We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pen Rhyn 5 Van campsite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Penrhyn Camping Site

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abersoch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Penrhyn Camping Site
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pen Rhyn 5 Van campsite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at this site with our motorhome for five nights in May, 2014. It is a delightful place with the hard standings down one side of a very well kept and firm field. The pitches are gravelled and level and all have electric hook-ups.

The owner met us on arrival and was very helpful and pleasant. The facilities include excellent shower/toilet rooms, beautifully clean. There is easy access to fresh water on the outside of the building and a good chemical waste outlet. There is also a useful grid for grey waste.

The site itself is peaceful and quiet, and just down the lane a local bus service (limited) runs to Abersoch and Pwllheli.

A lovely site which we would visit again without doubt.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    4
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying here in August for one week. The site is immacculate and well looked after. We had plot 160 for our tourer and it over looked the sea and spent many times watching the ferries come and go. 1 minute walk and we were on an amazing white sandy beach. Toilet blocks were clean and modern. Only down side was the shop which had limited supplies but next door was the Sandy Beach shop which is well stocked. We wanted to stay another week but the site was full. We had an amazing time here and ready to book for 2 wks next year

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andyt2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billinge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

£15 on in height of season is nearly half the price of other local sites. Its a pound well paid for showers with shower gel and shampoo incl and very clean. Down a country road so there is no passing traffic. Its a very easy going site and the owners are very obliging. They allow dogs and kids. Wish we would have had hook up for charging phone etc. Will defo come back next year when our children go back to Wakestock festival.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights over bank holiday weekend. On arrival we met the owners they were nice and welcoming. He shown us to our pitch and help us to reverse our caravan. The toilets and showers were spotless and everyone goes on about £1 for the shower for 4 minutes, my 16 year old son showers for England and does so in our van but on our last day when packing up I said use the site shower and after showering he was waiting for it to finish. As for the owner patrolling the site he was just making sure everything and everyone is ok, after all it is his business if I could make one minus comment I thought the chemical waste disposal could have been better, gridded cover does not do well with certain DEPOSITS.
Overall a nice site if you respect the rules which goes without saying on any WELL RUN site

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank 409g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed over bank holiday weekend, the site is nice, open and flat. We had plenty of space for our 3 large tents and cars. The children had space to play in the middle of the site but there is no specific childrens area so while this was fine for us with kids I felt a bit sorry for the couple next to us who didnt have kids but had ours playing outside thier tent all day. The toilets are clean and well kept with shower gel and shampoo provided as well as hand sanitiser. The shower is £1 for 4 minutes. The owner was friendly and helpful, and although we saw him regularly patrolling the site during the evenings he was very pleasant (we sat up late every night playing cards and not particularly quietly!) It was a good hike to beach nearby but worth it for the clean sand and good waves.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakbar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Loved abesrsoch. Defo would go there again however would never stay at this campsite again. It was dissapointing having to pay to use the shower and hot water, four mins 1 pound . I needed 8 mins so did my daughter and partner. Had to wash our hands with cold water on a cold night. Campsite owner Is very regimated and was pacing up and down watchin us when we were enjoying a bbq. We would not recommend anyone stay at this site when they do not have to Pay additional charges at other campsites in abersoch. We also had limited space when it came to our pitch. We were so close to other campers we could here them talking and even snoring. We were also put next to the road which leAd to a couple of houses so when the bIn men drove past us it was so loud we cud feel the vibrations of the truck driving Past early hours in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank kakbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

excellent site the owners were helpful and friendly i went in a group of 3 young girls (24) we played music quietly early in the evening and had a few drinks no-one bothered us at all the facilities were excellent and the site was easy to get to and from to in taxis. would definately recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abersoch hotels
0.0 mi away
Craig Y Glyn
Craig Y Glyn
#1 of 4 in Llanbedrog
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Egryn, Abersoch
The Egryn, Abersoch
#4 of 13 in Abersoch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wylfa Guest House
Wylfa Guest House
#8 of 13 in Abersoch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penrhyn Camping Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penrhyn Camping Site

Property: Penrhyn Camping Site
Address: Bwlchtocyn, Abersoch, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Abersoch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Abersoch
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Penrhyn Camping Site Hotel Abersoch
Penrhyn Camping Site Abersoch, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing