We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park
Nearby Hotels
The Beaches Hotel(Prestatyn)
US$111
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Plas Ifan(Prestatyn)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Talardy Hotel(St. Asaph)
    US$78
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    US$103
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    No availability for your dates from our partners
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    Reviews (3,363)
    Filter reviews
    3,363 results
    Traveller rating
    296
    567
    522
    391
    1,587
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    296
    567
    522
    391
    1,587
    See what travellers are saying:
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    2,121 - 2,126 of 3,363 reviews
    Reviewed 16 June 2014

    We stayed at this site one year ago for a chess event being held on the site, and after that stay we were loathe to come back.

    This year, we had very low expectations, knowing that the site would not be perfect - however it would be tolerable for the one weekend we would be there...

    ... we were mistaken.

    The site is unkempt and in dire need of complete refurbishment, however the state of the 'apartment' was sub standard for animals - let alone a family. The whole floor looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months, food swept into any nook and cranny there could be rather than cleaned up (under the table, sofa/bed, fridge, everywhere). The windows certainly hadn't been touched in years and were completely caked in dirt, dust, dead insects, and seagull droppings.

    The beds, duvets and sofa were equally as bad - and the TV was smashed too.

    By a considerable margin though - the most appalling thing was the smell in the 'apartment'. As soon as we entered there was the most repugnant stench, and it became obvious that it was from something spilt either underneath the fridge or cooker and not cleaned up. There is NO WAY that the cleaning staff would not have known about this, they just made the choice to do nothing about it and let the 'apartment' out anyway.

    In addition - thanks to the antiquated approach to customers that Pontins have, you either get charged to call them or you have to write and post them a letter, we haven't been able to register our complaint yet.

    • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Neil C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

    Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay at Pontins Prestatyn Sands.
    We are extremely concerned to hear of the issues that you encountered with regard to your apartment. During busy check-ins such as the Chess weekend that you attended, we accommodate up to three and a half thousand guests, unfortunately when operating on this scale issues can sometimes occur. However, we do apologise that you experienced problems.
    With regard to contacting us, we do have reception open until at least 10pm 7 days a week so that guests can request assistance if they should need it. During the weekend of your stay, we also had our Accommodation Service Centre open for guests to make enquiries and report any issues with apartments. In addition to this we also have a telephone number on the back of all apartment keys which is monitored 24hours a day should any of our guests require assistance when reception is closed. We are disappointed that this was not reported during your stay, as if we had been aware of your issues we are confident that we could have rectified them.
    We hope that this has not put you off staying with us in the future, as we can assure you that issues like this are uncommon and we will always do our best to resolve guests' problems. Thank you again for your review.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

    Awful. Absolutely vile.

    The most depressing arrival to any break/holiday I've ever encountered. Coming round the end on the promenade and the Sat Nav saying your destination is on your right was a sinking feeling when we had noticed what looked like a 60's council estate following an air raid.

    We had a look around the place and I got neck pains keeping an eye on my 2 year old making sure she never touched anything it was that filthy. At 4pm I was greeted by a one hour queue and a drunk man in an England shirt as I awaited check in for my room. When I eventually got my keys from the Fun Factory I made my way through The war zone and entered what was possibly the most disgusting accommodation imaginable. The previous residents had spilt all sorts on the walls and behind the furniture was a lifetime of left behinds, dirt and god knows what else. The floor was beyond from and straight from the shower you need to put socks on to reduce the chance of a gritty black film on your feet before you reach your bedroom. I understand it was all cheap but the fact that it was so dirty was the bit that got me really angry.

    Considering they were re established in 2011 it doesn't look like anyone has cleaned it since 1988. That especially goes for the swimming pool. Locker keys held together by random hair bobbles and cable ties and the changing rooms require a tetanus jab before you should consider entering.

    The whole site needs either blowing up or an enormous clean, and I mean enormous.

    Positives being my kids enjoyed nearby attractions and you could drink your own booze in the bar as it was so dark during the 'entertainment'

    Overall id never return unless they hired a cleaning team.

    Stayed: June 2014
    10  Thank Antonyffc
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 June 2014

    We booked on a whim, and read the reviews before we set off. Our expectations were low, yet at each turn we were pleasantly surprised.
    On arrival the gate staff were friendly and polite, we checked in, found our room easily, which was well cleaned, windows open and smelt fresh.
    We stayed half board, and the food was fine, we got a free daily paper and a bottle of wine on arrival, certainly worked out cheaper than eating out at every meal.
    Our daughter had free swimming lessons, and also enjoyed the character breakfast.
    The staff we dealt with were polite and helpful, despite having a busy week. Other guests did cause issues, but these were dealt with quietly and firmly, so as not to impact on other families.
    All in all, we had a great week, and used it as a base for some fab days out!

    • Stayed: June 2014
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank often-eats-out
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

    Thank you for your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands.
    We are extremely pleased to hear that your recent stay with us exceeded your expectations and we thank you for your kind comments.
    We have invested heavily in improving our park, with many more improvements planned in the near future. We therefore suggest you keep an eye out on our website for details of upcoming improvements as well as looking out for any special offers or promotions that may be upcoming.
    Once again we thank you for your review and we hope to see you again very soon!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

    We got this as a weekend deal off of a deal site and believe me we will be lodging a complaint with them to.
    I honestly don't know where to begin as it all ends in diabolical and starts with diabolical this place is like hell on earth .
    People who have reviewed this as good or above shoddy need to seriously get out and travel more !! There is nothing worth seeing in Prestatyn or visiting the pontins site is seriously run down and continuously changing management with no great advancement to site or apartment .
    Speaking of apartments omg!! Shocking your talking nothing better than emergency housing bed sit as photos will show .
    The beach on which it boasts to be adjoining is vile a coffe shop and every other facility advertised shut down ie amusements and fun fare . No beach front shops pub restaurant or anything I could just get irate at the sheer crap the website portraits . There is slot of noise on site a lot of people who you probably wouldn't mix with in your normal everyday life . Children left to run riot while the so called adults drink the night away a lot of antisocial behaviour including doors being kicked in and windows smashed etc .bloody lovely for a so called family fun break !!!!! What the hell this place needs shutting down for good ... :(((((( angry and frustrated mislead and out of pocket . Over all completely disgusting !!! DO NOT GO !!

    • Stayed: June 2014
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    5  Thank Wifey2013
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

    Thank you for your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands.
    In recent years Pontins has changed hands once when the New Pontins was born in February 2011. Since then we have invested heavily in the refurbishment of our park on both the accommodation and the facilities on park and we are sorry that you felt this is not the case.
    In relation to the facilites on park, all of our facilites on park are subject to availability and sometimes may have restricted hours during off peak times, however the arcade and coffee shop have not been shut down at all during June, when you stayed on park. We also do not advertise as having a beach front shop, restaurant or pub as these are contained on the park itself, not actually on the beach. We apologise if you feel that this was mis-leading, however we are only a short walk away from the beach.
    In relation to your comments regarding noise on park, we do cater for family holidays and a level of noise is expected. We also note that there was a broken window recently which was caused by accident, not by anti-social behaviour. We try to encourage good behaviour by providing all guests with a good behaviour charter in their reception welcome packs and we also display a number which is available around the clock should you require any assistance.
    Once again we apologise that you did not enjoy your stay and we thank you for your review.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

    We arrived on friday the 13 th june we paid £66.00 . Fri to monday . We got the key omg not cleaned food everywhere stank no shower over looking a tyre yard . So my partner went back to reception joined a long line of other people complaining so she said pay £ 20.00 to upgrade i said i want to look at it first she demanded we pay first but i said i want it back if not happy so she agreed . This was even worse over looking 3 cars parked on grass music playing full blast a line of washing in the middle awful. We got our £20.00 . Rang head office demanded a refund they could nt give a hoot . So we asked to speak to manager who was busy . Eventually they offered us an upgrade no way . Dont book this place save your money book a caravan break . We rang hoseasons they found us a caravan near by . Dont book you get what you pay for

    Stayed: June 2014
    3  Thank dwendywdr8
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews