We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dangerous place for children” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park
lpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dangerous place for children”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

On arrival my 2 year old son found tablets which could of killed him if he took them. When manager came to view room she found more out of the packet just lying in the wardrobe. So it had not been cleaned properly.. Then after giving us another room it had a ants nest. Never go there again !!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hannahtess12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands.
We are extremely concerned about the issue that you experienced during your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves of providing great value family holidays that cater for all ages including children and it is a huge concern to us when we hear of issues that put any of guests at risk.
As a result of your comments we have passed a copy of your review to the relevant departments for their perusal.
Once again we thank you for notifying us of your issues and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    510
    449
    331
    1,318
See reviews for
1,865
220
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

Having driven for 6 hours and arriving in the dark was a blessing, if we had seen it in first in day light we would have turned around and driven home again. I think the fact that we were a bit dazed and confused also added to the reason that we did not depart immediately. Please do not rely on Sat nav to get you to Pontins, (unless you wish to be numb when you arrive of course), you will end at the end of a housing estate rowing with your partner over the realiability of electronic annoying speaking device over a good old road map.
Once you got through the 'efficient reception service' you realise that when you arrive at your deluxe apartment (in the dark) and there is no electricity, you have to figure out a way of reading your informative welcome park to find how to get your electric meter to work. It doesn't tell you of course but there is a secret department with a cardboard card in called 'customer service card' which you insert into consumer unit!? I am not going to go on anymore but to say, if you like dirty nappies in changing rooms, dirty rooms neighbours that stay up all night with their children and very out dated 'apartments' resembling some sort of 1950 'camp' then your love it.
Other wise there are much much nicer places to go and butlins is pure luxury in comparison.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank 186254Molly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands.
We do apologise that you did not enjoy your stay here however we do believe that we offer great value for money holidays to all of our guests.
We have entertained thousands of guests each week and we are continually improving all aspects of the park from accommodation to food and we are continuing to introduce new activities and entertainment and we are confident that we do offer something for everyone.
Once again we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prestatyn hotels

Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Well I booked in with some hesitation, and trepidation after friends had called it colditz.
When we got to our flat I found out that for 3 children and 1 adult we had two single beds and a sofa bed even though there was empty apartments that had bunk beds and a single bed and sofa beds. Which meant I was left sharing a bed which meant I had to go to bed at same time as children.
The sofa bed was in a poor condition and had rips in it and was very uncomfortable to sleep on, also when we dropped the back to make it a bed I needed to get a clothing and clean it.
We unpacked the car and the children went out to explore and play while I got organized but when they came in I found they brought loads of grass on their shoes as pontins had cut the grass without a grass box on so all the grass was now being trailed into our holiday flat which wouldn't have been a problem if there had been a long handled brush to sweep it up.
Tried to make a meal and found a badly stocked kitchen no sharp knifes, can opener mixing bowl to name just a few items.
Also lacking in electric points I had just one plug socket to plug kettle,microwave and toaster in and trying to charge mobile phones, kids psp/ds to charge was a nightmare (if you have already booked take a electric strip /socket bank) with you.
Also in our flat there was no shower only a bath.
The tv was also not a good picture and at times impossible to watch.
The evening entertainment started with blue coats stood selling bingo tickets from 6 till 7 with over 18's bingo starting at 7.15, and if you choose to avoid it most of the tables have already been reserved with coats and balloons even though they claim you can't do that and will remove anything like that to allow others to sit down they don't do this, the blue coats come out to entertain kids about 8 but by then most young kids are getting tired what's wrong with doing some kids stuff at 6 till 7 while still selling bingo tickets ?
In the brochure the pool looks good forget it no inflatables or slides (and forget going to full sun centre it seems to be shut till at least May)
Will I be going back ......NO I will be back at haven for next break

Helpful?
1 Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Just booked last minute for 1 night as we were travelling to South Wales and my god we were pleased it was only that!
First impressions, Our Windows had not been cleaned for at least a year our room was full of long ginger hairs, it smelt foisty.
The kitchen had very limited utensils did not even a tin opener hence we had to open a tin of hot dogs with a sharp knife.
Wud not recommend for any family holiday has not been updated in 30years and it looked like a concentration camp.
Spend some money and upgrade your Park and hire some trained cleaning staff.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands.
We have invested heavily in the refurbishment of our apartments and it is disappointing when we hear of issues experienced like those mentioned in your review.
We have passed your comments to the relevant departments so that they can take action as necessary and we would like to thank you for making us aware of your observations.
Once again we thank you for writing your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I never write on here as somtimes it's best to find out for yourself , it was a very cheap weekend away left Sunday it was a nightmare never have been so where so filthy had to bleach everything toilet fridge bath floor found empty crisp packets dirty hair and filth everywhere when we got there we also asked for an up grade and was told we were in the delux chalets really !,, swimming pool had mud grass all around the sided were people were walking straight In From outside dirty nappies and sanitary towels on the changing room floor the chip shop don't bother the entertainment was fine for the evening and they all worked so hard lovely hotel 2mins down the road on the beach you are allowed to use all there facilities !, save your money DONT GO we can't all be wrong

Room Tip: There arnt any
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 176Debby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands.
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Prestatyn Sands however we feel that we offer a great value for money holiday that the overwhelming majority of our guests enjoy. We continue to be extremely busy and welcome thousands of guests on park each week and it has been great to receive many positive comments from our guests.
It is always a concern when a guest does not have a good time and we are sorry that our park did not fulfil your needs or expectations.
Once again we thank you for writing this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed for 3 nights as we were having a family break and we were ready for home on the first day!

The rooms were dirty and run down they have also never been updated since built about 40 years ago! All the floors were lino so they were constantly wet so the kids kept slipping on the floor, there wasnt a mop provides to clean it yourself either!

We couldnt get hot water so had to keep boiling the kettle which then cost us in electricity as you have to buy electric cards at £5 a time.

The swimming pool hasnt been cleaned in years and I am surprised it hasnt been shut down.

My advise is do not waste your money and stay here as everything is to a very poor standerd!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Accommodation was dirty and uncomfortable. We turned up with cleaning equipment after reading the reviews so fixed the first issue of the room being filthy but sadly couldn't fit beds into the car. Luckily with mattresses so lumpy and smelly we were awake for the early hours joy of our drunk neighbours extending their nights out outside our room though so at least we couldn't accuse them of waking us up. However, having paid around £20 per person for 3 nights we really did get what we paid for in terms of accommodation and the pool was pretty good so in all a good base for adventures in glorious castles and on perfect beaches.North Wales is beautiful with plenty to do and chock full of seriously friendly people. Lucky really!! One step up from camping in terms of comfort.

Room Tip: Bring air beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trudes74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands.
We are sorry that the accommodation you stayed in on your visit was not as clean as you would expect and having spent heavily on the refurbishment of our accommodation it is disappointing to hear negative comments regarding the cleanliness of our accommodation.
We have on park up to 3,500 guests at one time and from time to time a small fraction of this amount experience issues however we are confident that we do our best to rectify such issues as promptly as possible.
We are sorry to hear that rowdy guests caused you disturbance during your stay. Unfortunately we do not have full control over the behaviour of our guests however we are confident that we do promote good behaviour to minimise disturbance to our guests.
Once again we thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestatyn
0.3 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Plas Ifan
Plas Ifan
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
3.9 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hafod Elwy Hall
Hafod Elwy Hall
#1 of 1 in Denbigh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park

Property: Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park
Address: Barkby Avenue, Prestatyn LL19 7LA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Prestatyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Prestatyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontin`s Prestatyn Sands Centre Hotel Prestatyn
Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing