We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park
Nearby Hotels
The Beaches Hotel(Prestatyn)
US$141
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plas Ifan(Prestatyn)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$103
PremierInn.com
View Deal
US$103
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Talardy Hotel(St. Asaph)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (3,363)
Filter reviews
3,363 results
Traveller rating
296
567
522
391
1,587
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
296
567
522
391
1,587
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,213 - 2,218 of 3,363 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a weekend with my family (me, my husband, & 3 kids - 8year old, 2year old & 1 year old). After reading many of the reviews on here I really wasn't looking forward to our weekend away in fact I was dreading it!!! As we pulled into the resort we drove past the main building to find somewhere to park, as we turned the corner we were greeted by very dated looking apartments - my husband joked that it look like a concentration camp. But I thought well let's make the most of it. We went and signed in and were given a free room upgrade (yippee) the room we were given were really close to all the fun and was nice and spacious!! The sofa bed was beyond uncomfortable but the kids beds were nice and comfortable. Nope it wasn't all sparkly and new but it was clean and I couldn't really find much to complain about.

The staff were very friendly. The reception staff were very helpful, the shop staff were really nice and even the maintenance man was polite and friendly.

The evening entertainment didn't get going until late so we missed most of that - would've been nice to have something a bit earlier for the younger kids. The park area was all nice and new, and the indoor soft play area was nice. The restaurant was good value for money as was the on site chip shop.

All in all we had a very positive experience and I would return. Thank you pontins!!

Stayed: April 2014
4  Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for your review on Pontins Prestatyn Sands and we are glad to hear that your stay exceeded expectations.
We have invested heavily in improving the facilities on park as well as upgrading all of our accommodation, since the New Pontins was born in February 2011 and it is very pleasing to hear such positive comments from guests such as yourselves.
Once again thanks for the review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We were excited about our holiday, we were a party of 2 adults and 2 children. On arrival it was plain to see that this holiday park was not as advertised in the brochure or on the internet site. We arrived early so that we could start our holiday early after being told we would get keys at 4 and we did not get them till gone 6. But what a waste of time the only great thing was the actual club where you could spend your money at the bar or the children could spend your money in the arcade. There was no go karts, the mini golf had past its date. The park looked new but my children were 10 and 13 so of no interest.
On arrival of our room i could have cried i was straight to the shop who stocked a huge range of cleaning products knowing this was their biggest selling item. There was food in the sink, hairs in the fridge and mouldy in cupboards. The bathroom was no better and clearly had not been cleaned, wardrobe broken, mattresses stained................i could go on but i think you can see where im going with this.When complaining at reception it was a waste of my time really as they had so many to deal with. My advice to you is if you still read this and carry on booking, then dont go for the sofa bed, which is clearly not a bed and for only one person. Be prepared to do more cleaning than at home and take your own sheets and quilts etc
Avoid the swimming pool and go down the beach and explore the sights around the area

Room Tip: 254 that was apparently a upgrade and is now very clean with lots of bleach!!!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ajl1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands and we thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your time here. We have invested heavily in the refurbishment of our accommodation and it is disappointing when standards of cleanliness and maintenance of our apartments are not met. As a result we have passed a copy of your comments to our housekeeping team for them to take action to ensure that this does not happen again in the future.
Once again we would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

After reading reviews I was not looking forward to this break (even took a number for a nearby site in case of emergencies!!!) It's not five star by any standards but our chalet (we upgraded to classic) was clean, although basic and it sufficed for the 3 nights.

Our 2 kids loved it especially the blue coats entertainment in the evening. They were happy with the pool, the trampolines and the play area. One complaint is that many facilities close at 5pm and some were not as advertised. Another issue is that quite a few of the arcade machines were out of order, however there were new machines waiting to be set up and my daughter still managed to collect a large amount of tickets which she happily exchanged for a load of rubbish!!! (one of the highlights of her holiday!!!)

We ate from the chippy and the fast food outlet. They were surprisingly nice and nobody has been ill!!

At the end of the day I suppose you get what you pay for, nobody could argue that this site would be dramatically improved if some money was invested in it. As it stands it is an ok budget place to stay and explore north Wales. The beach is in walking distance and so is prestatyn town centre. I can honestly say that it was not the hell hole that I was expecting.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thank you for your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands and we thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We are pleased that you had a good holiday. The New Pontins was born in February 2011 and since then we have made many improvements. We have invested heavily in the refurbishment and refurnishing of all apartments and feel that we offer great value holidays to all of our guests.
We thank you for taking the time to write your review and we do hope to see you return to Prestatyn Sands in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We ONLY came because it was free due to a VERY bad experience in Southport.
I will say (only because of Southport) the place itself is much better kept. The chalets are the same though. Very dirty and very unkeep. The staff here are alot more friendly and helpful and answered all our questions. In general too they would just talk to the children naturally, yes its their job but that doesn't mean it happens. We used the pool, wed and sat they put a massive inflatable slide up. This is awesome and monitor excellently by the pool staff. The changing rooms are very old!! I will stick up for staff they monitor changing rooms and clean them, they were cleaning them as we arrived and whislt we were changing to leave.
We only ate twice as we cook in slowcooker. We used the chippy and it was ok. We ate in Canteen, when the children had breakfast with the crew. The £4.99 breakfast was fab.
However unfortunately we will not use a Pontins again and will stick with Haven holidays.

    • Value
Thank Anna-Maria O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We booked this trip via the Sun newspaper deal so paid £9.50 a head and went with open minds.

So...what was bad? The apartment was filthy and despite requesting cleaning every day, it remained uncleared, by the penultimate day, I got a different receptionist who compensated us with a meal voucher.

The staff don't communicate with one another - I went to reception to purchase croc crew breakfast tickets for the kids,the receptionist said just turn up. Turns out you need to book these through the blue coats so I had 2 devastated children.

The paid for activities are quite expensive eg £1 for 5 minutes on the trampoline.

The evening buffet in the beachcomber restaurant is diabolical! Like hospital food but worse! The breakfast was reasonably good though. Only 6 high hairs in the entire place though.

What was good....? The blue coats were brilliant with the children and really made their stay.
It's very close to the beach and town which is good if you want to get offsite.

Tips - bring your own bedding and cleaning materials, assume the staff don't care too much, use your apartment as a base and let the kids explore.

All in all, you do get what you pay for really.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sleepyheadjenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Thank you for your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands.
We thank you for your positive comments and we also take note of your negative feedback and we thank you for your constructive criticism. All comments made from guests are taken on board as we strive to keep on improving the level of service offered to our guests and we rely on comments from guests like yourself in order to achieve this.
Once again we thank you for taking the time to write your review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews