We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a weekend away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plas Dinas Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Plas Dinas Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Bontnewydd B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
wirral
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a weekend away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

we where looking for a romantic weekend away and got so much more.
The room was exquisite more of a suite in one room really.The attention to detail
excellent and the hosts Andy and Julian attentive to our every need.
just looking in the diary as to when we can go again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    31
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
55
392
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed at Plas Dinas for a long weekend with a party of six, and welcomed by Julian & Andy with Tea and homemade apple cake.The Hotel has great character. The rooms are individual and well presented and appointed. We ate both nights in the Gun Room, which was a fantastic setting to ensure to great food and wine on offer. A really great hotel in a great location and fantastic hosts! Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Buckley room on the ground floor was spacious and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewF76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

All the previous reviews are entirely correct: here you will find peace and quiet, relaxation, privacy, wonderful food and great comfort. From the moment you turn into the long, meandering drive, you become immediately removed from the stresses and strains of life outside, and the relaxed mood remains.

This country house is very well placed for the delights of Snowdonia, of Anglesey and of the more southerly area, such as Porthmadog and Portmeirion. All these places can be reached very swiftly. But if you do not want to venture out there is plenty to enjoy in Plas Dinas: the huge, sprawling garden, the variety of books, magazines, iPod films in the rooms, not to mention the supremely comfortable sofas and log-fire in the drawing room.

Plas Dinas appears to be run like clockwork, and it was a delightful discovery for us.

Room Tip: We were very happy with Snowdon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayenne10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Minver, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

You will have read like I did all the other rave reviews about Plas Dinas, so what more can I add. We arrived for our 4 day stay not knowing quite what to expect other than it should be a good time if all that was written was true. We were not disappointed, the Greek word for the practice of hospitality is philoxenia, take it apart, Philo=love! Xenia=stranger, hospitality is love of strangers and that sums up Andy and Julian' s gift. We arrived as strangers and left as if we felt part of the family. How they manage that you can read in the other reports. All I can add is it works!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

It had always been our intention to return to Plas Dinas after visiting there for our son's civil ceremony and winning the "name the sheep" competition gave us an ideal opportunity.

From the tea and delicious home made cake on arrival, the sumptuous breakfasts cooked to order and welcoming log fire in the lounge, it is Andy and Julian's meticulous attention to detail that makes your stay such a delight.

Our hosts were always available to ensure our stay was fitting of the five-star rating but in no way was this in an intrusive manner. We were so pleased to see Patsy the dog looking well, after her recent illness and to meet Saffy the sheep.

Our two-night stay gave us an ideal opportunity to visit the historical town of Caernarfon which is only minutes away and to explore the lovely Island of Anglesey across the Menai Strait.

We certainly look forward to again enjoying the peace and tranquility of Plas Dinas at the earliest opportunity.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

This was our fourth stay at Plas Dinas and as usual it was excellent. The hotel is an oasis of calm and efficiency. Sitting by the roaring log fire in the lounge is particularly relaxing. Add to this some of Andy's cake and tea and nothing could be better. Breakfast and evening meals are very good, served with professionalism and always time for a chat with the hosts. The local town of Caernarfon is small but good and the castle is probably the best in the UK. We will return as soon as we can.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have stayed in are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

HavIng stayed 6 years ago we have been intending to revisit Plas Dinas ever since. This year we found a reason and booked two rooms hoping that we would find it as wonderful as it was then. We were not disappointed. The attention to detail and the quality of every aspect of our stay made us glad to be there. The rooms are tastefully decorated and beautifully presented, dinner was delicious and breakfast perfect.
Andy and Julian made us feel very welcome from the initial booking email, through until our departure. As we were arriving just before dinner we rang en route and chose our meals over the phone before the 5pm deadline. In the morning Andy and Julian made sure that there was a good selection for a light breakfast for our son who needed to leave early before the main service began.
We shan't leave it another 6 years but are already thinking about the next excuse for a stay at Plas Dinas which seems to be going from strength to strength.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Revkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bontnewydd
2.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
6.1 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
10.3 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
13.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Dinas Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Dinas Country House

Property: Plas Dinas Country House
Address: Bontnewydd, Caernarfon LL54 7YF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon > Bontnewydd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bontnewydd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plas Dinas Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful things fill Lord Snowdon’s historic family home, Marco's cooking hits the spot and the ten, en-suite bedrooms offer wifi and luxurious Molton Brown amenities.This is the family home of Lord Snowdon. It dates to the 1600s and stands in 15 acres with an avenue of oak that sweeps you up to the house. Princess Margaret stayed often and much of what fills the house belongs to the family: stunning chandeliers, oils by the score, gilt-framed mirrors – an Aladdin's cave of beautiful things. There's a baby grand piano in the drawing room, where you find smart wood floors, an honesty bar and a fire that roars, but potter about the house and find masses of memorabilia framed on the walls (make sure you visit the private dining room). Bedrooms are quite something, the past mixing gracefully with modern design. Nothing is left to chance, a constant programme of refurbishment sees to that. You get four-posters, classic colours, sumptuous fabrics, a sofa if there's room. Bathrooms are excellent, some with showers, others with free-standing baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Plas Dinas Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Dinas Country House Hotel Bontnewydd
Plas Dinas Country House Bontnewydd, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing