We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eye opener !!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Came here for 3 nights payed extra for club room don't bother the classic are just as good. Were do I start pontins is a place were the people let it down leave there children to run wild whilst they drink!! One group of Irish familys trying to pull each other pants down in front of children!! Never seen so many tramp stamps (tatoos) in my life and these people think they look good (not) I for one will never set foot in pontins again take my advice go elsewhere

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank michelle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands. We are sorry to hear that your holiday was spoilt by other guests. While we cannot fully control the way our guests behave we do our best to encourage responsible behaviour by including charters in guests' welcome packs. We also provide a 24 hour contact number on the back of every apartment key should there be any disturbances, day or night. If you return to stay with us again in the future, we would encourage you to let us know if any other guests are disturbing you or making you feel uncomfortable and we will do our best to resolve this, either by moving you to an alternative apartment or by security paying a visit the the guests in question.
Thank you again for taking the time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,061 - 2,067 of 3,317 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Lets keep it short a sweet
The place is a dump. Its dirty, badly maintained and styled like 1960s sink council estate
On the plus side
If you have VERY low standards, and want a cheap holiday next to the beach - then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Nelson66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us, we are in the process of a refurbishment and all of our staff are happy to help with guest issues, but we understand that our site isnt to everyones taste. The vast majority of our guests do enjoy their time with us and will return, however not everyone has the same expectations.We are sorry that your holiday was not what you had hoped for and thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

In reply to the review below about the clients being the problem, I find this to be a fair reflection. However this will not be solved until pontins majorly invest in their facilities, stained sticky carpets in arcade area, leaking roof in the on site pub, extremely dated main hall with Marilyn Monroe pictures everywhere (as great as she was this feels very 60s). Food hall reminded me of school and the check in should be spread over a period of 5 hours from 12-5 not from 4pm as it's obvious that the windows have not heard of windolene, and the floors have only ever seen flash (Gordon) when it appeared on the TV in the 80s. So what exactly do the cleaners do? Have some pride in your work, if I worked there the place would be spotless.
Chavs with their tops off etc make this more like a Jeremy Kyle holiday than a nice family one.
If pontins invest then this will drive up the price as the whole place will look good and thus new price range will be out of range for the Jeremy Kyle brigade.
It's a major problem, the clients you attract reflect on the state of the place, I'm sure pontins will come back and surprise us as it was a great British company but is sadly falling behind Butlins and haven.
Good luck!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank WrexhamMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. With regard to the facilities and main building, over the winter we had new carpets laid throughout the venues and we are continuing to refurbish/redecorate across the site, however given the size of the site this is no small undertaking. As we accommodate up to three and a half thousand guests on each check-in day this can sometimes result in delays. Again, this is something that we are trying to improve on, we have a new layout in the reception area to ease congestion and we also have more reception staff than ever to speed up the check-in process.
Our aim is to deliver Outstanding value for money holidays to all of our guests and this is something we pride ourselves on, we are continuing to make improvements across the site while maintaining our affordable prices. Thank you again for giving us some feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

It is a little dated and basic, but fine. It was clean and extremely good value for money being located right by the beach. It isn't luxury accommodation, but neither does it claim to be. Many of the criticisms I have read seem very unfair, causing potential visitors to worry unnecessarily. The staff were all very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank st_fursey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review, it is unfortunate that many guests who have had a positive experience with us forget to leave a review when they return home whereas the small minority of guests that have experienced a less enjoyable holiday do not.
We are very encouraged by your comments, particularly about the members of staff that you dealt with and we hope to see you and your family again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Just returned from a friday to monday break . Six adults and two children aged 3 and 2. We were pleasantly suprised this year.improvements made to entertainment areas and even new carpets. We had two club apartments.which were clean. Free newspapers daily, free bottle wine and free breakfast on final day.bluecoats friendly and work really hard to keep everyone entertained. The children loved it. Nice outside play areas for them too. Also nice beach just up the road

Room Tip: Club apartments have few extras.eg iron ironing board, microwave, toaster. Patio doors. And are Usua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands and we are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
We have invested heavily in refurbishment across our park and it is great to see that this has been noticed by our guests.
We are continuing to make improvements across our park and we suggest you keep an eye out on our website for details of such improvements as they happen, as well as looking out for any special offers or promotions that may be upcoming.
Once again thank you for your kind review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Chalets look and feel dirty and outdated, driving around the many 1970's style blocks to eventually find your own and then having to walk up loose concrete steps instantly puts you in a negative mind-frame. Luckily only stayed for one night. Staff were polite and helpful. First and last time at a Pontins.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bwlv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Pontins Prestatyn Sands. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your overall experience with us, we do feel that we offer Outstnading value for money family holidays in what we consider to be a beautiful location. We provide a traditional seaside holiday which the majority of our guests enjoy and return time and time again, we are sorry to hear that you did not feel it was for you. We are however very pleased with your comments about the staff, it is always encouraging to hear that the guests feel our staff are approachable.
Once again, we would like to thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I have given it one start and that's only because you can't give 0 stars!. Booked a weekend away last minute and arrived at the park, got keys to our room and was met with something horrible! The place stunk had stagnant water in a bucker under sink because it leaked! And looked in draws to be greeted with ants and lots of them!, my partner opened up the cooker to have a silver back beetle fall out and run off!, we complained and after an hour and half they eventually agreed ef to move us! They gave us an upstairs chalet but with 2 disabled guests in the party it wasn't ideal but was 9pm so had no choice!, the next day spent all day trying to get moved even offering to pay for an upgrade if possible but was met with the standard response of nothing available even though we could book an club apartment online!. We eventually booked a new apartment and paid again! To get a ground floor apartment only to find when you flushed the toilet the contents ended up in the bath!! So another move to our 4th apartment!! Complained to reception and asked to speak with manager only to be told he wasn't in, we could see him in the back!!! Pontins could not get a monkeys about its guests once they have your money!! I would avoid pontins altogether!!!

8  Thank Gaz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestatyn
0.3 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
661 reviews
5.9 mi away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
390 reviews
9.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Rhuddlan
3.8 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
387 reviews
13.7 mi away
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
Travelodge Colwyn Bay
#1 of 3 in Colwyn Bay
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park

Address: Barkby Avenue, Prestatyn LL19 7LA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Prestatyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Prestatyn
Price Range: £41 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontin`s Prestatyn Sands Centre Hotel Prestatyn
Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing