We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A fantastic stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plas Dinas Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Plas Dinas Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Bontnewydd B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“A fantastic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

We recently stayed for the night at Plas Dinas on a mini tour of North Wales. The house is lovely and had a huge roaring fire in the lounge which was lovely to sit by and have tea and home made cake. Andy & Julian are fantastic hosts (and cooks). The house has loads of history - with strong links to the royal family. Our room was very large (The South Room) with a lovely en-suite and a huge range of Molton Brown products. The home made biscuits are a lovely touch as well. We can highly recommend for an excellent base to tour the area or just enjoy the peace and quiet.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    31
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
52
373
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

Would like to thank you both for such a great stay at Plas Dinas, my partner book the stay and it was the best weekend away for a while. Nice home made biscuits with the tea and the evening meal was excellent, breakfast was great and will return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bestboy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitges
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed for two nights recently at Plas Dinas, a really warm welcome from Julain, Andy and Patsy the cute pooch was just the start of a splendid weekend. We stayed in the Princess Margaret Suite, it has everything you could possibly want, large comfy bed, large tv with films on IPOD, mini bar, gowns, chocolates, luxury toiletries, the list goes on!

We went down to the reception lounge and had pre dinner drinks in front of a roaring log fire, the ambience would be hard to find this good elsewhere. Dinner and breakfast were both perfect and home cooked with local ingredients, you can taste the quality as well as the care and attention that the guys put into their food.

Overall Plas Dinas, together with the hosts Julian and Andy make for a truly luxury, relaxing break and one we would definitley repeat. Well done guys and thank you!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryWhite40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

It is very hard to improve on the excellent reviews this small hotel has already received. My husband picked it purely for historical reasons (typical!) but it proved to be a wonderful find. The room was 'huge' and the bathroom full of lovely toiletries. The relaxed atmosphere, sumptuous furnishings and roaring fire in the lounge made us feel right at home. The food was excellent - very freshly cooked - and it was sad we only had one night there. Would go again definately. x

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

Exceptional hotel &country house. Very friendly and welcoming staff. Rooms were very spacious and very well presented. Excellent food and drink choices. Highlight was relaxing in the drawing room with the open fire and feeling more at home rather than in a hotel. Well worth a visit. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

This is a really lovely place. Very peaceful and with great character. Spending most of my life in hotels with working away so much, I do notice when a hotel stands out and I have to say I was very impressed with the attention to detail and very high standards. The dinner we had on Friday evening was superb and having drinks afterwards in the lovely lounge with an open log fire and comfortable sofa's was very relaxing. We had a lovely bedroom with an original fire place and sitting area. Care was taken with the choice of toiletries in the en suite which included high quality cleansers/ toners and conditioners which was much appreciated, fresh milk, high quality teas and coffee, home made biscuits - all these touches I always hope for in hotels - but very rarely get. So it was lovely to find all of this at the Plas Dinas. I couldn't fault our stay - I just wish we had more time to enjoy the beautiful grounds. We will certainly visit again. Many thanks to Julian and Andy.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RiaSLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

As a newly wed gay couple, me and my partner noticed this house a few weeks ago online and it was our first choice of accommodation to spend our long awaited honeymoon, as we are major busy with work a short uk trip was all we could manage due to being very busy.

We decided to try the lakes and travel to the Wordsworth Hotel in Cumbria, after arriving in the lakes and entering our room, we stayed no longer than 40 mins as it just wasn't what it said on the tin, my partner felt it was ok, but i just never felt comfortable there, we asked the manager when we called if it was gay friendly and was told yes, the dining room was tiny, hot tub in a conservatory with Cain furniture right next to it, i just couldn't see how it could be private or romantic at all especially for a gay couple.

so we travelled home and had a look for another place to go, we both said we should of followed our instinct and went to Plas Dinas, im so glad we changed our mind, the week stay at Plas Dinas was by far the most relaxing time we have had in a long time, the food was up there with a 5 star standard, the house was comfortable, luxurious and an amazing time capsule for anyone who enjoys history of our country, the house has a great historic feeling and a great history, with a story to be told from all the family heirlooms and original furniture.

In the evening, we were served an extensive wine/spirit list that was more than enough, with a wide range of available drinks & refreshments. the big open fire and comfortable furniture was a huge part of being able to relax, the attention to detail from the hosts, is second to none, they certainly go out there way to make your stay most memorable and go that extra mile to see that guests needs are met.

we stayed in the mount room for 4 nights, the room quality and cleanliness was perfect, crisp white cotton linen sheets with a huge comfortable bed, great heating and an on suite bathroom with power shower and a huge bathtub. in the end Plas Dinas ended up costing us just over 1k which in our eyes was well worth it, we got everything we expected and much more, the Wordsworth would of cost us 2k, i know where ill be going on our anniversary:)

keep up the good work Andy & Julian your a credit to Caernarfon & we will be back very soon for sure, thanks for everything!

Room Tip: Try the mount with great views or one of there quaint cottages ( they have in the grounds available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaypaul08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bontnewydd
10.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
6.2 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
2.3 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
2.3 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
4.2 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Dinas Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Dinas Country House

Property: Plas Dinas Country House
Address: Bontnewydd, Caernarfon LL54 7YF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon > Bontnewydd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bontnewydd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plas Dinas Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful things fill Lord Snowdon’s historic family home, Marco's cooking hits the spot and the ten, en-suite bedrooms offer wifi and luxurious Molton Brown amenities.This is the family home of Lord Snowdon. It dates to the 1600s and stands in 15 acres with an avenue of oak that sweeps you up to the house. Princess Margaret stayed often and much of what fills the house belongs to the family: stunning chandeliers, oils by the score, gilt-framed mirrors – an Aladdin's cave of beautiful things. There's a baby grand piano in the drawing room, where you find smart wood floors, an honesty bar and a fire that roars, but potter about the house and find masses of memorabilia framed on the walls (make sure you visit the private dining room). Bedrooms are quite something, the past mixing gracefully with modern design. Nothing is left to chance, a constant programme of refurbishment sees to that. You get four-posters, classic colours, sumptuous fabrics, a sofa if there's room. Bathrooms are excellent, some with showers, others with free-standing baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Plas Dinas Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Dinas Country House Hotel Bontnewydd
Plas Dinas Country House Bontnewydd, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing