of been communicated with you on check out and again this will be addressed and resolved. It is paramount that we receive customers feedback and check out is the ideal opportunity to do this.
Once again thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and should you have any further queries please feel free to contact claire at claire@thebeacheshotel.com and she will be more than happy to help you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We (124 of us) have just returned from staying at the hotel. This is the third time we have fully booked the hotel for our cycle event and we will not contemplate going anywhere else. The rooms are a really good standard, the food delicious and the staff and hospitality are first rate. I am sure that all 124 of us would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank CatherinBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachesManagement, Manager at The Beaches Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback about your stay here with us at The Beaches Hotel. It is great to welcome the Cycling group back year after year and even better that due to the success that we have, you have booked again for next year already so we look forward to seeing you again in 2015 and we hope that long may your visits continue.
Should you require any help at all, please do not hesitate to contact Claire at claire@thebeacheshotel.com and she will be more than happy to help you. See you all next year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I havent stayed at this hotel since last year but the rooms where stunning and the views where amazing the staff where friendly especially the bar and restaurant... since returning to prestatyn for the day i visited the hotel and the waitress and bar memeber kayleigg remebered our faces and made our day out womlnderful with her friendly service and she always works hard to make sure customers are happy and comfortable.i would deffinately recommend this hotel :)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller090411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachesManagement, Manager at The Beaches Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback about your visit here with us at The Beaches Hotel. It is great to read that you have come back to visit the hotel after your stay with us last year and even nicer to read that you were made to feel so at home by Kayleigh. We do like to think that all our customers are made to feel welcome and this certainly seems to be apparent with your feedback. I will certainly pass your comments on to Kayleigh.
It would be great to welcome you back to the hotel again and should you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact Claire at claire@thebeacheshotel.com where she will be more than happy to help you. Thanks once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestatyn
3.8 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
375 reviews
3.9 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
589 reviews
1.0 mi away
Plas Ifan
Plas Ifan
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,631 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Kinmel
The Kinmel
#1 of 1 in Abergele
614 reviews
11.2 mi away
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
Springfield Hotel & Health Club
#1 of 1 in Pentre Halkyn
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beaches Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beaches Hotel

Address: Beach Road East, Prestatyn LL19 7LG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Prestatyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Prestatyn
Price Range: £79 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beaches Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beaches Hotel is located on Barkby Beach in the North Wales town of Prestatyn. The hotel has 69 rooms and suites as well as a gym, bar, restaurant, conference and event facilities, free ample car-parking, a games room and free WiFi throughout. The hotel also boasts a leisure centre with swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Located right on the beach, the hotel has stunning views over the Irish Sea and the rugged North Wales coast as well as having stunning views of the Prestatyn hills to the south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Beaches Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Hotel Prestatyn
The Beaches Hotel Prestatyn, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing