We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not fault it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Egryn, Abersoch
Ranked #4 of 12 Abersoch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Absolutely excellent - extremely clean room; very comfortable bed; great shower. I was in a 2nd floor room on the rear - it was a very warnm day - the owners had even gone to the trouble of openeing the window prior to my arrival in order to cool the room down. Mike is a top guy very friendly and cooks a mean breakfast too.

Room Tip: rear rooms overlook garden and other property - but not an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garyw844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

A charming seaside hotel run by an engaging owner. We had a first floor room from which you could see the sea but more to the point the beds were very comfortable with fresh high quality bed linen. The cooked breakfast was excellent. There is free off road parking and everything is within easy walking distance. The daily tariff for B&B was £110. I guess you expect to pay a bit more in Abersoch than elsewhere on the Lleyn Peninsula but it was worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hpbeebie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We arrived to a beautiful room: crisp white sheets, stunning views and an owner with sincerity , not your usual sycophant . We loved our trip - the salmon ang eggs are a must for breakfast . Although Abersoch is beautiful it can be pretentious - this place has every right to be, but is isn't . It's a haven with an owner with a genuine interest in his customers and a great sense of humour.

Room Tip: The front room, especially room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sinbad77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We come to Abersoch every year and it has now become a tradition to go to the Egryn for one of their fabulous gourmet burgers on the first night to get the holiday off to a good start. Despite the eager anticipation they always exceed expectations. The only thing we don't agree on is which one is best. My 3 children won't have anything but the Rhiw, my wife inssts on the Bardsey but for me it has to be Mike's signature burger the Rossini with chicken liver pate and mushrooms.
I keep meaning to try the fabulous looking sizzling rocks for a steak but have never quite managed to say no to the Rossini burger
If you're a burger fan then they are the best you will find this side of the Mandalay Bay in Las Vegas.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

As a party of senior golfers, we took over the whole hotel. From making our booking and throughout our stay, everything was excellent. The quality of the rooms, the decor, the sea views from the front rooms and the breakfasts were first class. We will definitely be coming back. Many thanks to Mike who made us all feel so welcome.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have great sea views. Some en-suites have showers while others have baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed here before in early 2008. Decided to stay again as I remembered vaguely what it was like. Was not disappointed! I booked for a Thursday evening but had to re-arrange due to work being put back a few days. No problems with re-arranging the rooms for me and my colleague over the internet. Stayed for just the one night in a sea view room on business and was chuffed to bits! Shower lovely hot water, bed very comfy and the breakfast, well lets just say I could of eaten it twice over! As for previous posts about the bar being unmanned, well that's how it's supposed to be! You help yourself and its based on honesty. So if you fancy a couple of bottles of beer, fine, help yourself but remember to put it on your tab. Not many places in this day and age where people base things on honesty. A+ 10/10 THERE REALLY IS NO WHERE ELSE TO STAY IN ABERSOCH!

Stayed: March 2013
Thank dazvanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Mike and Lynne and great hosts, really make an effort to make you feel welcome. Location is superb, 2 mins walk from the centre of Abersoch, 5 mins walk from the beach. breakfast was excellent, wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when we return. Thanks

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank basnettma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abersoch
13.4 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
303 reviews
12.7 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
1.9 mi away
Craig Y Glyn
Craig Y Glyn
#1 of 4 in Llanbedrog
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Wylfa Guest House
Wylfa Guest House
#7 of 12 in Abersoch
84 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#1 of 1 in Boduan
78 reviews
5.7 mi away
Somerdale Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Egryn, Abersoch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Egryn, Abersoch

Address: Lon Sarn Bach, Abersoch LL53 7EE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Abersoch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Abersoch
Price Range: £84 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Egryn, Abersoch 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Egryn, Abersoch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Egryn, Abersoch Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing