We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic site”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abersoch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tyn-Y-Mur Touring and Camping
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We have been visiting tyn y mur for the last several years, and decided to stay there over the may bank holiday.
The site was immaculate, toilets spotless and showers piping hot as always.
The catering van flip flops had upgraded its menu and give a lot more choice, and having sampled some of the food was spot on. The views here are nothing short of spectacular, and being a stones throw from the village we loved to stroll down and have our tea and a few drinks of an evening.
The park managers Jackie and Kenny were helpful, friendly and made us feel really welcome.
They were great with our kids, who loved to play on the park.
We really enjoyed our stay.

Unfortunately, a small minority spoil it for everyone.
Another family arrived on the site, with no tent. The site managers helped them out by lending them one. That evening they cracked open cans of lager, blasted loud music and swore at each other at the top of their voices. Then lighting an open fire and throwing their rubbish all over the place. The site managers apologised to everyone in the camping field and asked them to leave.
Lucky enough, they left without too much fuss but left the borrowed tent ripped in a pile in the middle of the field along with a pile of rubbish.
Over the years of staying here, we have never seen anything like this before. They were like animals.
We cant thank the wardens enough for acting swiftly and removing them. That is the reason we will only stay on this family site in Abersoch.
Although really friendly and down to earth the park managers wont take any nonsense, and I'm sure other people would agree that's what's needed to ensure everybody else enjoys their stay.

Have already booked several short stays throughout the rest of this year.
So 10 out of 10 to the site managers....
Keep up the good work and this site will stay the " Best site in Abersoch "

From the review below/previous... it wouldn't take a genius to work out that those mentioned didn't like being removed from the park .....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crowlster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

Just got back from a 4 day break at Tyn-y-Mur, what can I say - well the site is in the best location in Abersoch with fabulous views over Hells Mouth, you can walk into the village in 15 minutes, the wardens Jackie and Kenny were the most friendly, helpful people we have met on a site and we have stayed on many over the years, the facilties are brill, my 2 grandchildren loved the play area and the football pitch and going to see Jackie in the reception were they sell lots of little goodies the kids all love. The washrooms/showers were kept immaculate at all times, everyone was so friendly we cant wait to go back, just booked up for 2 weeks in the summer. Read all the reviews before we went and was abit worried about the comments about the dogs, but can honestly say we had no reason to worry, possibly saw half a dozen dogs and they were all on leads, no hesitation to return. Lovely friendly family site, kept to the highest of standard at all times.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Our family stayed at Tyn-y-mur site over the Easter break . We found the site to be excellent for our children . The site wardens were lovely and very friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them. The facilities were exceptionally clean even though the site was very busy. We will definitely be returning soon

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

we got told off for playing music quietly in afternoon they dont seem to like noise at all or any sense of freedom , all the owners seem to care about is opinion of people who pay ''£3k a year" for their site, also heard children being told off on the park by them, felt was a bit out of order, lots of signs with lots of rules everywhere, appreciate that there has to be some rules but found it to be a bit over the top , ok if u like going on holiday to be quiet and read a book but anything other than that choose a different site with less rules. also heard boss lady shouting at other campers and was really rude to them in front of thier children because their children were to noisy and she really shouted held nothing back. would not go back ,

on a plus side the wash rooms were clean but shower went cold after few miniutes, flip flop cafe was over priced and not that good.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank b0ding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Had a great stay here on the early May bank holiday weekend, great location with fabulous views of the valleys. Spotlessly clean toilets and showers, great cafe van on site " flip flops", our 2 boys are 11-13 thought the play area would be too young for them, but they loved it, and the footy pitch, can't go wrong....

10 min walk into lovely Abersoch, everyone so friendly, can't wait to return.

Thanks all

Room Tip: Take your levellers if you in a caravan the pitches are on a bit of a slope.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just returned from a stay at Tyn-y-Mur over the bank holiday, this site is excellent, the facilities are excellent, play area great for the children, flip flops food van makes great breakfasts and pizzas, showers and toilets are kept spotlessly clean and tidy, site wardens Jackie & Kenny are friendly, welcoming and helpful nothing is too much trouble for them. Would recommend this site if you are going camping to Abersoch. The views over the bay are wonderful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Lovey facilities that are kept to a very high standard. Showers steaming hot at all times of the day with no need to mess around with change. Jackie and Kenny could not be more helpful. Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 191Gastronomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abersoch
13.3 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
396 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Egryn, Abersoch
The Egryn, Abersoch
#4 of 12 in Abersoch
151 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wylfa Guest House
Wylfa Guest House
#7 of 12 in Abersoch
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Craig Y Glyn
Craig Y Glyn
#1 of 4 in Llanbedrog
265 reviews
7.1 mi away
Woodlands Hall Hotel
Woodlands Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Edern
53 reviews
5.5 mi away
Somerdale Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyn-Y-Mur Touring and Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyn-Y-Mur Touring and Camping

Address: Lon Garmon, Abersoch LL53 7UL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Abersoch
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Abersoch
Hotel Class:4 star — Tyn-Y-Mur Touring and Camping 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tyn-y-Mur Camping and Caravan Park is the nearest, fully-serviced family campsite to the seaside village of Abersoch, in North Wales. We welcome tourers and tents as well as having seasonal pitches. Our resident wardens, Jackie and Kenny, ensure a warm welcome to all and keep the park and facilities in superb condition. With spectacular views of Cardigan Bay and Hell's Mouth; a children's play area and football pitch; and being within walking distance of Abersoch, Tyn-Y-Mur offers visitors the ideal family camping holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tyn-Y-Mur Touring And Camping Abersoch, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing