We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“was dreading arriving here but not as bad as expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“was dreading arriving here but not as bad as expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

After reading reviews I was not looking forward to this break (even took a number for a nearby site in case of emergencies!!!) It's not five star by any standards but our chalet (we upgraded to classic) was clean, although basic and it sufficed for the 3 nights.

Our 2 kids loved it especially the blue coats entertainment in the evening. They were happy with the pool, the trampolines and the play area. One complaint is that many facilities close at 5pm and some were not as advertised. Another issue is that quite a few of the arcade machines were out of order, however there were new machines waiting to be set up and my daughter still managed to collect a large amount of tickets which she happily exchanged for a load of rubbish!!! (one of the highlights of her holiday!!!)

We ate from the chippy and the fast food outlet. They were surprisingly nice and nobody has been ill!!

At the end of the day I suppose you get what you pay for, nobody could argue that this site would be dramatically improved if some money was invested in it. As it stands it is an ok budget place to stay and explore north Wales. The beach is in walking distance and so is prestatyn town centre. I can honestly say that it was not the hell hole that I was expecting.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands and we thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We are pleased that you had a good holiday. The New Pontins was born in February 2011 and since then we have made many improvements. We have invested heavily in the refurbishment and refurnishing of all apartments and feel that we offer great value holidays to all of our guests.
We thank you for taking the time to write your review and we do hope to see you return to Prestatyn Sands in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    513
    461
    335
    1,354
See reviews for
1,904
225
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (658)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Connah's Quay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We ONLY came because it was free due to a VERY bad experience in Southport.
I will say (only because of Southport) the place itself is much better kept. The chalets are the same though. Very dirty and very unkeep. The staff here are alot more friendly and helpful and answered all our questions. In general too they would just talk to the children naturally, yes its their job but that doesn't mean it happens. We used the pool, wed and sat they put a massive inflatable slide up. This is awesome and monitor excellently by the pool staff. The changing rooms are very old!! I will stick up for staff they monitor changing rooms and clean them, they were cleaning them as we arrived and whislt we were changing to leave.
We only ate twice as we cook in slowcooker. We used the chippy and it was ok. We ate in Canteen, when the children had breakfast with the crew. The £4.99 breakfast was fab.
However unfortunately we will not use a Pontins again and will stick with Haven holidays.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank Anna-Maria O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunganon, Co Tyrone
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We booked this trip via the Sun newspaper deal so paid £9.50 a head and went with open minds.

So...what was bad? The apartment was filthy and despite requesting cleaning every day, it remained uncleared, by the penultimate day, I got a different receptionist who compensated us with a meal voucher.

The staff don't communicate with one another - I went to reception to purchase croc crew breakfast tickets for the kids,the receptionist said just turn up. Turns out you need to book these through the blue coats so I had 2 devastated children.

The paid for activities are quite expensive eg £1 for 5 minutes on the trampoline.

The evening buffet in the beachcomber restaurant is diabolical! Like hospital food but worse! The breakfast was reasonably good though. Only 6 high hairs in the entire place though.

What was good....? The blue coats were brilliant with the children and really made their stay.
It's very close to the beach and town which is good if you want to get offsite.

Tips - bring your own bedding and cleaning materials, assume the staff don't care too much, use your apartment as a base and let the kids explore.

All in all, you do get what you pay for really.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleepyheadjenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands.
We thank you for your positive comments and we also take note of your negative feedback and we thank you for your constructive criticism. All comments made from guests are taken on board as we strive to keep on improving the level of service offered to our guests and we rely on comments from guests like yourself in order to achieve this.
Once again we thank you for taking the time to write your review and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We booked this after seeing a Groupon deal and thinking it would be nice to have a weekend away as a family - how wrong we were!!

I wasn't expecting much, however after paying extra for a Club Apartment I thought it would be ok. The room was disgusting, the floors were sticky and the bath was rusty; not something you'd want to bath your child in! The bedroom was so tiny we couldn't fit a travel cot in so the baby had to sleep in the living room, which was pretty cold.

After a pretty rubbish nights sleep my husband woke up covered in what look like flea bites....! When I complained the reception I was asked if it was my husband who had come the night before to complain about flea bites (it wasn't - so there's obviously a problem). The receptionist helpfully suggested that it could be ant bites instead, I'm not sure which is worse?!

Safe to say we packed our things and were out of there! Don't waste your money going here, you'd be better using the money to treat your family to a day out instead.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsAshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands.
We do apologise that you did not enjoy your stay here.
We have invested heavily in the refurbishment of our apartments and it is disappointing when standards of cleanlinss or maintenance are not met.
Your comments have been passed on to our housekeeping team for action to prevent similar issues occuring in the future.
We take note of your comments regarding to bites however we do regularly change the soft furnishings in our apartments to ensure levels of hygiene and cleanliness are met.
Once again we apologise that you experienced issues during your stay and we would like to thank you for writing your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prestatyn hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Now it was me my mum my dad

Now i was really excited and stuff but

it had ants riddled through the floor poo in the toliet

wonky table hole in window and door

Never going again your lucky if you get your money back i went back home went 2011

Room Tip: Try and go nearest to the arcade loud but a bit cleaner but not a lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beau H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands.
We apologise that you experienced issues during your stay. Unfortunately ants do tend to be prevalent in rural areas and whilst we appreciate that they can be a nuisance, we do try our best to eradicate them as promptly as possible.
We have invested heavily in the refurbishment of our park, since the New Pontins was born in February 2011 and it has been great to receive such positive comments from our guests. Likewise we also welcome any constructive criticism as we endeavour to keep on improving the level of service offered to our guests.
Once again we would like to thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

This was our first time at Pontins Prestayn and after reading all of the reviews we were dreading it! Upon our arrival Pontins looked a bit shabby and run down, but then we weren't expecting a 5* hotel! However all of the staff were really friendly and helpful, our apartment was spotless and well equipped and the food was amazing. The half board option also included soft drinks, tea and coffee, full English, cereals, toast, salad bar, choice of mains and desserts. The restaurant staff were so efficient and constantly cleaning, which is not an easy job as it is so busy.

The Blue Coats put on a brilliant, varied show and our kids partied on until about 9pm every night, drinks were cheap and the main entertainment has stadium seats so even when busy you can keep an eye on your little ones at the front. Much better value for money than Haven, the main shop is well stocked and even has a mini pound shop for the kids to spend their pocket money.

Whilst we were there the Queen Vic was being painted, and most of the main areas have been renovated. The only thing I would say is that the grass and garden areas needed some TLC and the toilets in the main area need gutting - this would then make it an excellent. Thanks we had a brilliant time :)

Room Tip: Hero side (by Queen Vic, first floor) popular room was clean, tidy, quiet and close to all of the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emma1eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank you for your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands and we appreciate you taking the time to write about your time here.
We are pleased to hear you had a good holiday and following the refurbishment and improvements made to our park we are extremely pleased to hear such positive comments.
We have more improvements on the way and we suggest you watch out for any news on our website as well as keeping an eye out for any upcoming promotions or special offers.
Once again we thank you for taking the time to write your review and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Pontins Prestatyn is genuinely terrible. It's run down, dirty, unkempt and drab.

The prices are very very low, but there is no excuse for the lack of basic levels of hygiene. It's just appalling.

The Rhyl Sun Centre and the Nova Centre have both closed (for good), and that really leaves the area with very little to offer.

Thank goodness Llandudno wasn't that far, we had a great day out there skiing and lots of other great stuff.

I have to add about Pontins that the staff were friendly and and generally helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank JN1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestatyn
0.2 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
4.0 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan Hotel
6.0 mi away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
2.1 mi away
Presthaven Holiday Park
Presthaven Holiday Park
#1 of 7 in Prestatyn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park

Property: Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park
Address: Barkby Avenue, Prestatyn LL19 7LA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Prestatyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Prestatyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontin`s Prestatyn Sands Centre Hotel Prestatyn
Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing