We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for a relaxing break close to the beach...”
other travellers have booked this property
Outdoor dining on the patio with view over Mawddach estuary and valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outdoor dining on the patio with view over Mawddach estuary and valley
 Ar y Graig. Glorious views of Cader Idris and the Mawddach estuary from the south aspect terrace.  granite breakfast bar and island
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
Outdoor dining on the patio with view over Mawddach estuary and valley
Ar y Graig. Glorious views of Cader Idris and the Mawddach estuary from the south aspect terrace.
granite breakfast bar and island
kitchen range cooker
sitting room with open fire
view of Mawddach estuary from house
Front view of Ar y Graig, with steep drive
View of house from the garden
view over river from garden
bedroom 1 upstairs with ensuite bathroom
bath/shower ensuite for bedroom 1 upstairs
bedroom 2 with ensuite
ensuite bedroom 2 upstairs
downstairs bedroom
downstairs shower room shared
downstairs shower rroom
Penmaenpool and the George third pub, walking distance but with a 5 bar a gate out of season!
Barmouth Beach only 7 miles from Ar y Graig self catering holiday cottage
Mawddach Estuary, Snowdonia, Wales
Blue Lagoon near Arthog
Views over the Mawddach estuary to Cader Idris, Snowdonia, Wales
the walk along the estuary shore line towards the sea
Cader Idris snow capped peaks Easter 2013
Winter View from the Mawddach Trail
Barmouth harbour and bridge
out door dining in Barmouth harbour with views over the estuary
view of Cader from house
summer view from the patio
ramp walkway to house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Bontddu, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Navigator...
1 review
“Perfect for a relaxing break close to the beach and great walks”
Reviewed 3 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Fantastic setting with absolutely stunning views across the estuary.Great accomodation with large furnished terrace for outdoor dining.Beautiful walks from the property, also pub close by.
will return without hesitation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2018
Thank you so much. It is always lovely to hear how guests have enjoyed their stay and what has worked for them. Very happy to have you return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cjromang
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing and expensive accommodation ”
Reviewed 20 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We booked this holiday rental for six people last weekend. We chose the area for its close proximity to Zip World where we had booked a zip wire experience for a few of our group.

I’m sorry to say that we were very disappointed with the standard of the cottage. It was tired, with dated decor, fixtures and fittings. It had a modern kitchen but the rest of the house did not live up to our expectations unfortunately. There was a musty, damp smell in all the bathrooms and to be honest, the whole house felt like it needed airing.

It was expensive for us as we did not fill it to its maximum capacity but I still do not feel it was worth the money, even at full capacity. The beds and the sofas were uncomfortable with two of our group suffering from back pain in the morning after sleeping in the beds!

Overall, not worth the money we paid and a hotel would have been cheaper and more comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2018
I am very sorry to understand you did not enjoy your stay and thank you for your feedback as it is important to us that guests are happy with their choice. The house has been in constant use with more guests this last weekend. I do show the rooms, style and décor of the house in the advert so people can make an informed decision that it is to their liking and that they are comfortable with the cost ( it can sleep 11) before booking. It is always a little tricky to equate the value/cost of an hotel room against exclusive use of a complete house and garden. Again, I regret it did not meet your expectations. I am always looking to improve and update the property further so I will take your comments seriously and look at this over the winter when we have a quieter period, for the benefit of our future guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markopolo...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, peaceful surroundings”
Reviewed 10 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Party of 8, having a long overdue group catch-up ‘away from it all’, had a great time at Ar Y Graig, which is set in beautiful, peaceful surroundings complete with unspoilt, spectacular views.
It has a spacious kitchen & living room area, which proved ideal for the size of our group. We particularly loved seated area on the large patio, which was a bit of a sun-trap from late morning onwards; it became the group ‘centre-point’ & was ideal for sitting around at breakfast time while taking in the outstanding local scenery in the morning, & again in the evenings having a few drinks etc. after our days out.
Luckily, the weather was fabulous throughout our stay; we all really loved the locality, so I think we'll be back to this beautiful part of Wales in the not too distant future. Lots to do in and around the local area, but we ran out of time to do everything, sadly.
Communication with the owner was very good, who also provided lots of useful information on things to do locally. In summary; lovely 4-day break, superb location, & spacious property which I’d thoroughly recommend to others.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2018
Thank you so much for this review. I am so glad you had wonderful weather to enjoy the surroundings- it makes things easier. We would be very happy to have you return to fit in the things you didn't manage to achieve. I hope you got on the beach- one is never too old for a paddle!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Damian C
1 review
“Beautiful part of the world.”
Reviewed 2 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Highly recommend, excellent accommodation in a lovely part of the world.
We weren’t blessed with the best weather but the house had everything we required.

Thankyou

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2018
Thank you Damnian. It seems you were rather unlucky to have gone before this incredible heatwave! We would love for you to return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise L
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Adventure weekend”
Reviewed 20 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Stayed with a group of friends, 10 of us altogether, plenty of room. Spacious kitchen and dining room.

Outside area was a lovely little sun trap. Great for socialising with beautiful views, peaceful and relaxing.

Joy was very helpful and friendly.

Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2018
So happy you enjoyed some sunshine.. it is quite calming sitting on the terrace and watch ing the ebb and flow of the estuary. Autumn is lovely too so do come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T9149XHst...
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 14 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Fantastic spacious house with great facilities and views to die for. Ideal base for walks. We would go back again without hesitation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2018
So lovely to hear that Steve. Glad you did so much and yes, perhaps try us in the autumn when all the leaves change.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gay4idlew...
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful Wales”
Reviewed 20 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Our second trip here, the weather was magnificent, warm walks on the beach, brilliant house as before with incredible peaceful views over the Mawddach Estuary and will definitely book again, it's all so easy here, especially for two families sharing as there's a downstairs bedroom with shower opposite for mum.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2018
Thank you. The minute you come over the Dinas pass it is like entering another world... so peaceful, still and quiet. A real escape where time seems to run differently....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing