We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going on a grotty holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Going on a grotty holiday”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Now it was me my mum my dad

Now i was really excited and stuff but

it had ants riddled through the floor poo in the toliet

wonky table hole in window and door

Never going again your lucky if you get your money back i went back home went 2011

Room Tip: Try and go nearest to the arcade loud but a bit cleaner but not a lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beau H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands.
We apologise that you experienced issues during your stay. Unfortunately ants do tend to be prevalent in rural areas and whilst we appreciate that they can be a nuisance, we do try our best to eradicate them as promptly as possible.
We have invested heavily in the refurbishment of our park, since the New Pontins was born in February 2011 and it has been great to receive such positive comments from our guests. Likewise we also welcome any constructive criticism as we endeavour to keep on improving the level of service offered to our guests.
Once again we would like to thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    514
    462
    337
    1,357
See reviews for
1,909
227
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

This was our first time at Pontins Prestayn and after reading all of the reviews we were dreading it! Upon our arrival Pontins looked a bit shabby and run down, but then we weren't expecting a 5* hotel! However all of the staff were really friendly and helpful, our apartment was spotless and well equipped and the food was amazing. The half board option also included soft drinks, tea and coffee, full English, cereals, toast, salad bar, choice of mains and desserts. The restaurant staff were so efficient and constantly cleaning, which is not an easy job as it is so busy.

The Blue Coats put on a brilliant, varied show and our kids partied on until about 9pm every night, drinks were cheap and the main entertainment has stadium seats so even when busy you can keep an eye on your little ones at the front. Much better value for money than Haven, the main shop is well stocked and even has a mini pound shop for the kids to spend their pocket money.

Whilst we were there the Queen Vic was being painted, and most of the main areas have been renovated. The only thing I would say is that the grass and garden areas needed some TLC and the toilets in the main area need gutting - this would then make it an excellent. Thanks we had a brilliant time :)

Room Tip: Hero side (by Queen Vic, first floor) popular room was clean, tidy, quiet and close to all of the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emma1eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands and we appreciate you taking the time to write about your time here.
We are pleased to hear you had a good holiday and following the refurbishment and improvements made to our park we are extremely pleased to hear such positive comments.
We have more improvements on the way and we suggest you watch out for any news on our website as well as keeping an eye out for any upcoming promotions or special offers.
Once again we thank you for taking the time to write your review and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Pontins Prestatyn is genuinely terrible. It's run down, dirty, unkempt and drab.

The prices are very very low, but there is no excuse for the lack of basic levels of hygiene. It's just appalling.

The Rhyl Sun Centre and the Nova Centre have both closed (for good), and that really leaves the area with very little to offer.

Thank goodness Llandudno wasn't that far, we had a great day out there skiing and lots of other great stuff.

I have to add about Pontins that the staff were friendly and and generally helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank JN1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prestatyn hotels

St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

I was not expecting too much after reading the reviews and boy oh boy you do not get much accommodation wise. I cannot understand why the apartments are not cleaned properly, nor why there is months of grime and poo on windows and why the lawns are so unkept and someone does need a good talking to on why it is in this state.
Saying that this place is for the kids and I cannot fault the entertainment and facilities. For the money you pay through the sun deal yes you can will easily find things to complain about but it's good for kids and good for your pocket.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank for your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands.
We thank you for your positive comments relating to the entertainment and facilities on park however we also take on board your comments relating to the accommodation stayed in on your visit.
We have invested heavily in the refurbishment of our apartments and it is disapointing when standards of cleanliness are not met. Your comments have been directed to our housekeeping team for action so this does not happen again.
Once again we thank you for your review and we do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

I stayed with my wife my 4yr old and 1yr old and I will never return, the room was dirty I don't know how they get away with sayin it sleeps 4 the so called sofa bed is a back breaking joke hardly any cutlery and just looks run down.
The arcade is a joke 30% of games not workin the night time entertainment was a bit of let down the so called traditional chip shop that uses frozen chips is a joke.
Your kids will prob love it but it's basicaly run down and they say they spent 25million doin it up I would like to see where it has bin spent please avoid the place is like benefit st on holiday

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddale77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands and we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us.
We have invested heavily in the refurbishment of our apartments since the New Pontins was born in February 2011 with many items such as flooring, curtains, beds, furniture and much more being replaced in the apartments. We have recently refurbished the main building with new carpets in the venues, new reception flooring, painting of reception, new lighting and new bars, however we are concerned that you experienced cleanliness issues in the accommodation you stayed in on your visit. As a result we have passed a copy of your comments to our housekeeping team for their perusal.
Once again we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Our first visit to pontins prestatyn was in August 2013 yea the park was very run down n shabby but the kids enjoyed it. We returned to pontins again this year for Easter and WOW what a lot av changes have been made. The reception as been given a make over and new carpets In the fun factory n arcade the whole place looks a lot cleaner n a massive improvement on last year. The bluecoats do a brilliant job with the kids n nothing is to much trouble for them. The food in the restaurant is very nice and there is staff walkin round cleanin tables all the time. Pontins is a fantastic place for a cheap family and we will be returning again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahriley87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands.
We are very pleased with the review that you have given us and we find it extremely encouraging to receive such comments as all Managers and Staff on park have worked hard to improve the service offered to our guests and it is very rewarding to receive your praise.
We would suggest that you keep an eye on our website for any upcoming special offers or promotions and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Once again we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leigh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Went to pontins Prestatyn over the Easter weekend. Check in at 4pm took a while because of the number of people staying there but that's only to be expected. Our room was clean, the only concern is the windows are filthy on the inside of the double glazing so can't be cleaned, other than that no complaints at all. The dining area was constantly being tidied and plates etc quickly cleared from tables. Some meal times had a very large queue but this was because of the number of people eating early to get decent seats in the fun factory for the evening entertainment. All the bluecoats were friendly as usual and give entertaining everyone their all. Loved watching Timmy Mallett on the Saturday and my young daughter absolutely loved Shane Richie jr on the Sunday. All in all it was a great weekend which was worth every penny of the low cost of the break. You do get what you pay for but if you want an affordable and no frills holiday or short break then Prestatyn is ideal.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank craig r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands.
We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us over the Easter period.
Our famous bluecoats take great pride in entertaining our guests and they are backed up by some exceptional visiting cabaret acts and it is great to hear such positive feedback towards the entertainment on park.
Once again thanks for the review and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestatyn
0.2 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
4.0 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan Hotel
6.0 mi away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
2.1 mi away
Presthaven Holiday Park
Presthaven Holiday Park
#1 of 7 in Prestatyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park

Property: Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park
Address: Barkby Avenue, Prestatyn LL19 7LA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Prestatyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Prestatyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontin`s Prestatyn Sands Centre Hotel Prestatyn
Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing