We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Vile”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Chalets look and feel dirty and outdated, driving around the many 1970's style blocks to eventually find your own and then having to walk up loose concrete steps instantly puts you in a negative mind-frame. Luckily only stayed for one night. Staff were polite and helpful. First and last time at a Pontins.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bwlv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Pontins Prestatyn Sands. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your overall experience with us, we do feel that we offer Outstnading value for money family holidays in what we consider to be a beautiful location. We provide a traditional seaside holiday which the majority of our guests enjoy and return time and time again, we are sorry to hear that you did not feel it was for you. We are however very pleased with your comments about the staff, it is always encouraging to hear that the guests feel our staff are approachable.
Once again, we would like to thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    522
    471
    351
    1,400
See reviews for
1,972
233
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (678)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I have given it one start and that's only because you can't give 0 stars!. Booked a weekend away last minute and arrived at the park, got keys to our room and was met with something horrible! The place stunk had stagnant water in a bucker under sink because it leaked! And looked in draws to be greeted with ants and lots of them!, my partner opened up the cooker to have a silver back beetle fall out and run off!, we complained and after an hour and half they eventually agreed ef to move us! They gave us an upstairs chalet but with 2 disabled guests in the party it wasn't ideal but was 9pm so had no choice!, the next day spent all day trying to get moved even offering to pay for an upgrade if possible but was met with the standard response of nothing available even though we could book an club apartment online!. We eventually booked a new apartment and paid again! To get a ground floor apartment only to find when you flushed the toilet the contents ended up in the bath!! So another move to our 4th apartment!! Complained to reception and asked to speak with manager only to be told he wasn't in, we could see him in the back!!! Pontins could not get a monkeys about its guests once they have your money!! I would avoid pontins altogether!!!

Helpful?
8 Thank Gaz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prestatyn hotels

wales
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just got back home from here, we took our two grandsons for a long weekend and boy was it long. We had the club accommodation with free electric, half price kids activities at certain times and half board. First the room, it really really needed a makeover, holes in the ceiling and walls the windows were filthy dirty cutlery. The grounds were pretty shabby too with rubbish left lying around, weeds growing out of the guttering (they must be two feet high )
The kids entertainment we thought was very poor in the daytime and the evening, most days in the daytime it was none existent but the evening was a blue coat with a microphone telling the kids to stand, sit, jump, bums together and every now and again SCREAM as loud as you can, this went on for an hour more or less even our two got bored, why they didn't do a mini disco beats me.
The food we thought was very good,nice and hot and tasty each evening, the breakfast was also very good ,bacon, eggs, beans, tomatoes, scrambled egg, sausage etc.
Looking back it was more like a council estate than a holiday camp with gobby greedy fat tattooed women and very rude ill mannered children who most of the time were left to run wild.
Like my title says it's not the place its the people, if they can't be bothered to respect the camp why should Pontins be bothered to keep the place nice when the guests???? Can't be .

Room Tip: Only go if you want to rough it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the accommodation stayed in, we do have our reception desk open from 9am until 10pm everyday where our staff are always happy to help with any problems our guests may have. Had you visited reception during your stay, we would have been more than happy to replace any unsuitable cutlery and clean the windows again for you.
With regard to the entertainment, we do put on a variety of activities throughout each day and we have approximately two hours of nighttime entertainment geared entirely towards children. The childrens entertainment starts with Kids Crew at 7pm, followed by party time at 8pm which includes a member of the Croc Crew, games on stage with families, prizes being given out etc. This is the structure of our entertainment throughout the season and usually proves to be very popular however we apologise if you did not enjoy it.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the food from our restaurant, and will pass on your comments to our Catering manager.
Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

When we arrived for our 4 night stay we were flabbergasted at the filthy state of the cooker, however a cleaner we told fixed it with a new tray. The toilet was also filthy which she also sorted on the spot. The patio door jammed shut so we could not get out. After phoning support this was fixed, it was a faulty lock mechanism. We then found that the door handle on one bedroom door was hanging off! Again staff dealt with it. No complaint about the staff we dealt with they were brilliant. We had paid extra for this so called upgrade club chalet. Beds were of camp bed type, though reasonably comfortable. Entertainment on the first night was pathetic rubbish. next two nights were ok. I would not recommend this Pontins to anyone I am sorry to say.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Les O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Pontins Prestatyn Sands. We are sorry to hear that you experienced some problems with your apartment when checking in, We do aim for all accommodation to be be completely prepared for the arrival of guests but unfortunately due to the high volume of guests visiting each week, problems can sometimes occur. We appreciate your praise for the staff on site, our team work very hard to provide a special holiday atmosphere and are always happy to help guests wherever possible. These comments are very encouraging and are sure to be passed on.
It is unfortunate that the entertainment wasn't to your taste, we do cater for all age ranges and we do our best to ensure that there is something for everyone.
We are constantly aiming to improve and we would like to thank you again for taking the time to leave us some feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We've been to this site before and i even wrote a review as we enjoyed ourselves.
This time, i could actually cry at the awfulness of the only holiday we can afford this year. Where do i start..
The chalet- No shower, awful blue suite. Dirty floors, walls, cupboards, table, beds.The first thing i did was get some sponges and gave everywhere a wipe over. I could do nothing about the floors- it was a wipe your feet on the way out job. We left socks on and flip flops the entire time else we'd have had black feet..
No mirror.
No control for the t.v.
Want to look out at the view? Hold on you can't see out of the windows because of all the seagull poo and dirty finger marks (Pontins hire a bloomin window cleaner!)

Moving onto the swimming pool. Oh my god. Hair clogging up around the showers, dirty water pooling, a smell of sewage, baby change hanging off the wall..Our local pools you can smell the chlorine here i never smelt it once?

The canteen- Bit pricey but food wasn't terrible. The gammon on the floor under our table at breakfast from (i presume) the previous evening was a bit of a put off as was all the other food chunks.

They've had a few new bits since our last visit like a console room, and a kids room in reception.

Kids played in the area upstairs and for the adults it was like musical chairs but for the least stained seat.

Again i can't fault the entertainment. One of the blue coats was great with the kids. The guitar hero night was probably our favorite. Our son loved the monkey and crocodile.

Overall the entertainment was good but i like to relax and enjoy a holiday. I feared putting my 8 month old on the floors- she spent quite a bit of time in the highchair we took with us. We felt dirty the whole time, even the untidy other half said it. 5 days after we came home i spotted white bits in my sons short hair, checked and he had bugs, he spent his nights in a different room to the rest of us. 15 days later both of my kids have chicken pox. Whether others would call this a coincidence i do not. The place was vile and disgusting and all the cleaners need the sack. I will never ever take my children back to this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank natalie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback on your recent stay, we are sorry to hear that this stay did not live up to your previous holiday with us. Unfortunately none of our Popular apartments are sold as having showers in the bathroom, if you require a shower we would advise that you book a Classic or Club apartment when staying with us in future.
We do aim to ensure that all accommodation is completely prepared for incoming guests and we apologise if this was not the case, if this had been reported at reception we would have been more than happy to resolve any problems that you had with the room - in this case the floors.
As mentioned on this site previously, we are in the process are refurbishing the pool area in response to feedback from our guests. Our staff do work hard to maintain a high level of cleanliness in the changing room area and we hope that this refurbishment will help to improve standards further.
We are delighted to hear that your family enjoyed the entertainment, it is something that we pride ourselves on and we hope that many more generations will continue to enjoy the same family holidays as their parents did at Pontins.
We were concerned to hear that your children have been unwell since visiting Pontins Prestatyn Sands however we do feel that it is slightly unfair to attribute this to our holiday camp. As we accommodate such a large volume of guests we would expect to hear reports of illness if it should occur when our guests are with us, as this has not happened around the time of your stay we must suggest that this is a coinceidence, however we do hope that they are feeling better now.
We thank you again for your review, and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I was very disappointed in this resort. Upon entering the chalet i discovered that not only was it in need of a good clean but it was entirely devoid of bedding, toilet rolls and towels. When mentioned to the receptionist we were told that we were supposed to bring our own, only we hadn't been told anything of the sort when booking the holiday and would not have chosen this place if we had been. The mattress was unbearably thin, springs poking out every which way and the television didn't work, top it off with a broken kettle and this is easily one of the worst stays I've ever had.
I can't blame the staff at all, they were all lovely and very helpful. We have been coming to this resort for years and have never had a bad experience, what's gone wrong in the last few years?

Room Tip: Try somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rachael900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands.
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and your comments relating to the mattresses. television and kettle have prompted some concern. Our aim is that all accommodation is fit for purpose and we apologise in this instance that you felt this was not the case.
In relation to bedding and towels, our linen procedures changed for the 2013 season with all guests either pre-purchasing linen prior to arrival at a charge of £5 per single bed set and £8 per double bed set, bringing their own linen or purchasing their linen from our onsite shop. This linen is provided at the time of check in and is yours to keep. Duvets and pillows are provided anyway, but these are not for guests to keep. We apologise for the confusion relating to this matter.
Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review and we thank you for your comments relating to our park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We took our 2 grandchildren on a weekend break 13/6/2014. On reading the reviews I almost cancelled, instead we went with a bag full of cleaning products expecting the worst. In reality we arrived at 4:30pm went to reception to collect keys a very helpful young man booked us in and gave us our pre booked bedding pack ( gr8 idea by the way) along with keys and directions 2 our chalet. We got in the chalet at 4:50 and were very pleasantly surprised, unlike the reviews stated it was clean and well furnished. I'm not saying it was a palace,and we did still give everything a wipe round,but it was certainly not the pig sty the reviews led us to expect. I can only imagine it could have been because it was a quite time of year and maybe standards are lower when the camp is full and under pressure. We had been to the camp 20years ago when our own kids were young, and the entertainment is still similar,but like our own kids did the grandchildren loved it. The camp itself has plenty of things to keep the kids occupied and the staff are very helpful and pay attention to helping the kids join in and enjoy their stay. On the down side we didn't use the swimming pool because even though it wasn't a busy time of year it was packed because it's open to the general public and I can only imagine it getting worse in high season. The other thing was though the security in the ballroom was good, around the chalets at night they could be more effective making sure people don't hang around making a noise outside the chalets. On the whole for the price we paid the facilities, the staff and the entertainment were very good.

Room Tip: A tip I would give is if like us there is 4 in your party it is best to have a 2 bedroom chalet, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands.
We are pleased to hear that the accommodation stayed in on your visit exceeded your expectations and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
It is very pleasing to hear such positive comments and we are glad that you experienced a great value for money holiday that we strive to provide to all of our guests.
Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestatyn
0.2 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
611 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
352 reviews
4.0 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
327 reviews
0.8 mi away
Plas Ifan
Plas Ifan
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
114 reviews
17.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park

Property: Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park
Address: Barkby Avenue, Prestatyn LL19 7LA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Prestatyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Prestatyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontin`s Prestatyn Sands Centre Hotel Prestatyn
Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing