We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never go to a pontins site again!.. Let down!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our whole experience was awful!.. Dirty rooms, dirty bathrooms and customer service shocking.
Would never return and the whole experience was disappointing!
The only good thing was going a day early!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KimG1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands. We regret that you didn't feel like you fully enjoyed your holiday. We encourage all guests to notify our reception staff to ensure that any issues the guest has are rectified immediately to help our guests enjoy their holiday thouroughly and experience a great value for money.
We apologise you didn't enjoy your holiday but we thank you again for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,930 - 1,936 of 3,284 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

For whatever reason it seems that people only tend to leave a review of somewhere when they have had a bad experience...just human nature I guess, but certainly makes life difficult for those who look at reviews hoping to get an honest appraisal of somewhere - which I think it's fair to say that anybody reading a review on Tripadvisor will do!

So, to begin, I would just like to thank all of the lovely staff at Pontins Prestatyn for being so welcoming and making our stay so enjoyable - we had a fab holiday, thank you x

We traveled as a party of 3 - 2 adults and a 10 year old teenager, and as our finances were somewhat stretched this year we weren't really planning on going away - until I came across a week's holiday starting on the first Saturday of the summer holidays for £279...which promptly dropped to just £229 thanks to an offer code which I received in an email, cracking deal!

It was a "popular" apartment we stayed in, and we didn't expect much, but nor did we need much. For us, it was simply a base to sleep in and grab the odd half an hour sit down before heading back out again. And yes the apartment was somewhat basic, with a particularly dated bathroom, but it gave us everything we needed - probably the only criticism of the apartment was the lack of a shower and having to rely on baths, but this was made clear at the time of booking and didn't put us out too much - had it been a deal breaker, I would have booked accommodation with a shower instead.


With a 10 year old teenager, we didn't really experience the Children's entertainment laid on in the Fun Factory, but instead preferred the fun and games, and amazing cabaret acts in Lunar's Showbar. And at this point I'd like to give a big shout-out to Kathleen Jenkins, who has an amazing voice as well as being a great entertainer as her alter-ego Bluecoat Kat. :) We did pop into the Fun Factory on the Thursday for a few mins of Timmy Mallett, and whilst we weren't disappointed with the show we didn't manage to find seats as it was so crowded, which meant we didn't stay overly long.

During the week we made use of various sports equipment available to hire/loan, and always found it to be in good order and the staff helpful etc. It's worth pointing out that the bar in the Queen Vic usually have a set of darts you can borrow for a £1 deposit instead of the usual £5 and having to walk to the hire place...although unfortunately these were damaged part way through our stay which meant having to hire them from the activity place and therefore return them by 6pm - not a major issue, just meant no quick round of darts before bingo.

The inflatable climbing wall was great too, and little'un enjoyed the go-carting, although would have liked a go on the quads had they still been available.

Only real gripe in any way about the activities was that only one session of Archery was offered during our week long stay, and whilst I attempted to book her on a number of days in advance unfortunately it was already fully booked - which was a big disappointment was was something she was really looking forward to trying. Ah well, guess that's a day out during the remainder of the holidays sorted.


We made frequent use of the bar facilities, mainly in the Queen Vic and Lunars, and always found the staff helpful and polite - never any major queues either. And whilst yes the prices are a tad steeper than your local old man's pub, compared to prices south of the Watford Gap it was positively Bargain Booze territory! Not bad selection on offer either it has to be said.

Only on one occasion did we eat in the restaurant, not because of any issue but simply a fussy 10 year old. We did the all-you-can-eat buffet breakfast one morning during the week, which was rather wasted on her costing £2.99 for 2 weetabix! I more than made up for it though, with a plate full which kept me going until evening - and whilst of course it's basic fare, it was quite tasty and certainly had no complaints, aside from some slightly greasy fried bread.

Of an evening, having eaten out during the day we tended to grab a snack from Casey's, and after a little disappointment on the first night when there was no chicken available, we became fans of the chicken fillet burger and proceeded to make pigs of ourselves all week...a little slow in serving, but freshly prepared which made up for that.

The amusement arcade became something of a second home, on a quest for tickets to win prizes (not for us, honest!) - and by the end of the week the bossy one had amassed over 5,500 which was quite some feat! No doubt they had cost us far more than the value of the prizes, but she had great fun in the process - and did come away with a half decent bag of goodies too.

We didn't venture into the Coffee Lounge until the last morning, and only then because madam was spending her tickets and we were in need of a cuppa before the walk back to the station. A little pricey, but not really bad compared to leading brands - although the service was very slow, and I did have to return a coffee that came iced instead of piping hot. When I finally got a hot one, it went down nicely and finished off the week.

So, all in all it was a fantastic holiday and we do look forward to returning in the future - and I'd have no hesitation in recommending the camp to other people, so long as they are realistic about their expectations and go with an open mind - if you go on holiday wanting to have a good time, you will do!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank MarcFUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you very much for your kindness in your review for Pontins Prestatyn Sands. We are very pleased you and your family enjoyed your holiday with us and we thouroughly appreciate you taking the time to write your review. We believe we give a great value for money holidays and we are delighted that you have recognised this. We are continuously updating our park and adding more facilities to keep the experience here special for families and children of all ages. Our bluecoats work extremely hard to entertain all guests and we thank you for your kind words about our bluecoat Kat, we will ensure these comments are passed on. Our website is full of great offers you can receive for future holidays. Once again we thank you and we look forward to seeing you and your family again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Me and my partner took her family including 2 grandsons here the week before last. And I have to say we had a great time. the facilities were clean, the entertainment was mainly aimed at the kids, but that was fine by us!
The apartment could have been a bit cleaner, the floor needed a mop, and we found a stalesausage roll shoved behind the microwave, but to be fair IT IS a camp site not the Ritz.

One thing I would like to mention, the cleaning crew in the main buildings do an incredible job, while I was there I noticed one of the toilets was very badly soiled, and I mean everywhere. I don't who by, and don't want to say the wrong thing (politically correctness and all that) as there are a very diverse range of customers. but it was a completely disgusting mess. The cleaner was there withing a minute, isolated the cubicle, cleaned the sink and floor almost immediately, and within 10 minutes the cubical was reopened and spick and span. fair play to the cleaners, I wouldn't like to deal with that.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Carthorse40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands. We appreciate you taking the time to write your polite review of our park and we are delighted that you enjoyed your fun filled holiday with us. As a family holiday camp we do put the childs best interest at heart and ensure there is a lot for all the family to be involved in. We believe we give a great value for money with our holidays and we appreciate the kind comments made towards our cleaning staff.
Thank you again for your kind review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Rooms supposed to have been revamped.!!! Basically a sticking plaster to cover a large wound. It was filthy!! Frying pans with used bacon fat in the oven and cups with stains in. The balcony was all rusted and paint peeling. Seagulls nesting on the roofs.. Waiting for food! The sofabed in the lounge tips up as it's only supported on one side (our appts were club by the way so god only knows what Classic was like). It was like ASB city on a nighttime. Kids throwing firecracker type things at the glass patio windows!! If this is your thing good luck to you. If your children are used clean comfortable life this isn't the place for you. The only plus is that there is a lovely beachside hotel/restaurant over the road with a lovely clean beach beside it. We were on a football tournament weekend so we didn't choose to stay at pontins and even though it was only £85 per person I feel we would have at least had cleanliness and a decent environment if we had spent the money on a popular hotel chain or a decent caravan for the weekend. The bar smelt of chip fat!! We only ventured in for our presentation. We haven't stopped laughing since at the weekend we slummed it at Pontins Prestatyn..

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThirtySomethings12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your review at Pontins Prestatyn Sands. We apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us on this occassion. We encourage guests to notify reception staff as soon as possible, of any issues that they may encounter during their stay to rectify any issues and to make sure that they are comfortable and completely satisfied with their value for money.
Once again we thank you for your comments and taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

On arrival the room was absolutely disgusting, i've heard bad reviews of this place but it was on offer so i thought i might as well go, what a massive mistake this was. The "beds" were matresses and they were so uncomfortable, they also has some human excretions on the sheets amongst other things including tampons and human excretions in the toilet.
If you are visiting with young kids, don't bother. If i were you i wouldn't go here, avoid at all costs, i felt i would wake up and have to get myself to the nearest clinic because i might have caught an STI off the sheets.

Room Tip: Don't bother picking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coolio64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands.

We have invested heavily in the refurbishment of our park since the New Pontins was born in February 2011 and it is disappointing to us when standards of cleanliness of maintenance are not met.

We encourage all of guests to contact our reception team whilst staying on park, should they experience any issues, to enable us to try and rectify such issues.

We have recently made improvements across the whole of our park with updates to our accommodation, updates to the facilities on park, new carpets throughout the main building, new bars, improved and new leisure activities, refurbishment in our swimming pool changing rooms, a new Java Coffee Lounge, new game zone and new family fun zone all taken place since the New Pontins was born in February 2011.

We have much more planned in the near future and we have now taken to reading reviews about our park on sites such as Trip Advisor to enable us to expand the feedback from our guests as we continue to maintain and where necessary improve the level of service on park.
We have made the relevant departments aware of the issues mentioned in your review so that they can take action where proven necessary and we would like to thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay.

Thank you once again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

What an absolute filthy hole! The chalets are stinking. The smell knocks you sideways when you enter. There's a small TV and you can write your name in the dust on it...and it doesn't even work! The windows are so scruffy you can barely see out of them. The bins are over flowing and there's rubbish everywhere. The place needs shut down and bulldozing.
Avoid this place like the plague.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy5harley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands. We apologise that unfortunately you did not enjoy your stay and we appreciate any constructive critisism we may recieve. We encourage guests to report any issues they may have with their accommodation so that we can rectify these issues immediately to suit the guests priorities. We do believe that we deliver an excellent value for money for our guests and a brilliant entertainment programme that suits all ages along with an accommodation that suits all purposes.
We thank you again for your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Our accommodation was basic but pretty clean & tidy. Better than I was expecting after reading the bad reviews people had given. The beach was lovely my 4 year old loved it. She was runner up in a dance competition and was so happy with her medal. There is lots to do for children. The downside for me was the noise made late at night into the morning from adults and children playing football outside the apartment, and no curtain/blind above the door window which let so much light in.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your positive review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands. We appreciate the kind words and we are really pleased you enjoyed your family fun filled holiday. We believe we give a great value for money with a wide range of entertainment suitable for all ages to take part in and we appreciate you have recognised this as we believe happiness is all about the family enjoying themselves together. Unfortunately noise issues may occur from time to time, however we do try our best to maintain this as much as possible. We ask all guests to keep the noise level to a minimum of the evening to ensure respect is given to other families on the park and any noise issues reported are dealt with in a professional manner by our security team.
Once again thank you very much for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestatyn
0.3 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
652 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
382 reviews
0.6 mi away
Halcyon Quest Hotel
Halcyon Quest Hotel
#3 of 3 in Prestatyn
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
603 reviews
0.7 mi away
Plas Ifan
Plas Ifan
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
119 reviews
2.1 mi away
Presthaven Holiday Park
Presthaven Holiday Park
#2 of 8 in Prestatyn
1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park

Address: Barkby Avenue, Prestatyn LL19 7LA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Prestatyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Prestatyn
Price Range: £38 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontin`s Prestatyn Sands Centre Hotel Prestatyn
Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing