We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs attention in some areas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Village Hotel Chester St David's
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ewloe
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Needs attention in some areas”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Booked a last minute room here with my son and the room was on the ground floor and I don't think there was much sound proofing at all. The noise from people shutting doors, water running, talking loudly when walking past was terrible! I have never stayed in such a noisy place! So didn't sleep well! Beds were comfy though and like the stripy, modern look to the room. Little moan that the bathroom needed ventilation for the shower as steamed up and the paintwork was scratched in places. Breakfast, well, had to wait in a bar area while they got a table ready! Ok fine, but there were at least 8 empty, but messy, tables free nearby! Need to up the cleanup rota there, I think as never had this problem elsewhere! Also not much choice for veggies to eat, so not as good as other hotels for breakfast.Listen to your visitor's please hotel management! Checkout at 11am too, 1 hour earlier than most places, not a problem for us but on a sunday some people might need more time.

Room Tip: Not ground floor! Kids running in gardens in day so bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julester22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageStDavids, General Manager at Village Hotel Chester St David's, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear julester22,

Many thanks for your review following your recent last minute stay.

I am sorry to read that the noise in the hotel disturbed your night with us. I am also very sorry to read that you had to que for breakfast when seeing empty tables, I have discussed this with the breakfast team to ensure improvments are made in this area.

I do hope that we do get to see you at the hotel again in the future, if you do stay again please do let us know and we would be more than happy to arrange some more vegitarian options at breakfast for you.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    851
    596
    282
    153
See reviews for
536
1,244
53
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

After staying at St. David's Park previously we returned for a Friday one night stay and it is safe to say the service has drastically improved.

After being let down on two occasions previously, David Simm and his team in the Verve Restaurant have turned the place around with good service, lovely environment and great food. The restaurant is now a place we will enjoy eating in rather than dreading. We will highly recommend the restaurant to friends and family.

Stayed in the Upper Deck room whereas previously we have stayed in the standard room. All rooms are a little tired in parts with scuffs and scrapes. However, it was a nice touch to have a comfy mattress topper, Sky movies and Starbucks coffee. Room was also very quiet and spacious. We wouldn't necessarily stay in the Upper Deck room every time. Nevertheless, on this occasion it was a very nice treat.

As with other Village Urban Resorts, we would recommend this hotel and we will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellenthom15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageStDavids, General Manager at Village Hotel Chester St David's, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear ellenthom15,

Many thanks for your review, it is great to read that David is having the desired impact in the Verve Restaurant with his team and that the improvments have been made from your previous visits.

We are currentley working around all of the rooms to repair to paint that is damaged.

I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Took mom for a spa day to relax the place was amazing the facilities were lovely staff in the spa were lovely especially laura and Christine so relaxing perfect day thoroughly enjoyed it will definitely be coming back again

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlottealexandra96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageStDavids, General Manager at Village Hotel Chester St David's, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Charlottealexandra96,

Many thanks for your review, it is great to read that you and your mum enjoyed your relaxing day.

I will share your very kind words with Lauren and Christine.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Visit started well with a very pleasant check in and lots of facilities on offer. We stayed in a standard room and immediately noticed the room was looking tired, didn't feel clean and generally not up to standard. We had a drink in the conservatory later and this was exactly the same with all the chairs dirty and worn. The pool was very small and packed the two times we attempted to go. Rooms were also incredibly dark with black decor, only one light and 2 plugs so you had to choose to either watch tv or charge your phone?! We had a better experience at breakfast than others report with quick service and nice food. All in all massively needs updating, would have scored lower but we got a good priced deal.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank saraht2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageStDavids, General Manager at Village Hotel Chester St David's, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear sarah2,

Many thanks for your review following your stay, I am sorry to read that you beleive that the hotel is in need of an update. I will discuss your feedback with all of the management team here to ensure that the issues that you have raised are improved upon.

I hope that we can welcome you to the hotel again in the future and that you can see some of the ongoing paint work and improvments that we are currently making.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Lovely hotel, clean and spacious rooms, friendly staff especially Ann-Marie at reception. Breakfast was excellent, again friendly staff. Eat in Victory pub and Verve Grill both were very good. Nice courtyard to sit and enjoy a drink. Will return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageStDavids, General Manager at Village Hotel Chester St David's, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Anne K,

Many thanks for your recent review, it is great to read that you had such an enjoyable time and your feedback for the team here in particular Anne-Marie is very much appriciated.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here this weekend for two nights and we were really looking forward to it but when we got to our room we were very disappointed. The size was lovely but the lighting was very poor. There was no light near the big mirror so doing hair and makeup was near impossible or no main light in the bedroom. The shower leaked over the floor. The bed was very hard and uncomfortable and at 29 weeks pregnant caused a very restless nights sleep. Breakfast was ok, could have been hotter and the bacon was very fatty and the scrambled egg on Sunday was very runny. Plus points, the staff were lovely and the hotel was well looked after.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageStDavids, General Manager at Village Hotel Chester St David's, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Lou S,

Many thanks for your recent review following your stay with us.

Sorry to read that you expected better during your stay, I will ask our maintainence team to resolve the leaking shower screen.

I wish you all the best for the remainder of your pregnancy and hope that we see you again at St David's in the future.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlewich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Just moved to the area. Tried The hotel restaurant "Verve" for the first time. Fantastic service from beginning to the end. Food was excellent. Our table service by Diane was second to none. Well worth the visit!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillageStDavids, Front Office Manager at Village Hotel Chester St David's, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear John M,

Welcome to the area!

It is great to read you enjoyed your experience in Verve, your comments have been passed on to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ewloe
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn A55 - Chester (West)
1.4 mi away
Northop Hall Country House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Beaufort Park Hotel
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Chester South
2.7 mi away
Gateway to Wales Hotel
Gateway to Wales Hotel
#31 of 44 in Chester
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Chester St David's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Chester St David's

Property: Village Hotel Chester St David's
Address: St. Davids Park | Ewloe, Ewloe CH5 3YB, Wales (Formerly De Vere Village Chester St. David's)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Flintshire > Ewloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ewloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Village Hotel Chester St David's 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Chester St Davidls is close to the historical City of Chester and is also an ideal base for touring the splendours of the Snowdonia National Park and North Wales coastline. Excellent motorway access allows you to visit some superb attractions, swimming with sharks at the Blue Planet Aquarium to a gentle steam railway journey through the picturesque Vale of Llangollen. Village Hotel Chester St David's has 140 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Chester St David's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Village Chester St. David`s Hotel Ewloe
De Vere St Davids Park
Village Hotel Chester St David's Ewloe, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing