We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost didn't go due to reviews, glad I did”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park
Reviewed 24 March 2014

After reading all of the bad reviews, I almost didn't bother going but it was definitely worth doing.

Pulling up, it honestly did feel like pulling up at a prison and I really did debate just asking my friend to turn the car round so we could go home. Other than that though, it was fab and I really don't understand what all the other bad reviews were about. Perhaps we just got lucky or something, but we had no issues.

Staff were very friendly upon check in and explained where to find our room, advised us best place to park and told us to have a nice stay. I had to go down to reception because our kettle didn't have a base and again, staff were lovely. Provided a new kettle immediately and apologised for any inconvenience.

Got to the room and it was absolutely fine. Clean, smelled ok, no damp, nothing damaged.

Everything worked - heaters, telly, kettle (after replacement) oven, microwave all in good working order.

Only had breakfast once, no other meals, but it was decent food. It was hot and tasted fresh. The juice on offer was a bit minging but oh well. Tables were all clean enough and there was a lady going round cleaning tables when people left.

Pool was ok. Staff on reception didn't know the opening times which was a bit of an annoyance - leaflet we were giving was 10am, staff thought it might be 10 or might be 12 but they didn't know. It didn't open until 12 so we wasted a morning killing time when we could have been out and about. Changing rooms were pretty gross, but while unpleasant that's kind of the norm with swimming pools I guess. Pools were clean enough. Little pool had to be evacuated and cleaned after a little one was sick. Staff were very good about telling us quickly and making sure we all knew why we had to get out, they were very apologetic too.

Joined in with water volleyball/netball with my son and the bluecoats. He's only 5 and quite small so found it a bit difficult, when he got bored the staff took him to the side and let him be chief ball thrower for whenever either team got a goal. They were good at making sure all the little ones felt included.

Didn't bother with any of the evening entertainment so can't comment on that.

No, it isn't the ritz, yes there was a bit of dust on the top of the telly, but other than that it's fine. As long as you aren't the sort of person to go marching round wearing a white glove and getting narky over small things, you'll find it fine. I am not someone who passively accepts bad service, if the room had been dirty I'd have been straight down to reception making sure it was sorted out, but I didn't have to, there was nothing wrong with it.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are a lot quieter, there's a lot of people walking past downstairs, so if you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stephaniegemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,182 - 2,188 of 3,284 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

We paid £99 for the highest standard in early Sep and we could have taken 4 people. The room was clean but basic, beds were comfy, shower great, but the fridge leaked. The tv did not work properly we got 3 channels when the brochure said tv plus digital.
There was lots of bird poo on the windows and rust on the banisters which was a shame, the steps are wided gaped so could be dangerous for toddlers but it didn't bother us.
The pool was clean though, the entertainment good, food not bad, we got a free decent breakfast. For the price I guess overall not bad however the fire alarm went off in the chalet when we cooked in which was very irritating!

Room Tip: pay more for higher standard, the club apartments are ok but I heard the popular apartments were not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AIMEE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your comments regarding you recent holiday at Pontins Prestatyn Sands. We certainly appreciate your positive comments about the park and also take note of your negative feedback. All constructive comments are taken on board as we strive to carry on improving the service offered to our guests.
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This holiday was booked through the sun holidays for my parents.Neither of them can drive so I was the chauffeur. It was meant to be a relaxing break as they both have health difficulties BUT I ended up driving them home the very same day they were supposed to check in. This place is a joke if anybody has ever watched Holiday on the Buses which was released in 1973, this is where it was filmed and it hasn't changed much since that film was released.

In standard apartments, check in is not until 4pm and after finding the place (which isn't as easy as it should be since the postcode which Pontins is supposedly at takes you to a residential street and the sign is hidden by trees when driving in one direction), we had lunch off camp and then went back to try and occupy ourselves until check in. With the aim of playing pool, we walked upstairs to the pool room - only to find that due to essential maintenance the room would be shut for the week. We did manage to play a game of air hockey and also found an arcade room but the carpet was old and covered with mould. Some of the machines were also broken. We then decided to take a short walk around the camp - and I mean a short walk! The chip shop was "closed due to unforeseen circumstances", we couldn't see anybody in the pool and the shops to hire bikes and the brand new indoor skate. Inside the Queen Victoria Pub there was a drinks spillage when we went in and half hour later, it was still there as nobody had made any effort to clean it up.

At 3:00 we asked the desk staff if it was possible to check in a little early - my dad is a diabetic and heart patient and so needed rest but we were told by a young receptionist that the accommodation was not yet ready. A queue began to form 30 minutes before check in and my mom was second in the queue. Within 15 minutes it was becoming a fire hazard as was blocking off the exit doors and curving around the corner as the receptionist cheerfully exclaimed "15 minutes to go guys!" At 5 minutes before the check in time, they finally relented and allowed people to check in. After making sure that we had the correct paperwork, my mom was handed the key to their apartment; number 666 and boy what an omen! I have included pictures below but to summarize, the only double bed was a sofa bed which didn't look too steady, the actual supposed proper beds were two singles (the fact that they are a married couple and basically expected to stay in separate beds), the place STUNK of bleach yet the windows were dirty and streaked and the bathroom looked like something out of the 1960s. The website says that the room has a TV but it was a tiny analogue TV so you couldn't get any channels anyway. To top it off there are no blinds to cover the windows so anybody walking past could look straight in. We promptly agreed that they would no be staying in that room and went back to the reception where there was still a queue to get in. We walked up to a table marked customer services where another young worker was sitting (in fact all the staff seemed younger than me - and I am only 25!) and explained all of the issues - said she would ask a manager to come and speak to us. The manager never materialised, instead the same staff member came out and said that she could get us another clean on the apartment or a free upgrade to a club apartment. We opted for the free upgrade and was given the key to apartment 753 - when we arrived the door was unlocked and open so anybody could enter and the room was basically exactly the same complete with single beds. We went back to customer services where we bumped into another young couple - they had a young child and had been assured that their apartment was on the ground floor as they were unable to get their pram upstairs - surprisingly the apartment they were given was actually on the top floor, There was yet another young staff member on the desk and she explained we hadn't been given the key to a club apartment like we were originally promised and admitted that they only have a few apartments with true double beds. She managed to find the keys to one of these and let us see the apartment (which was once again the same only with a double bed - the mattress looked to be about 20 years old and it still smelt of bleach - my mom actually cried). After the keys were taken back again my dad said we were checking out. The receptionist said the maintenance manager had been to the first two apartments they were allocated and there was nothing wrong with them. When leaving, my dad mentioned that we would be complaining and expecting a full refund - to which the young receptionist muttered under her breath loud enough to hear - "not a chance", loud enough for us to hear. We left shortly after happy to be out of there and never go back. My dad has been going to the Rhyl/Prestatyn area for holidays for 40 years and has never been to a place as bad as this. No manager ever appeared despite our requests, content with letting the younger staff try to deal with the problems that occurred. The majority of the people there were there because of the sun holidays and I truly believe the sun holidays is the only reason this camp is still open as I cannot see why people would choose to go there.

Overall a horrible experience, if you take anything from this review, find somewhere else!

Room Tip: None - Do not go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your time here.
We do apologise that you did not enjoy your stay but we feel that we offer a great value for money holiday's that the overwhelming majority of our guests enjoy. We continue to be very busy and welcome thousands of guests on park each week.
Having read your comments relating to the checking in time, all Club apartments have a check in of 2pm and all Classic and Popular apartments have a check in of 4pm. Should there be any special requirements a request for an early check in can be made at the time of booking, however this is not guaranteed.
Due to the high volume of guests that check in and out of our park on a daily basis, some issues do occur from time to time and we do our best to resolve such issues as promptly as possible, which we believe we did do in this case, by offering you alternative accommodation.
Once again we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay but thanks again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Firstly before i start, i used to work in the blackpool pontins years ago so i was aware what to expect, but here goes -

Vile is all i can say, we booked a 3 night break away with friends and were expecting basic accommodation but not to the disgusting standard the rooms were. brought our own bedding and so glad we did as there was no way i would have used the duvets and pillows supplied, god knows what was living on them. The room was dirty, the toilet didnt flush and there wasnt a shower just a bath, which in 2014 is pathetic, oh and the tv was from the 80s!

The entertainment at night was what we expected, okish, but a word of warning is dont bother to make an effort to look nice, no one else does, and i have never seen so many morbidly obese kids and adults in one place at any time!

Out of season the pool doesnt open until 12 and theres really not much to do as no daytime entertainment program really and it wasnt warm enough to be outside, so be prepared to sit about doing nothing most of the day like most other people.

Anyway we last 2 nights, got up sunday morning early,packed and departed never to return again. It is a real shame that the place is so bad, as to some families this is their main holiday of the year and even though it appears cheap, it isnt to some people and why should they be taken advantage of by being expected to stay in substandard conditions

1  Thank nicky1379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I know through the reviews here that this place has a poor reputation......but in all fairness we had a wonderful time!!...we had a club chalet which was clean comfortable had good facilities!!....the reception area has been refurbished and the place was litter free!....the staff were friendly and helpful....people have commented on staff being unfriendly....but if i was spoken to by holidaymakers the way some of the staff there are...id be frosty too!!...couldnt fault it......extremely good value and most enjoyable!!....a lovely weekend had by us all!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROB E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your holiday at Pontins Prestatyn Sands and we are very pleased with the review you have given us.
It is very encouraging to receive such comments as all managers and staff on park have worked hard to improve our product for our guests and it is very rewarding to receive your praise.
Once again we thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed for one night out of two because we didn't arrive till late and didn't want to make the long journey home. However, we had vacated our accommodation by 8.30 am the next morning never to return. I didn't believe places like this could still exist. If you go be prepared for totally unacceptable accommodation, ugly surroundings, no bed linen, over-inflated prices and neighbours without any shred of human decency, devoid of any manners or consideration for people trying to sleep and mouths like sewer rats.

3  Thank 78Marrianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

When initially booking this stay I was nervous after looking at online reviews. On arrival, the room appeared clean and recently refurbished. Although not perfect it is a lot cleaner than some hotels I have stayed in. At less than £5pppn we'll worth it!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Rorymac141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for posting your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands and we are glad to hear that your stay exceeded your expectations.
We have made many improvements since the birth of the New Pontins in February 2011 and we are extremely pleased to hear that our guests are experiencing the great value for money holidays on offer at our park.
We encourage all guests to tell us about their stay at Prestatyn Sands as we strive to keep on improving all aspects of the park and it is great to hear positive comments like those mentioned in your review.
We thank you again for your review and hope to see you return to Prestatyn Sands in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestatyn
0.3 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
652 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
382 reviews
0.6 mi away
Halcyon Quest Hotel
Halcyon Quest Hotel
#3 of 3 in Prestatyn
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
604 reviews
0.7 mi away
Plas Ifan
Plas Ifan
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
119 reviews
5.9 mi away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park

Address: Barkby Avenue, Prestatyn LL19 7LA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Prestatyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Prestatyn
Price Range: £88 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontin`s Prestatyn Sands Centre Hotel Prestatyn
Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing