We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely to be back, and to meet the new owners (and their sweet dogs!)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plas Dinas Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Bontnewydd B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely to be back, and to meet the new owners (and their sweet dogs!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed overnight for Valentines night and had a really lovely, warm and friendly welcome from new owners Neil and Marco. We were delayed by stormy weather and were extremely happy with their approach to meal time - it was very much flexible around us giving us time to unpack, refresh and enjoy a G&T by the roaring fire prior to moving into the dining room. Having stayed several times before when Andy and Julian were in residence, it was great to see that the house had its usual beautiful, relaxed homely feel, the meal was excellent (with good wines), the room was lovely (we were upgraded!), and the usual thoughtful touches such as a jar of home-made biscuits, Welsh chocolates, and good quality toiletries in the room really do give it that special feel. We are looking forward to visiting again sometime soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAPlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil and Marco ... B, Owner at Plas Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thanks for the great feedback guys, it was a pleasure to have you stay and we hope to see you back soon, many thanks, Neil & Marco (and Malta & Blue) :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    33
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
55
400
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bury
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We returned yet again to this our now established retreat in North Wales, late October 2013. Julian, Andy and Patsy their usual welcoming selves, food wonderful, atmosphere great. Start of the log fire season, it was great to sit in the lounge both before and after dinner chatting with the other guests on the day's activities. All that is said about this place is true!
The boys have installed a wonderful 'on-demand' film library directly into your room on the TV. As it was going dark at 4.00pm, it was great to get back to get a film in before dinner, hot chocolate and a comfy couch. We'll be back again next year, lots still to do even after all these years, Plas Dinas just puts the cream on the cake.

Room Tip: Walk up the short hill at the side of the house to get a wonderful sunset over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlchemistBury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed here following seeing on '4 In A Bed' and reading reviews on here

Warm welcome by Andy, tea and a slice of beautiful apple cake on arrival

Room lovely, spotlessly clean, nothing too much trouble and needs of the traveller were anticipated. Decent sized mugs in room, plenty of choices of teas, coffees and other drinks in the honesty fridge. Fresh milk and not the UHT monsters, home made biscuits and chocolates.

Lots of nice touches such as hot water bottle and wall heater for when the central heating goes off. Plenty of TV channels and a small selection of films available

Drawing room beautiful and relaxing, open fire and cosy sofa's

Meals were beautiful, had breakfast both mornings and dinner one evening

I have been fortunate to have stayed in some of the worlds best hotels and to me, this is up with the best of them for service and attention to detail - couple that with great personalised service and it's a winner!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

WE got a great welcome at this beautifully situated hotel (although I hesitate to call it hotel, it is more like being welcomed into some-one 's lovely home). We were only there for one night but really enjoyed our stay. We went to the large lounge, complete with toasty log fire, before we enjoyed a well cooked and presented dinner. The bedroom was comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities. En suite was good size with Brown & Molton accessories. The only very small niggle I had was the wardrobe, which was not deep enough to take the hangers, but just a very small point. The breakfast was very appetizing and plentiful, and the fresh fruit salad was a dream. Mine hosts could not have looked after their own families any better.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosyred_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Excellent hotel, with excellent food. A very relaxed, welcoming atmosphere with a lovely log fire and fantastic hosts. Perfect after a hard day out and about in snowdonia. If you are in that area book this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here for just the one night midweek , and wished we had stayed longer ...The house is amazing , from the decor to the comfortable sofas and relaxing atmosphere , then there was the welcome at the door as you arrived and tea in lounge with Andys home made cake ...Dinner was served at seven , we chose the beef , it was to die for , just melted in the mouth ....
We stayed in double room "snowdon" which we chose for views of mountains , not the biggest room , but very clean and very comfortable , but Im sure all the rooms have their own charms .
Finally our hosts Julian and Andy , just the right level of friendliness and professionalism , their are delightful (oh and Patsy the dog too ) All in all Fab , Fab , Fab . will certainly be back .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simplysarah52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Luxurious and elegant, Plas Dinas can be found in sumptuous surroundings just two miles from Caernarfon. Andy & Julian are the most perfect hosts and provide all the style, sophistication and hospitality that you can possibly need to enjoy a perfect escape for whatever the occassion may be. Everything about Plas Dinas is worth all of the five stars awarded to Andy & Julian and they both deserve every acolade that has been awarded to them. When we visited Plas Dinas after booking on their web-site we had great expectations and we were not disappointed, what you see and read on their web-site is exactly what you get.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJandJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bontnewydd
2.3 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
6.2 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
10.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.8 mi away
Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Dinas Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Dinas Country House

Property: Plas Dinas Country House
Address: Bontnewydd, Caernarfon LL54 7YF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon > Bontnewydd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bontnewydd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plas Dinas Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful things fill Lord Snowdon’s historic family home, Marco's cooking hits the spot and the ten, en-suite bedrooms offer wifi and luxurious Molton Brown amenities.This is the family home of Lord Snowdon. It dates to the 1600s and stands in 15 acres with an avenue of oak that sweeps you up to the house. Princess Margaret stayed often and much of what fills the house belongs to the family: stunning chandeliers, oils by the score, gilt-framed mirrors – an Aladdin's cave of beautiful things. There's a baby grand piano in the drawing room, where you find smart wood floors, an honesty bar and a fire that roars, but potter about the house and find masses of memorabilia framed on the walls (make sure you visit the private dining room). Bedrooms are quite something, the past mixing gracefully with modern design. Nothing is left to chance, a constant programme of refurbishment sees to that. You get four-posters, classic colours, sumptuous fabrics, a sofa if there's room. Bathrooms are excellent, some with showers, others with free-standing baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plas Dinas Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Dinas Country House Hotel Bontnewydd
Plas Dinas Country House Bontnewydd, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing