We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tyn-Y-Mur Touring and Camping

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abersoch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tyn-Y-Mur Touring and Camping
Certificate of Excellence
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Not impressed with being crammed in so close to other tents and caravans,. Noisy, late night drinkers. Left early due to the above and because of children running around and through our so called pitch. After staying at such a peaceful site at Bron Derw Llanrwst,this was such a contrast and disappointing experience.Avoid if you want to a place to relax.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harold R, Manager at Tyn-Y-Mur Touring and Camping, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
we are so sorry you were disappointed with your stay. If you would like to come back after the very busy school holidays, I will re instate the day you left early.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    4
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
51
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saddleworth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This was the second time we have stayed here, this time we had a pitch with electric hook up and tap. The facilities are spotlessly clean and contrary to a previous review the 11pm curfew was respected by everybody making it very family friendly. Safe for children to play and a lovely dog walk down into the valley. The food van Flip Flops was really convenient providing great breakfasts and tea time snacks. We are hoping to stay again next year!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickypark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Recently stayed for a few days. This site is a spotlessly clean and tidy site. It is very family and pet friendly with very warm and welcoming Site Wardens, Jackie and Kenny, and Wendy, who all go the extra mile to assist if required. It is ideally situated to walk in to Abersoch but also with spectacular views over the bay. The facilities are of a very high standard and the site is very well managed. We will be returning and would highly recommend this site for first time and seasoned campers / caravaners alike. The local area is lovely and the Site Wardens provided us with some good recommendations for visiting and dining, including their own on site mobile cafe. I would definitely give this 5 out of 5.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ClaireIan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Went with my 3 children. Play area, football pitch kept the kids happy. Friendly owners who were very helpful. Clean toilets and shower block. I would highly recommend this campsite. Can't wait to go again. Thank you

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this campsite recently for a long weekend. Upon arrival we were greeted by the managers who showed us around the campsite which had lovely views of the ocean and countryside. The manger new lots about the local area like best places to eat and things to do. It was a really friendly place to stay. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirstytruesdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The site managers were very friendly and helpful on arrival and throughout our stay. The site was well maintained and clean. It was great that you could use as much water as you wanted. It is ideal for kids with the football pitch and fantastic park to keep the children entertained. It was lovely for the dog too with a nearby walk down to the river, can't really fault it. We would be returning to the park in the near future!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank flizobeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dollar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We had a disappointing week at this campsite. Had booked based on lovely website. On arrival the managers were lovely and friendly, showed us to our pitch. The hook-up pitches are squeezed in close together and car parking is a bit of a free-for-all. While the washblock was clean and more than adequate, we were surprised to see no separate bins for recycling. The worst thing though was the noise. Its a family friendly site, which is fine if your children don't have a bedtime! There are kids running riot all around the site until late at night (things started going quiet at about 10.30pm). When we were staying there were also kids racing around on motorised bikes and loud music playing... Certainly not easy to get my 3 and 5 year old to sleep at a reasonable time. The signs make it very clear that the managers are not to be disturbed outside reception hours, so nobody to go to. Also, signs around the place nearly all contain spelling errors! We won't be returning to this site.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank smilymel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harold R, Manager at Tyn-Y-Mur Touring and Camping, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
we are so very sorry you were disappointed with your stay at TYN Y MUR...just to clarify a couple of points: the school holidays are the busiest time of the year... with lots of children of various ages on the park...we have a noise restriction at 11pm when the security barrier goes down and the wardens walk the park...recycling is done at source due to limited space at Tyn Y Mur by Williams and Williams (local recycling company) there is a sign on display with all their details by the skips..... as we are very conscious of recycling at the park and we hold a five star Gold award from David Bellamy ...the reception is open every day 10 to 6pm (56hours per week) with a welcome letter with an out of hours contact telephone number for any problems on the park... we realise parking can be a problem when visitors bring more than one car...and the park is full... we try to utilise the boat yard for excess cars and commercial vehicles to make the park comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abersoch
13.7 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Egryn, Abersoch
The Egryn, Abersoch
#4 of 13 in Abersoch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
2.4 mi away
Craig Y Glyn
Craig Y Glyn
#1 of 4 in Llanbedrog
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Somerdale Bed and Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Wylfa Guest House
Wylfa Guest House
#8 of 13 in Abersoch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
4.7 mi away
Moel Yr Wyn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tyn-Y-Mur Touring and Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tyn-Y-Mur Touring and Camping

Property: Tyn-Y-Mur Touring and Camping
Address: Lon Garmon, Abersoch LL53 7UL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Abersoch
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Abersoch
Hotel Class:4 star — Tyn-Y-Mur Touring and Camping 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tyn-y-Mur Camping and Caravan Park is the nearest, fully-serviced family campsite to the seaside village of Abersoch, in North Wales. We welcome tourers and tents as well as having seasonal pitches. Our resident wardens, Jackie and Kenny, ensure a warm welcome to all and keep the park and facilities in superb condition. With spectacular views of Cardigan Bay and Hell's Mouth; a children's play area and football pitch; and being within walking distance of Abersoch, Tyn-Y-Mur offers visitors the ideal family camping holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tyn-Y-Mur Touring And Camping Abersoch, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing