We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house with beautiful views”

Review of Pencwmwl

Perfect for alfresco dining
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Perfect for alfresco dining
A comfortable cottage set in a peaceful location Views towards Snowdonia from Pencwmwl
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Perfect for alfresco dining
A comfortable cottage set in a peaceful location
Views towards Snowdonia from Pencwmwl
Lounge with stunning views from every window
One of the views from the lounge, looking towards Hell's Mouth
Another view from the lounge
Another view from the lounge
Dining room
The dining table room
Games room
King bedroom
King bedroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Double bedroom
Well equipped kitchen with views across the rural landscape
Upstairs bathroom
Downstairs shower room
Cosy snug with beautiful rural views
Pull out sofa in cosy snug
The breakfast area
Utility room space for hanging wetsuits
Playtime
View from Pencwmwl as the sun is going down
Views across Cardigan Bay towards Snowdonia
We have walked here across fields from Pencwmwl but it did take us two and a half hours.
Ty Coch Inn view, the best located pub in the UK
The majestic Lleyn Coastal Path
Pencwmwl is in the foreground. Hell's Mouth Bay can be seen top right
Pencwmwl is the white speck on the left. Garnfadryn is behind.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Abersoch, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SCA2
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely house with beautiful views”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed for a week and wished we had stayed longer. The booking process was efficient and Jane answered any questions promptly.The directions were spot on. The house was even bigger than it looks and the views from both the living room and dining room were spectacular. The house was spotless and the kitchen had everything you could think of.. We visited Abersoch , the beautiful beach at Llanbedrog with its beach huts and tin man up on the hillside above the sea, Aberdaron and Nefyn. We were advised by a local to try fish and chips at Aberdaron and they were delicious. We also enjoyed a new Indian restaurant at Nefyn called Bombay Joes. There are many local walks including the hill at the back of the house.. we hope to return next Summer....thanks Jane.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the views and space in the house.
Liked least: not staying longer
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia H
Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super house in tranquil location”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed at Pencwmwl for a few years now at it is just brilliant. Fantastically well equipped and an amazing location with superb views, even though it is peaceful and secluded it is just ten minutes away from Abersoch or Nefyn. There is loads to do in the area with surfing at Hell's Mouth or our favourite Whistling Sands. The countryside is amazing so great for walking or cycling, while the towns have plenty of friendly pubs - bliss

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen A
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing views from a comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 16 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our family spent four nights in Pencwmwl over the Easter holidays. The cottage was comfortable and well equipped. With the garden toys, the games room and the TV room, there was plenty to keep all the family occupied whatever their age and whatever the weather. It was great to explore the area with the help of the local information available in the cottage. We loved the view and enjoyed the twenty-minute walk up to the top of the hill behind the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Leaving ;-)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra D
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“DIDNT WANT TO LEAVE”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Having spent Easter at this beautiful cottage we didn't want to leave. My family consisted of 3 generations ranging from 9 months old to 74 years and we all loved it. There is absolutely everything we needed, so much crockery, cutlery, pans etc. Immaculately clean, Breakfast in the garden was lovely, the views are AMAZING and changed so quickly. We where in the middle of nowhere which was perfect but only a short drive to a main town. The games room proved to be hours of fun for all ages, Grandad playing pool with his teenage Grandaughter whilst the baby twins crawled around the floor. Everything was perfect. If you are looking for a lovely, spacious cottage in the middle of a beautiful countryside then this is the place. We loved it so much that we have booked another visit and we only came home last night ! Oh and communications between myself and Jane (the owner) was quick, easy and very helpful----follow her directions or you will get lost. Keep your eye out for the left turn after the rugby club as it is easy to miss.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness, amount of kitchen utensils and THE VIEWS
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen1981...
Liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent - home from home”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a 4 days stay at Pencwmwl and had a fantastic time with family and friends.

Firstly the directions given by the owner were first class, we found the house without any problems. Upon arrival we were very impressed with the location, standard and layout of the property. We travelled with 4 young children who absolutely loved the games room and spent a lot of time on the pool table and playing the board games. The house was very spacious and had everything you need to enjoy your stay. It literally was a home from home.

Had a great few days away and the location is idyllic. Would definitely recommend the property and will definitely look to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Layout and location
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamiltono...
Shropshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed with hubby, daughter, son in law and 9 month old baby. All had a great time. Cottage was equipped with everything we needed (including cot and highchair). Within easy reach of great days out but we all loved the peace at the cottage too. Had games nights every evening - loads to choose from. Can't wait to go back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: scenery
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy K
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic holiday, stunning location, loved the cottage”
Reviewed 2 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a wonderful holiday. Communication with the owner was excellent before and after. Directions accurate and other information very detailed. Pictures of the area looked lovely and we weren't disappointed! Views all around were spectacular. We were blessed with lovely weather. Breakfast on the patio in September can't be bad. Cottage had everything we needed and more. Car essential. We had a photographer, a fisherman and an artist in our family and they were all in their element! We would highly recommend this cottage and would love to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing