We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“excellent”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bontnewydd, Caernarfon, Gwynedd, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Charlie76...
UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A nice place to stay”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage looked quite nice from the outside, and the inside is nicely decorated. The kitchen was great and had everything we needed to prepare food.

The location definitely needs a car really as it's very out of the way and down quite a steep slope, but it does give some fantastic views for the local area. In the car it's also really close to visit a lot of places like Caernarfon and Anglesey, and is pretty close to a few of the starting points for Snowdon.

The bed linen and towels provided were of a decent standard and all the rooms had been made up nicely for our arrival.

There was a slight problem with damp in the room I was staying in, which was a little difficult on my chest as I'm asthmatic, but this problem wasn't present in the other rooms and a dehumidifier had been put in the room to help with this.

The hot water system seemed a little sporadic in the upstairs bathroom as well and the Jacuzzi bath jets didn't seem to work properly. There wasn't a problem with hot water in the downstairs bathroom or the kitchen though, and the heating worked just fine. It was lovely and warm in the house the whole time we were there.

The garden looked a bit tired in places (but that may have just been because of the time of year we were visiting), and the summer house could have done with a bit of a sweep (no broken glass there though like it says in other reviews!)

The waste from the previous renters hadn't been collected on bin day there which meant there wasn't any space in the wheelie bin/recycling bin for our rubbish while we were there which was a little annoying.

The television in the second living room also has a line of dead pixels running down it, but it wasn't the end of the world, it's still watchable if you wanted to, and the television in the other room worked just fine.

Overall, the house wasn't absolutely perfect but it's definitely worth a stay here, especially if you're out and about a lot during the day and just relaxing in the evening like we were.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The local area
Liked least: Problems with the hot water
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis B
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointing cottage”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Our main concern is that the photos on Sykes web-site are not up to date and do not accurately portray this house. The house beds and certain sitting are very tired, with poor quality bed linen. The patio furniture on front patio is unusable and the rear patio needs some tlc. The "farm track" to the house is long, uneven with pot holes, with steep slope down to house. Would be difficult at night and in winter.
The house was clean and cutlery, crockery and kitchen utensils good.
Good powerful showers. Did not use jacuzzi or ground floor shower.
The outside log store is a mess.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The dining area and main lounge
Liked least: The beds and bedding
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornflowe...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Our Hols!!”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We booked this after having seen the picture in Sykes brochure, however on arrival was nothing like what we saw in pic, very tired, over grown by the gardners admission the owner had let it go, oh dear we thought.... and worse to come, the simmer house had been broken into glass everywhere filthy, omg I wanted to go home after having driven 5 hours.. couldn't use this aS WAS VERY DANGEROUS .. Inside was Ok the maintaince man came and sorted the jaccusie out black bits kept floating around, surely things like this are checked before the next guest arrives, in this case not.. So they need to sort out the cleaness of the place, as some of it yuk, however lovely log fire , beds ok.. after seeing the summer house I did complain for the fact it was so dangerous etc and we couldn't use it, again was told this was only cleaned at the start of the season, well noway had this been touched, dead flies cobwebs spiders all over the place, no power that didn't work, maintanice man tried to remove the glass to which he cut himself, and was offered a refund, which we did accept, but it ruined our stay, lovely location, wine and choc on arrival a lovely touch. Just wouldn't go back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: location
Liked least: somethings not very clean......
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Reviewed 25 September 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Christoph...
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5* Description , 2* Reality”
Reviewed 20 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

On arrival and first glance Owl farmhouse lives up to its expectations as a beautiful cottage in a peaceful location. However after spending time in the house there are lots of things you wouldnt expect from a 5* property which includes,
En-Suite shower drain blocked
severe mould in bedroom
Spa bath button very tempremental
Dining room carpet dirty
washing machine dryer dosen't work
Oven takes 1 hour to reach temperature
Couldnt get sauna to work (instructions would be helpful)
Summer house door smashed (open to weather unable to use)

At one point this house may have warranted its 5* rating but in its current tired state its far from it. We have stayed in lots of 3-4* propertys that are in a better standard than this one , so if your thinking of booking this because of all the advertised extras please dont because they are not fit for purpose.

I have no doubt that if these problems were seen to and the whole property was given some tlc it would be a fantastic place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious layout of house
Liked least: Overall condition
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nr Newbury
Reviewed 13 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
8
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
County Durham
Reviewed 14 December 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing