We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning views,amazing location”
other travellers have booked this property
Outdoor dining on the patio with view over Mawddach estuary and valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outdoor dining on the patio with view over Mawddach estuary and valley
 Ar y Graig. Glorious views of Cader Idris and the Mawddach estuary from the south aspect terrace. GardenTerrace with patio furniture and panoramic views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Outdoor dining on the patio with view over Mawddach estuary and valley
Ar y Graig. Glorious views of Cader Idris and the Mawddach estuary from the south aspect terrace.
GardenTerrace with patio furniture and panoramic views
view over river from garden
new kitchen for 2015 with range cooker and granite island
View of house from the garden
sitting room with views over the Mawddach estuary
Sunny patio area with summer garden furniture and bbq
winter view for the terrace at Ar y Graig, self catering holiday cottage, Snowdonia
Front view of Ar y Graig, with steep drive
breakfast bar and island
sitting room, access to terrace and dining end
new kitchen range cooker
view of the house from the terraced garden
Mawddach Estuary, Snowdonia, Wales
dining table for 10 open plan into kitchen
bedroom 2 upstairs. sleeps 3 ( one double bed, one single) with ensuite
ensuite for bedroom 2, upstairs
bedroom1 upstairs, sleeps 4  ( one double bed and 2 single) with ensuite bathroom
bedroom 1 upstairs with ensuite bathroom
bedroom 3 downstairs sleeps 2 ( double bed)
bedroom 4 downstairs sleeps 2 ( twin beds)
Barmouth Beach only 7 miles from Ar y Graig self catering holiday cottage
Blue Lagoon near Arthog
Views over the Mawddach estuary to Cader Idris, Snowdonia, Wales
Penmaenpool and the George third pub, walking distance but with a 5 bar a gate out of season!
the walk along the estuary shore line towards the sea
Cader Idris snow capped peaks Easter 2013
Winter View from the Mawddach Trail
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Bontddu, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
thameglob...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning views,amazing location”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Ar y Graig commands the most amazing position on a rugged hillside within Snowdonia National park. The huge picture windows look out over the Mawddach estuary to the majestic Cader mountain range. The house itself has recently been re furbished and we all enjoyed the stylish re- modelled kitchen.
We stayed over the New Year so it was lovely to have an open fire to cheer us;although the house was very cosy anyway.

The driveway is somewhat steep but the reward is the feeling of being 'on top of the world' once you reach the top.
We had rented Ar y Graig and another property in the vicinity for a big family get together. We were more than able to entertain the 2 households ( 11 adults and 6 children in the lovely open plan ground floor of Ar y Graig( we did return to second property to sleep!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: fabulous position
Liked least: steep drive
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2015
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are glad the whole family had such a happy time and would love to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joseph D
1 review
“Wonderful house, location and views”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I stayed here with friends recently and couldn't find a single fault. The south facing outdoor patio area is probably the best thing about the house, with garden ratten furniture for plently of people to sit around and views of cader & the estuary. In terms of the location, there is more than enough within a 30 minute driving radius to keep you entertained for weeks. We spent most of our time at Coed y Brenin doing mountain biking and hiking. Its definitely the best bike park I've ever been too, and its got loads of sections for family riding, beginner riding etc. There's a good bike hire shop, cafe, and a go ape.

In terms of the house, the showers are top notch, the house is spotless, and there is every type of kitchen utensil and appliance you could possibly think of. There's lots of space for clothes etc, and the beds are super comfy.

If there's one thing I could recommend, it would be to go to the blue lake at Fairbourne. Go for a swim!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NealY2
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing location and Views”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Myself and 6 friends stayed for birthday weekend at the start of September. The group had an amazing time over the 3 days and the weather was great given the bad forecast (allowed us to take advantage of the beautiful patio furniture and take in the breathtaking views) We were little skeptical about the inside of the house given the lack of pictures online, on arrival we were pleasantly surprised. The house is bigger than expected with a large kitchen and dining area in the living room, the rooms were spacious and patio area and the garden at the back were made for a hot summers day, views from the garden/lounge are brilliant and this 60s style cottage offered a cosy homely feel. Joy (the owner) txt on arrival to ensure everything was what we expected, we had no reason to contact her throughout the rest of our stay.

There is plenty of walking to be had and the local town or beach are only a 15 minute car ride away. Overall we all had an amazing stay at the Ar y Graig (on the rock) and would recommend the cottage highly to either a large group or family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the pub across the toll
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dan_jl_fr...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spacious yet cosy house, amazing location”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I stayed here with friends for a long weekend, Sept 2013. The house is in a fantastic location, well equipped and welcoming inside. The patio/terrace outside is big! We managed to use the BBQ, sit back and look at the view across to Cader. Plenty of info provided on local things. Oh and the garden!! Quite unique and intricate. We went for a lovely walk from the back gate, up through the woods, around a small lake, along the edge of the hillside looking over the estuary and back towards the house. Communication was pretty clear, and suggestions were helpful. Want to come again please!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness & cosiness, big sunny patio
Liked least: Steep driveway, leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beula P
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Took the whole family and everyone loved it - perfect place.”
Reviewed 11 September 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Great for families including all age ranges - we had grandparents down to grandchildren and there was something to do for all. Couple of days it rained but there were lots of games and DVDs to entertain everyone. Football table went down well with the boys! The house was easy to settle into and the kitchen had all the equipment I needed. Beach was a short drive away but worth it for the size! Will consider it for next year or a short family break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views are wonderful and the house fitted our whole extended family in!
Liked least: Driveway is very steep!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Just24
Sheffield
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, poor house and service”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The house itself is in a fantastic location and we enjoyed the holiday, once we left the property.

We were dissapointed on arrival at the cleanliness of the house. The house looks like it needs a good clean, and we spent more time cleaning ourselves over the first couple of days (particurlary the kitchen and bathrooms - they were quite grimy).

We were also left a note from the cleaner asking if we could finish off the washing, some was on the line and the other was left in the dryer, 2 hours of our first evening was spent sorting this. The note also explained the central heating wasn't working and a call had been put into the owner on this

We arrived on the Friday of a bank holiday weekend, 6 adults and 2 children to no hot water due to the heating. By the Saturday morning we'd still heard nothing about someone coming to fix it. By Sunday night and after 2 emails to the owner and 1 message, 2 voicemails to the cleaner (the emergency telephone contact) we'd still not had any response. The weather over our stay was mid/late 20's and we'd had day's out on the bikes and at the beach, and only 2 people managed to get a warm shower, the rest had to take cold showers.

Monday morning we researched oil central heating on the internet and spent 3 hours trying to fix tht heating ourselves, which we managed to do. I eventually got a response from the owner, thanking us for doing this. But did not give much consideration to the fact we'd spent 3.5 day's without any hot water, and we were given no compensatison for this in any way. The owner did not even try to contact a heating engineer until Monday despite being told about this Friday morning by the cleaner. This is not acceptable to leave paying customers with no hot water. The owner did claim she'd tried to call me, on the Friday afternoon, but I had no missed call's from anyone and the property has wifi, and all previous correspondance had been via email, so unsure why she couldn't contact me via previous methods.

The rest of the holiday wen't without any further house issues, so improved our holiday.

The people before us had also written in the guest book about the cleanliness of the house, but I'm not sure if any attention has been paid to this.

I would suggest the owner puts a bit of money spent on the rental and bring the poroperty up to date, clean and putting abit to one side for emergency call outs, rather than ignoring these issues.

Woud not recommend on this basis.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The cleanliness of house and customer service by owner
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2013
I am very sorry that these difficulties in communication occurred and I did offer a sincere apology to our guest. We did indeed try to contact our guest on the Friday afternoon to ask when it would be convenient for our heating engineer to call and to have access. I was aware there is a back up immersion system for heating the hot water at the house, although this is not on a timer so I would accept not as convenient for our guest to use but it does supply hot water for the house. Fortunately the weather was hot so the heating would not actually have been essential. We really do try to offer a good service to our guests and have done so for many years as it is important they have a good time during their holiday. It was the Bank Holiday and our housekeeper was away from the Friday afternoon onwards and not in mobile reception ( it happens a lot in Wales)but I also give my personal contact numbers out to our guests and they are also listed at the house for such an occasion as there was no response from the housekeeper's phone and indeed I was hoping they would ring me on the Friday so I could talk to them directly and discuss the situation as my attempt to contact them had failed. Unfortunately, I was not in a wifi area over the Bank Holiday weekend so sadly did not pick up an email from our guest until the Monday when I responded straight away with my apologies and I informed them I would contact our plumber and get a visit sorted as the hot water immersion system was not acceptable. If communication had been faster I could have avoided all this and they would not have had to rely on the immersion system which may have been difficult with children. Again, my apologies go to our guest for the inconvenience this may have caused. Throughout the years we have had many happy guests who return regularly and this year again we have received many thank you letters and very positive reviews and so it is a great shame when things do not go entirely well for a guest and their family which I accept can colour the whole experience of the house and holiday for them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing