We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go with an Open mind AWESOME for KIDS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Go with an Open mind AWESOME for KIDS”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Pontin's I feel is great for families with small children, if you go there with an open mind, it can be a great holiday, ourselves we booked through Stena and arrived at Pontin's @ 1pm and was told it would be at their discretion if we could get in the chalet early, we could'nt we had to wait until 4pm we decided to go and do something then return. When we did we heard someone complain and kick off about the room she was given and she went home. ( even though she was offered a replacement chalet) we got our keys and were abit disappointed as we had asked for near to centre due to my walking difficulties but were far away, ( drove around so no problem in the end)
Chalet clean fresh, was shocked to see a microwave and toaster there, (been 20+ years and never had them b4) Bedding not complete but quick visit to the bedding stores fixed that. Floor looked good even though it was lino looking like wooden floor (easy to clean) Bathroom needs updating a little (shower) But we were happy the entertainment was great for the kids (Flood in main Fun Factory had it closed mon-thursday) Luners was great venue as not that many ppl there Kids enjoyed all entertainment Blues AWESOME. Friday Fun Factory reopened as more guests there (morris dancers/ netball finals) plenty of space still.

Room Tip: Open mind, NOT BUTLINS, go for Classic not popular, Kids love it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank glynner9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    536
    482
    357
    1,425
See reviews for
2,022
237
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I had the misfortune of being booked to stay here on a family reunion. This holiday park is an absolute run down dirty disgrace. We had hours of fun playing the game - who can find a toilet that can lock, flush and has toilet roll! Taps were coming off the wall and everywhere was filthy. Parks like this rely on the fact that guests are far to drunk to even bother to complain. Totally not acceptable.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TotnesTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prestatyn hotels

North Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

After reading other reviews I was expecting a filthy, bug-infested hovel, so was pleasantly surprised to find that our chalet was spotlessly clean, even though the facilities were extremely basic. The bedding provided was also clean, the lawns around the campsite were well maintained and there were lovely flower beds and hanging baskets around the reception building.
The indoor pool was good, with disabled facilities and lovely warm water, and there was also an excellent playground for younger children. However, other than that there was virtually nothing to do on-site during the day, and as we had gone to Pontins on a National Holidays coach trip we were pretty much trapped. Our only options were to walk into the small town of Prestatyn or to amble along the promenade. The beach was beautiful, but you had to walk quite a long way before you even came to a cafe for a cup of tea. Some people took a taxi into Rhyl, which was a much livelier resort, but this was quite an expensive option at £9 each way.
Our holiday was on a half-board basis. Breakfast was quite good, with cereals, porridge, plentiful toast and a hot buffet, but the dinners were rather poor, reminding us of school dinners. There was also very little variety, with breaded fish portions turning up every evening, and gammon steaks two nights out of four. The food was palatable, but I would have been very unhappy if I'd actually paid for the dinners.
The kids' evening entertainment programme was not too bad, with costumed characters and mini disco, and the adult cabarets were also fairly good- but unfortunately you had to sit through about an hour of bingo and then a painfully unfunny adult 'competition' before the shows even started.
There had been a leak in the ceiling of the theatre while we were there, so the shows were relocated to the ballroom behind the pub. This room had quite an unpleasant odour, which isn't surprising since the carpets and many of the chairs were filthy. However, this was nothing compared to the amusement arcade, where your feet actually stuck to the floor and the smell was so bad that we had to dash outside to avoid throwing up.
Overall, the trip was not as bad as I had feared, but this place needs absolutely loads of money spent on it to bring it up to acceptable standards, and it is definitely not recommended unless you have a car so that you can get out and about.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the reception area and other amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyingisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

I'm glad I read reviews on here before going as it prepared me for the worst, warned me to take cleaning products, bedding etc. But it also made me dread it and almost not bother! So glad we hoped for the best and just saw pontins as a base to explore the area because we were plesantly surprised. After all we only paid £39.50 for the weekend andvot was worth every penny!

We arrived at 8pm on friday after an extra long traffic filled drive and postcode taking us to a nearby street within stone thowing distance but high fence and no clear signs. we stopped off for pizza on the way (thanks again to warnings on here about food places on site being shut/expensive/not the best taste wise) there was a short queue but checked in smoothly and headed to our room with fingers crossed. We were on the 1st floor which was preferable to ground, safety and noise wise. My heart sank a little when I saw the faux leather sofa bed, glad I packed blankets to put under the sheetsto make it slightly more comfortable! 2 single beds were fine for the little ones and I am happy to say the pillows and quilts looked brand new, not blood stained and disgusting as I had read! We gave the kitchen and bathroom a quick spray/wipe since we had brought the stuff with us but im pretty sure we would have survived as there was no visible dirt, you just never know. My hubby said there was some noise with other guest coming back to their rooms in the early hours but nothing disturbs my sleep :)

It took us until Saturday morning to realise there was no breakfast bowls in the cupboard, 2 teaspoons and a tablespoon so eventually we all got dressed and ready to face the staff I had read are rude/not bothered (a phone to reception would have been great but considering all the complaints on here I can imagine it would be jammed all day!) But the first woman we saw in guest services happily and quickly located us 4 bowls and that was that!
Shortly after, we explored the parks and our 3 and 8 year old loved them (so did we!) Practically had to drag them away.Didnt manage to find the big soft play, saw a room with toys and thought that was it. Wish we went back to play crazy golf but the next day was wet and windy. Anyway off we went literally down the road for a picnic at the beach which was unspoilt, beautiful and empty much like the natural scenery all around.
On returning to pontins we went for a swim, it was boiling in there when dressed, the water cools you down a bit but its not cold, separate shallow toddler pool with slide and big pool has 3 short slides in the shallow end which may be safer further down, gets very deep at a certain point but lots of signs. Life guards friendly and helpful, changing rooms no worse than leisure centres at home!
Nisa shop is a bit steeply priced, luckily we brought basic snacks, breakfast and sandwich stuff etc from aldi at home. Arcades were pretty standard. Other things onsite to pay for including pedal cars and indoor skate park but we didn't bother.

For tea we went to the famous karls cafe (chippy) and food was amazing, I can see why people travel so far just to eat here! Then on to astro bowl which was not great but I will leave that review for their page. Sunday involved a gorgeous carvery at the Bells of st mary and kids film at scala cinema which was very modern and comfortable, all were reasonably priced and within a couple of minutes drive from pontins so all in all a perfect base to explore local amenities.

Overall we had a great weekend away (shame we had to leave sunday evening so we didnt get fined by school!) Had lots of fun and nothing major to grumble about. I would go back to this or any other pontins with a cheap/sun deal but probably not pay full price. Don't ignore advice from these reviews but also dont let them put you off.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We arrived at Pontin's for 11a.m. but could not check in until 4 p.m. At 4 p.m. the check in was organised and swift. I was surprised at the apartment after reading the reviews but we were in a Poplar room which looked as though it had been recently renovated. The room had a double bed, wardrobe (which could have done with a few more coat hangers), iron and ironing board, toaster, microwave , oven, brush etc The cups were too small so just purchased some while we were out to have a decent brew.

The reception area was dirty (the floor looked as though it hadn't seen a mop for weeks, The large entertainment room did smell and the carpets in the arcade area needed a good clean.

Thereis a betting shop, food store, chip shop on site.

Bingo played each night 7-8, then the kids were entertained 8-9. Adult entertainment was thereafter. This was ok.

Lots of places to visit near by - Rhyl, Conwy, Llandudno, Chester etc

Prestatyn town is only a 10 min walk where there is a train station, plenty of shops and eateries.

Overall not a bad holiday, pleasantly surprised

Room Tip: 780- 800 had been renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diana8256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

After reading the reviews I was dreading going and nearly even went but because we was only 1.5 hours away we could easily get back or go and stay at haven for the night and return back home next day if it was bad. We got there at 340pm I was dreading it but surprised by the inside as it was tidy and looked okay. we went to the reception and got told we will be getting our keys in the entertainment room at 4 so I went and qued up and it was very quick and the staff was nice. We got a free upgrade so we got to our apartment it was upper floor and right at the back over looking the sea, I walked in and was pleasently surprised by the apartment as it was clean fresh and all in working order we also got free electricity. We had a problem in the bedroom as it stunk of urine so we got them to come clean it they did but still stunk of urine but I had took bleach so I just bleached the floor 5 mins it took Job done! We headed for canteen and was really nice hot food! We had food there every day while we was there. The park is the best one I've ever been to and the swimming pool is good too it was quiet and the lifeguards was really nice and liked a bit of banter with you, we went the weekend a massive morris dancing and netball comp was on and yes later on at night was really bloody loud as people has there apartment doors open and was drinking but after a 10 they went out so wasn't that much of a problem. Didn't bother with entertainment! Used it as a base to look at surrounding areas and I would defo go back!! We paid 40 pound for the weekend fri-sun through the sun holidays for 4 of us.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilylouisex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Last time i visited here it needed a fair bit of work...but today i experienced a spotlessly clean chip shop, clean tidy accomodation, no litter, a new coffee shop and a shop that left its neighbour in southport standing!...well done prestatyn sands!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROB E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestatyn
0.2 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
619 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
361 reviews
4.0 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
336 reviews
13.7 mi away
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
#1 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
507 reviews
3.3 mi away
Talacre Beach Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park

Property: Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park
Address: Barkby Avenue, Prestatyn LL19 7LA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Prestatyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Prestatyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontin`s Prestatyn Sands Centre Hotel Prestatyn
Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing