We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location for our engagement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plas Dinas Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Bontnewydd B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect location for our engagement”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I was looking for somewhere special to propose to my partner and decided to book a night here after reading the positive TripAdvisor reviews - we were not disappointed!

Upon arrival, we were given a brief overview of the history of the house and shown to our room.

We stayed in The Mount room. The Super King bed was so comfortable and the "rainfall" shower was a great way to refresh. The complimentary chocolates were gorgeous and the Molton Brown toiletries smelt great.

After dropping off our bags we were offered a complimentary cup of tea and a piece of fruit cake in the Drawing Room - very much appreciated after a 3 hour scenic drive!

I had been in contact with Neil (one of the owners) via e-mail in the weeks before our arrival, to tell him of my plans to propose to my partner during our stay. He replied swiftly saying he would arrange a bottle of champagne for the special moment.

As we stayed on a Monday night we were unfortunately unable to sample the evening meal (only available Tuesday to Saturday), so had to make do with a meal in Caernarfon town. After returning back to Plas Dinas, I popped the question in the gardens and sure enough, champagne on ice was waiting on a picnic table overlooking the Menai Strait/Irish Sea. A great spot to watch the sunset!

Our full Welsh breakfast on the Tuesday morning was amazing. Bacon, sausage, black pudding, tomatoes on the vine, mushroom and an egg (cooked how you want) and a great choice of tea, coffee and fruit juices.

Before checking out, we took the opportunity to walk around the gardens again, taking photos of the beautiful surroundings. Plas Dinas is in such a peaceful location and everything is so well kept and presentable.

A perfect stay for a special occasion.

Thank you!

Room Tip: The Mount is the perfect spot to watch the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil and Marco ... B, Owner at Plas Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for the great feedback and may we wish you all the very best for your future together - Neil, Marco, Malta and Blue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    33
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
55
400
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Ray & Jane Soper Staffordshire
We spent a VERY relaxing and pleasant time at Plas Dinas in May this year. The grounds are well laid out and great for walking and appreciating the fantastic scenery.
The house is full of history notably about the Armstrong-Jones family who are not only related to royalty but played a part in organising the wedding of Prince William and Kake Middleton but also the Beckhams!
We were welcomed by Neil and Marco, their family and their well behaved dogs. The mood of our stay was very informal and the evening meal (you have to book) was comparable with any smart restaurant.

Our room was very clean with excellent facilities including some locally made chocolates and information about the house and the local area.
The quiet location ensured we slept well and the full Welsh breakfast (Lighter options are available) set us up to the day.

Altogether an excellent place to stay and explore the area. We shall be back

Room Tip: Every room is different. Visit their web site
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Arrived a little late but the welcome was warm and friendly. The house was an absolute treasure. Views from end of garden were stunning, would have loved to stay for much longer to fully appreciate the surroundings. Breakfast was excellent as was the ambience. Would love to return

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boris545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely country house close to everything you may need. Well kept and excellently ran.

Had a complimentary tea and home made scones by a roaring log fire on arrival which was a nice touch.

Room ( We had the Judges room ) was lovely, very clean very well fitted out and en-suite bathroom was equally nice.

Highly recommend would stay again. Beautiful house in a lovely location.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam666100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

From the warm welcomes to the fond farewells our Honeymoon stay at Plas Dinas was just PERFECT in every way. Bruno and Mark are the perfect hosts and the attention to every detail of our stay was magnificent. The Princess Margaret suite is simply a must. We will certainly be going back to relive our wonderful experience. 11/10 guys and many thanks once again.

Room Tip: ALL of the rooms are amazing - The Princess Margaret Suite is well worth the extra £'s.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil and Marco ... B, Owner at Plas Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Plas Dinas although we are a little unsure who Bruno and Mark are.....but as long as they looked after you....:-) - we'll forgive you.......all the best for the future and come back and see us soon - Neil and Marco, Malta and Blue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderlecht, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Where to start with a place like this? well at the driveway to be exact, you feel you are entering a special place just by taking the driveway wich takes you round the garden up to the front of this, on first sight, average house. Then you see the front door and you can see that it is more than an average house and going through that door really does take you in a magical place you get only so often when traveling and you WILL LOVE EVERY SINGLE MINUTE of your stay here.

The hosts are proud to receive you in their exceptional home, that has a history of it's own, of wich they are very proud of and which the original family decendants continue to share with them. While we where here they where in full refurbishement of several rooms to get everything a fresher look while keeping the charm and warmth intact. But we didn't even notice they where redecorating at all. Both host where very generous to share their projects with Plas Dinas to make it even better and that is a very good sign for the future. We can't wait to come back to see ow it will go on.

Now it is an old house and as such the walls and floors are not perfectly shaped etc... but the place is kept spic and span and it ads to the charm of the stay, you really feel a guest in the home of an exceptional Family. You ar not a number here and both hosts will know you by name when you arrive, which is unseen in any B&B or small hotel we have ever visited. The attention to detail to make your stay here unique is unsurpassed.

Breakfast is more than excelent but don't expect the usual crappy buffet, no here you get a very personal service and everything is cooked at the minute with fresh ingredients. Dinner is just a much an experience, our Host really loves to cook and it shows in the quality and care the food is cooked! The wine list is also very reasonable. Unfortunately they have a GRAND dining room which is hardly ever used because guests don't like to dine with other people at the same table, which we felt a real shame as each night we started chatting with all the other guests around us all at a different table, starting with the pré dinner drinks to the coffee or tea after dinner. I'm a big fan of 'Chateau Dining' as the name it here because it really gives you the chance to meet new people and talk of everything without having to strain your neck all the time, but that's just us I guess!

Lastly if you want something special you just have to ask and if by magic it appears within a few hours. Everything here is worth your while. We do hope that Marco, Neil, Blue and Malta will remain close contacts in the future as they are everything you can ask for as hosts and fiends. The only downide for us was the choice of local restaurants, sure they where good for the region, but only because there is nothing really to compare. You cannot find any restaurant in the neighbourhood which is to the expectations of travelers who have enjoyed so many good local restaurants the world round, it is the only thing that lacks in this neck of the world, but Marco's home made dishes made up for that each and every single time!

You will not regret your stay here it is as unique as it gets for the prices you pay here, none better B&B or hotel we visited than this littel 'grand' JEM! The only thing missing is a Butler ;-)

Room Tip: We had the Peregrin room whic has great views, as it is in the back of the proprety, also far from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2GuysBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil and Marco ... B, Owner at Plas Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you so much for the detailed feedback and review, it is always so valuable when guests take the time to give genuine and constructive reviews and also provide us with great idea's on how to make Plas Dinas even better - watch this space for the implementation of some of your great ideas - thanks for driving all the way from Belgium and come back soon! N&M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Beautiful house and garden. The wonderful host made us feel at home at the very posh place (Lord Snowdon's country house) in no time. Every room is decorated individually and with great care. Very good breakfast. Home made cookies are the best!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil and Marco ... B, Owner at Plas Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely note - especially about our homemade cookies - and thank you for the postcard as well - its so great to hear from our guests again once they have left on their journeys to all four corners of the globe! Malta, Blue and Ruben send love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bontnewydd
2.3 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
6.2 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
10.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
0.8 mi away
Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Dinas Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Dinas Country House

Property: Plas Dinas Country House
Address: Bontnewydd, Caernarfon LL54 7YF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon > Bontnewydd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bontnewydd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plas Dinas Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful things fill Lord Snowdon’s historic family home, Marco's cooking hits the spot and the ten, en-suite bedrooms offer wifi and luxurious Molton Brown amenities.This is the family home of Lord Snowdon. It dates to the 1600s and stands in 15 acres with an avenue of oak that sweeps you up to the house. Princess Margaret stayed often and much of what fills the house belongs to the family: stunning chandeliers, oils by the score, gilt-framed mirrors – an Aladdin's cave of beautiful things. There's a baby grand piano in the drawing room, where you find smart wood floors, an honesty bar and a fire that roars, but potter about the house and find masses of memorabilia framed on the walls (make sure you visit the private dining room). Bedrooms are quite something, the past mixing gracefully with modern design. Nothing is left to chance, a constant programme of refurbishment sees to that. You get four-posters, classic colours, sumptuous fabrics, a sofa if there's room. Bathrooms are excellent, some with showers, others with free-standing baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plas Dinas Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Dinas Country House Hotel Bontnewydd
Plas Dinas Country House Bontnewydd, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing