We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please read the reviews.......never mind pontINS try Pont get me OUT of here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Please read the reviews.......never mind pontINS try Pont get me OUT of here”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Yes I read the reviews before we went but went with an open mind but it was just like others have said.
Disgraceful place dirty rooms spent 2 hrs cleaning floor was dirtier than my back yard. Entertainment was rubbish food was rubbish they tell you of all the places to eat but the only places there was was a chippy which closed at 8.30pm and a food hall where the food was diabolical and they were cleaning the hot plates with the dirtiest water I have ever seen.
Most staff that we saw were nice but they didn't know anything when asked and they couldn't even look at you.
We lasted one night after the person below was knocking his missus about till 1am. The noise in general was disgraceful my children could not sleep at all.
Booked club but couldn't even park outside.
The seagulls were happy as they scavenged about in flocks.
PLEASE READ THE REVIEWS TO THIS PLACE IT IS AWFUL AND TAKE YOUR BUSINESS ELSEWHERE

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, we would have been more than happy to rectify any issues that you had with your accommodation had we been made aware of it and we certainly would not expect our guests to be cleaning their apartment themselves.
We can confirm that there are several places to eat around the site, not only do we serve a variety of meals in our Beachcomber restaurant we also serve food in our Java lounge Cafe, Queen Victoria Pub, Caseys Whistle Stop, Captain Cods fish and chip shop and we have also recently introduced a range of sandwiches and cold snacks in our on-site shop. We apologise if this was not communicated to you by our staff.
We apologise if you were disturbed by another family during your holiday, we would urge our guests to report any noise disturbances or anti-social behaviour to our security team on the telephone number provided on the back of all apartment keys. It is our intention that none of our guests be disturbed by behaviour of this nature during their stay with us and we will do all in our power to prevent this from happening.
Once again we are sorry to hear that your holiday did not live up to expectations and we thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    522
    471
    351
    1,400
See reviews for
1,972
233
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (678)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I went with two of my friends, we were given a free upgrade on our room, check in took 5 minutes, the apartment was clean and had everything needed, we didn't need to pay for electricity as it was already topped up, loved the shows at night and all the staff seemed very friendly! Just make the most of it, we paid £150 for travel and accommodation in total for three of us for 4 nights, couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graeme K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for your kind review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands. We are delighted to hear that you all had a good time and we sincerely hope that you will return to stay with us in the future. Your comments regarding the staff and entertainment are greatly appreciated and will be passed on to our staff who work tirelessly to ensure that all of our guests are happy and entertained throughout their stay. Once again we thank you for taking the time to write this review and for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Absolutely disgusting, never even took my suitcases out of the car after seeing the room, I no there is basic, but there are standards. The room was absolutely filthy, I wouldn't even put my dog in it and I upgraded what a laugh, I would definitely advise anyone of going think twice. My husband, and grandson have never been so disappointed we left and found a lovely modern caravan in Towyn at the same price. We will definitely not be going there every again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands and we apologise that you did not enjoy your time here.
We have invested heavily in the refurbishment of our park since the New Pontins was born in February 2011 and it is disappointing to us when standards of cleanliness of maintenance are not met. We try our best to encourage all guests to notify us if they feel something is not up to standard to give us chance to rectify any issues and we are disappointed that we did not have the opportunity to resolve your complaint on this occasion.
We believe we offer great value for money holidays and we have provided thousands of families an enjoyable holiday at our park. We cater for up to 3,500 guests on park each night and we have added new facilities on park to keep everyone entertained and based on the feedback received from our guests the vast majority who stay on park have a great time.
Once again we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Prestatyn Sands and we thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prestatyn hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Firstly when we arrived got sent in a hall which looked like a cattle market and the heat in that room was horrible. There was people shouting and argueing. Had to queue for over an hour to get out keys. Once we got our keys and given our bedding off we went to find our room...... well were do I start...... Firstly before unlocking the door there was a bag of dirty bedding which had been left outside the door from the other poor sods in before us also you couldnt see through the window to the room as the window was that dirty. When entering the room I felt phsically sick. The smell was terrible. The floor had toe nails, crumbs, dirt, hair, and lots and lots of dry skin. The black leather sofa (which was a bed) was full of dry skin and toe nails. The floor was sticky with pop. The kitchen cooker was absolutely crawling in grease and the cupboards had bits of food crumbs and little flys which probably hadnt seen a cloth and some bleach for years!! Good job i fetched my own!! The bathroom was a disgrace. The toilet was very dirty. The bath was all rusty again full of dry skin. Empty toilet rolls over floor and it stuck of urine (put it one way i wouldnt put a dog in that bath) The kids bedroom... well... the curtains had all snot over them and someone had decided to wee all up the wall it absolutely stunk... just looking around the room in the first 5 minutes i knew i wanted go home. The kids faces were full of disapppointment. So off we went to the manager... 20 mins later she meet us at our room. She seemed to be confused of what our problem was at the beginning... after showing her around she decided get her cleaners back in to 'DEEP CLEAN' whilst we went to the club. After a good night of entertainment we went back to the dreaded room to expect a clean smelling room... instead went back to the same room apart from the cleaners brushing the floor and leaving all the hair dust dirt and toe nails oh and the dry skin brushed to one side of the room!! So I sort of cleaned myself...

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands. We are sorry to hear that your experience of a site was not a positive one, it is our intention that all of our guests enjoy the fun-filled family holidays that we pride ourselves on and it is always disappointing when this does not occur.
We apologise if you felt that your apartment was not adequately cleaned foryour arrival, unfortunately on a site which accommodates over three thousand guests twice a week issues can sometimes occur. We would certainly never expect a guest to clean their own apartment on arrival and if anything is amiss we would urge our guests to return to reception and notify us so that we can rectify any problems.
Once again we apologise that you did not enjoy our product and we thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This placmirror like somtoothpaste on out of a horror film, I am still traumatised after being there yesterday. It looks like a council estate from the 80s, even though they advertise it as being new (website states since 2011- yeah right!). The room we were given looked like junkies lived there previously: decrepit, dirty, desolate, depressing, ugly, scary, the scene of nightmares. I have honestly never seen anything like it in my life! Sofa bed had a leg missing, the 2 single beds were filthy and stained. The bathroom was disgusting: hairs in the bath, toothpaste on the mirror, mould all around, filthy toilet, no toilet paper. The worst shock was when we opened the oven to find a load of soiled pans and spatulas.
Stay away from this place, it is absolutely horrible! In.the queue to reception there were at least 3 other families like us demanding a refund. We are still to sort that out.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands. We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the accommodation provided to you on your stay. It is our intention that all of our guests are comfortable and happy in their holiday environment and we would have been more than willing to rectify any cleanliness issues that you may have had with the apartment however we do feel that it is a little extreme to describe our apartments as 'desolate' or 'scary'. The pictures of the accommodation on our website are genuine pictures of our apartments and we make no secret of the fact that we are undergoing a massive refurbishment programme across all of our parks. We do feel that we offer an outstanding value for money family holiday and this is appreciated by the overwhelming majority of guests. We do apologise if you did not believe this to be the case and we thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birkenhead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

So were to start.......we arrived home sweet home yesterday and ive never been so glad to see my own front door! We spent four nights in this preverbial hell whole my partner and i along with my three children and my elderly mother and farther in law. Lets start with the good things. breakfast fantastic cooked breakfast every day on self service basis got a bit boring everyday would like to of seen fruit and youghurt but overall lovely and the infamous blue coat entertainment was outstanding good points finished. Bad points, check in
... utter sham, three tierd kids two elderly ppl a hall full of arguing fighting guests and four lunch tables in the middle of the dance floor ive never seen so many people argue. Need a new way to get ppl checked in. The room.... ment to have double bed two singles one doublesofa bed and paid for all the bedding... get to the room floor soaking wet from the fridge a broken manic old footon my self and my partners bed and four single beds no doors on wardrobes a bath with several sharp rusty marks in a dirty loo and a manci chicken in the microwave lovley!! Tried to make beds and im four pillows short i thought quick trip to reception theyll sort it. She asked for my room number and said someone will bring them over thought cant argue with that..... five hours later at 10.30pm no one had come even after 7 calls to the reception and the main gate went to find out wat was happening and they had non. Was offerd two dirty old single duvets needless to say i went on a trip to asda and bought my own four single duvets one double and 7 pillows. Thanks pontins still no one ever got back to us for the duration of the trip. Three of the radiators didnt work at all three of the four hoobs on the cooker were broken and one totally missing the taps driped all night. We had replace two lightblubs ourselves. The curtains were rotten and mouldy. Evening meals great if u like chips chips chips with everything we paid for bnb n eveing meal and we ate out three nights to avoid chip gate. Other than the blue coats the staff look utterly miserable and v. Unhelpful not to mention rude! And my final quarrel seatting of an evening is ni impossable to obtain. They no how many people r going to visit but there is no were near enough tables and chairs go early and stay put. Overall i am deeply dissapionted i wasnt expecting the ritz were a camping family for god sake wer used to slumming it but it was a treat for my children and there granparents as they r not in the best of health i deeply regret spending the 600 pounds sorry to ramble guys but if uve booked be prepared at pack the kitchen sink and bleach!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aimie1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands. We were diappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, we make every effort to ensure that all accsommodation is fully prepared for incoming guests and that no problems are encountered, unfortunately on a site of this size issues can sometimes occur.
Unfortunately during our busiest times some queueing during the check-in is unavoidable. We have introduced a new check-in system for the 2014 season and we are pleased to announce that we have more reception staff than ever to speed up the check-in process.
We would like to take this opportunity to apologise again for the issues you found with the apartment you stayed in, we can only urge our guests to report any problems like this to reception in order that we can rectify them.
We have taken all of your comments on board and will keep them in mind as we continue to make improvements across the site. Once again we thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Epitomy of a 'cheap' holiday!!
Check in was a badly misorganised mess,with herds of people pointed in different ways!
Got to the room eventually,no travel cot as requested,fridge broken,no plug,sparse utensils, the front door didnt shut properly either! And that was apparently an upgrade!!!!!
Didnt stay on site a single day as wasnt worth it..the facilities were about 20years outdated and filthy!! Walked into the clubhouse and walked straight back out again!! It was overcrowded and stunk,we stuck to the floor!
Will be visiting north wales again but wouldnt waste my time booking into any pontins sites

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Amerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff S, General Manager at Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for your review of Pontins Prestatyn Sands. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our product, we would have been happy to resolve any issues that you may have had with your accommodation had we been made aware of it. We also regret your disappointment with the facilities on site however we do feel that we have a great deal to offer for everyone in the family. We are sorry that your holiday did not meet your expectations and thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestatyn
0.2 mi away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Prestatyn
611 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
352 reviews
4.0 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
327 reviews
0.8 mi away
Plas Ifan
Plas Ifan
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
114 reviews
17.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#17 of 60 in Llandudno
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park

Property: Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park
Address: Barkby Avenue, Prestatyn LL19 7LA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Prestatyn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Prestatyn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontin`s Prestatyn Sands Centre Hotel Prestatyn
Pontin's Prestatyn Sands Holiday Park Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing