We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We love this place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Coconut Kitchen

The Coconut Kitchen
Ranked #1 of 42 Restaurants in Abersoch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$44
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Coconut Kitchen, located in the village of Abersoch in Wales, is renowned for its fresh, aromatic Thai cuisine. The dining room at The Coconut Kitchen - decorated with Oriental lamps and dark wooden furniture ��� overlooks the harbour and has a warm, intimate vibe perfect for cosy dining, and the restaurant is a popular place for dates, nights out with friends and dinner parties. We love the innovative menu, and popular dishes include the char-grilled coriander sirloin steak with a garlic and chilli sauce served with stir-fried greens and sweet potato crisps; the King Prawn Panang Curry cooked in a creamy red curry sauce with lime leaves and Thai sweet basil; and the delicious lemongrass and ginger cr��me brulee.
Crewe
Level Contributor
109 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“We love this place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I have friends in Bangkok so Thai food is not a mystery to me.

When one considers where this restaurant is located, in little more than a small shack, by the side of the main road into a seasonal seaside resort on the Llyn Peninsular, the food is quite amazing.

If one looks at the food with a purist Thai food eye, it is cleverly adapted for British tastes. The staff are obviously hard working and the service is good. The wine list, short, simple and easily complies with most tastes. The choices match the food on offer.

I haven't had a bad meal there yet. Well done. If you're reading this trying to decide whether to give it a whirl, or not, then go for it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    54
    11
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really lovely authentic food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Visited last Bank holiday and although didn't book a table we arrived early when they opened and they found a table for the 2 of us. The food was gorgeous, fresh and authentic. The mussels probably the best I've tasted. Service was also very good. The only nightmare was the large group of screaming children and babies and their parents on the table next to us. Not really the ideal venue being so small and intimate for children. This is the only reason our rating wasn't an Excellent one

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ceri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bramhall
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wow fab gorgeous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I had never eaten at this restaurant before and driven past not giving it a second look.Friends who live in Abersoch waxed poetical about the food and ambience and they were so right. We booked a table ( you simply have to ) as it is so popular.
We were greeted by a friendly member of staff who was very attentive.
Now the food yum ! Starter was a set starter for two but had enough for 4 ! Everyone had a taste of ribs fish cakes dim sum etc. We also had the chicken satay gorgeous. I had Thai green chicken curry really lovely my friend had the crispy belly pork and her husband and mine had the plaice with sea food. Spoilt for choice with menu and specials. Desserts included sticky toffee pudding and ice cream a sure winner!
Washed down with a delicious bottle of wine. Cost approx £110 for four and wine £17.95 .
Best food in Abersoch by far !

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thefoodies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect unplanned late dinner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Turned up with no reservation at 10pm on a Saturday night and had one of the best meals with the best service ever.
As it was late, we sat at the bar with a drink for a bit waiting for a table and there were only the 4 curry main courses left to choose from but they are only 7 mains overall and we both wanted curry anyway!
The food was gorgeous, the beef curry with chunks of fall apart in your mouth beef almost as big as tennis ball, soft noodles and sweet potatoe chips.
Service was excellent, despite our lateness and lack of booking we were made to feel very welcome.
If we're ever back in Abersoch we'll go again and I've already recommended it to everyone who'll listen!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 81pingu81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fresh and tasty Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have had a take away in the past that was very good and I decided to book a table for my wife's birthday. I advise booking in advance to get the table and time you want as the restaurant is very popular. The restaurant was full when we arrived and we had a table by the window. The staff are super attentive and friendly, the menus arrived with lots of choice and also a specials menu. We chose a sharing taste of Thailand platter to start, which had lots of variety. I had the green chicken curry and my wife had the Thai sweet and sour chicken from the specials menu. The food is excellent, freshly made and full of flavour. My wife said it reminded her of the food we had in Indonesia on our honeymoon, it was that authentic. The wine list has a good range and overall three courses with wine for less than £80 is good. Our first restaurant visit was a good one, we will definitely be returning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clattters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Coconut Kitchen also viewed

 
Abersoch, Gwynedd
 

Been to The Coconut Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing