We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Northop Hall Country House Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Travelodge Chester Northop Hall(Northop Hall)(Great Value!)
US$68
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$69
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Plas Hafod Hotel(Gwernymynydd)
    US$124
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Springfield Hotel & Health Club(Pentre Halkyn)
    US$90
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    Reviews (473)
    Filter reviews
    473 results
    Traveller rating
    226
    115
    72
    35
    25
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    226
    115
    72
    35
    25
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewschequers restaurantsuperior roomfour poster bedwedding venuelounge barcountry housewedding breakfastwedding receptionbeautiful buildingfrom start to finishafternoon tealovely groundsgorgeous foodfollowing morningthis lovely hotelevening buffetwonderful wedding
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    258 - 263 of 473 reviews
    Reviewed 31 May 2014

    We recently stayed here for one night as part of a wedding party. The food was excellent, lovely location and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable. Although my grans single room had no hot water in the morning and in my parents' double room the shower didn't work. The breakfast was lovely and Gluten free bread and sausages were provided for me, as well as soya milk available. Overall we had a very enjoyable stay

    • Stayed: May 2014
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Llin2089
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

    Dear Llin2089,

    Thank you for your good review whilst staying with us as guests at a wedding.

    I was pleased to hear that your special dietary request were acknowledged and you enjoyed your visit.

    I am aware that at peak times our hot water supply has been a problem recently, as we have now been advised that one of our hot water tanks is not working to its full efficientcy. This has now been addressed and have given the go-ahead to replace the faulty boiler, needless to say this is an unwelcomed cost, but essential in order to improve our water supply. I am assured this will make a significant difference.

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your welcomed feedback.

    I hope we may welcome you back on many future visits.

    Yours sincerely,

    Tony Holland

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 31 May 2014

    We visited this hotel to attend a friends wedding and stayed over.Our welcome was warm and registration swift without fuss.Our room perfect.The room where the wedding ceremony was held was lovely and bright,relaxed with a certain combined appeal of ceremony and efficiency.The reception again in a room presented with a finite touch of class respectful of the occasion.Food was simple and delicious.My partner, a vegan,made a request without notice to the chef for something suitable to her dietry requirements.With good grace and no fuss in a very short time presented her with a meticulously prepared delight and an assurance if it was not agreeable to prepare something alternative was no trouble.Wow.We are talking good service!Fine meal and afternoon was had by all in the beautiful rural setting.Our request for sweeteners and more coffee in the room attended to with great haste.The evening 'do' was great fun and the buffet scrumptious.The staff attending the 'do' were discreetly efficient and any requests met with a smile and attended to immediately.A great evening was also had by all .And finally breakfast.I love this part of a stay over.Again a warm and polite 'good morning' from the staff and a very nice meal to set you up for the journey home.A swift check out and nice farewell from the staff.Our sincere compliments to all the staff and appreciation for everything.

    Room Tip: We had room 308 and were very satisfied.
    • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Geoffrey R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

    Dear Geoff R,

    Thank you for your great review, I was pleased you both enjoyed your visit, and also good to hear the 'Team' looked after you, and responded well to special dietary requests.

    Your kind comments are much appreciated by everyone here at Northop Hall.

    We hope we may welcome you both on many future visits.

    Yours sincerely,

    Tony Holland.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 May 2014

    Stayed over for a friend’s wedding in a twin room. The beds were really comfy, it was nice & clean and there was an iron and ironing board in the wardrobe and in a cubby hole near the wardrobe was the kettle etc. Disappointed there was no fridge. The decor was fitting with “country house hotel” but I felt it was stuck in the 1990’s with mock mahogany furniture and beds with a green and gold throw and basic white walls. The bathroom was on the small side and the bath took ages to run, so I gave up in the end. It was also little rough round the edges and there wasn’t even room for a toothbrush and toothpaste at the sink. The towels were on a small heated towel rail which was really close to the wall to save space, but there is usually a shelf at the end of the bath to store and access towels which would have been an easy addition.
    The bar was a typically small affair, although there was plenty of choice. The real ale on offer in the afternoon as we arrived was totally delicious but by the time we’d been to the room to bathe and change, it was 6 deep at the bar and the real ale had run out! There was plenty of seating for the evening reception across 2-3 separate rooms.
    Breakfast was OK. The cooked breakfast was tasty with plenty of choice. The issue was space on the main table for the buffet cooked breakfast. There really was nowhere to put the metal lid while you served yourself. Also you had to use your side plate from the table to take over to get pastries/toast, they weren’t provided next to the toaster which was odd. There was no butter knife, you had to use one knife for jam/butter/cut up the cooked breakfast/croissant etc. It really is the little details that makes a hotel stay average, good or excellent.

    • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank jacko383
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

    Dear jacko383

    Thank you for your recent review following your visit to Northop Hall Country House Hotel.

    I was pleased to read that your room was comfortable and clean. I have also noted your other comments, some of which we will action in the very near future.

    It was good to hear you enjoyed our real ale and do apologise for running out - as a rule we keep 2 real ales on at busier times, then if one does happen to run out we have a second to offer - regrettably the problem with real ale is the short shelf life it has once it's been tapped and vented, however many of our guests do enjoy 'proper beer'.

    I have also noted the comments you made about breakfast service - we are replacing the existing chafing dishes in the very near future-ref the lids.

    As you said it is always the attention to detail that counts, and we appreciate your constructive comments.

    We look forward to welcoming you in the future, and again many thanks for your feedback.

    Yours sincerely,

    Tony Holland

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 29 May 2014

    Great staff to welcome us. Very helpful. Had a nice downstairs refurbished room at the back. Very quiet. Would have given this "excellent" rating, but no fault of it's own is the location from the main road. It can only be accessed by travelling east so if coming from Chester then you had to either pass it and come back by turning about on the next junction or turn off early and travel the back lanes. No real hassle but notable. Newly refurnished when I visited so clean and fresh. Obviously not a big name hotel but a very good travel lodge. We stayed 4 nights for a holiday break, and enjoyed it. Not very near Chester but with a car not a bad location. Please note, this is a late review, I was actually there in 2013. Yes I know, but I did eventually get a roundtuit!

    • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Mike S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

    Dear Mike S

    Thank you for your review, however I am not sure if you stayed at Northop Hall Country House Hotel or The Travel Lodge which is nearby?- also at Northop Hall, but on the A55 Eastbound as you stated in your review.

    Should you find the need for accommodation in this area again, we would be pleased to welcome you at Northop Hall Country House Hotel.

    Kind Regards,

    Tony Holland

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 May 2014

    While i cannot fault the downstairs area of the hotel and the staff, they made the wedding go wonderfully for everyone, a great day for the bride and groom.
    The bedrooms we were given were "worse than some third world hostels I have stayed in".
    In the end i got fed up of trying to get things sorted, and i think this was their plan
    The charge for the tiny single room was discounted but this was still £59 more than it was worth.
    The one single room had the most bizare shower, it was high sided with a built in seat so you only had a small area to stand in. However, thankfuly i was moved from this room to another room, but this was because the first room had left over food in the draws and cupboards. the other single room had to have the tv exchanged (apparently they have a problem with people stealing remotes), then the elderly person who slept in it realised that the sheet while laundered had a blood stain which had not been removed in the laundry. The room i was put in had a clean bed but no working tv or hairdryer.

    Room Tip: Do not book a single... or one of the rooms for singles
    • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Denise D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    tony_holland, Owner at Northop Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

    Dear Denise D

    Thank you for your review following your recent visit, I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the wedding you attended.

    We were however disappointed to read your comments about our single rooms. We only have a small number of single rooms, and the rooms you occupied have been recently refurbished with new carpets, curtains, beds and decorated. The bathrooms also been refurbished. I was sorry you did not feel they were value for money, and apologise for anything left in the drawers by a previous occupant, this should not happen.

    I have investigated the matter of the bed linen, and have been informed by our Housekeeper that following the departure of gentleman in the room to which you refer to, the bath towel also had similar fresh marks as the bed, suggesting these were the result of a cut or similar during the visit and not a failure of our laundry.

    The matter of TV remotes is always a mystery to me- when they disappear! and annoying for us as well as future guests when we have to replace them - what do guests do with them?

    Yours sincerely
    Tony Holland

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews