We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Taking the Hotel Experience to a new Level” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plas Dinas Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Plas Dinas Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Bontnewydd B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Taking the Hotel Experience to a new Level”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here for four nights last week
impressed by the favourable reviews.If
anything they do not do it justice.This is an
incredible place steeped in history.It's website
actually does not do it justice.

We stayed in the South room which had been recently
been decorated and it was immaculate.Large selection
of beverages,welcoming chocolates & Moulton Brown
toiletries.Lovely old cast iron fireplace & huge bed.Mattress
was too soft for me which is the only thing I can think of to criticise.
The welcoming folder is very comprenhesive and includes a
leaflet of places to eat out in Caernarfon if you don't want to
sample the hotel's fixed dining menu.We tried three of Neil &
Marco's recomendations and their observations were spot on.

The decor and cleanliess of the hotel is also superb.The drawing
room has endless supplies of magazines & intresting books.It's a
nice space to spend time in if the famous Snowdenia weather closes
in.Neil & Marco serve complementry coffee & cake every afternoon
& there is also a free mini bar available in the evening,a nice touch.

Breakfast was good,everything freshly cooked.(the bacon on Tuesday was amaizing)
Dining in the evening needed to booked in advance and was a little formal for our
tastes.

Gardens are lovely & the sunsets from "the mound" are beautifull
Wi Fi in every part was excellent.

Make sure you ask Neil to show you the old gun room which is not normally open.

To paraphrase Arnie "We'll Be Back"

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Subotnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    31
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
55
392
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Dina and Christopher.

I can't recommend this place enough. Beautiful place with very welcoming new owners. Complimentary cake and coffee on arrival, then a complimentary bar for the evening?! Fabulous. Our room was probably one of the cheaper ones as I got it from LastMinute or something. It has slanted floors and was really quirky. Again, loads of complimentary things in our room, water, chocolates, squash, cafetiere. Can't wait to come again. Wish these guys all the best.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely few days celebration here, food really excellent and Neil and Marco are excellent hosts. Location great for popping over to Anglesey for a walk on the beach.
We left some clothes in the wardrobe in the room and Neil and Marco were so kind and posted them to us, customer service at its best! Thank you!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband & I recently stayed at the Plas Dinas and cannot recommend it highly enough. The house is superbly furnished with all sorts of antiques and interesting memorabilia relating to its past history. Our bedroom (the Peregrine) was beautifully furnished with views over the open countryside. The grounds are wonderful with quiet corners to sit & read and with lovely views over the Welsh countryside from The Mount at the back of the property. Neil (one of the Hosts) did everything to make our stay perfect; nothing was too much trouble for him. Marco (the other Host) was in charge of the food and once again everything was faultless. The breakfasts had plenty of choices to set us up for the day and I definitely recommend the Full Welsh breakfast. The set menu evening meals were a delight with a great variety of different courses served in a lovely dining room.
If you want somewhere to stay in North Wales that offers everything you want for a luxury holiday, you won’t find better than the Plas Dinas Country House. It’s the attention to detail which makes a place outstanding and this certainly was.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186284Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I was looking for somewhere special to propose to my partner and decided to book a night here after reading the positive TripAdvisor reviews - we were not disappointed!

Upon arrival, we were given a brief overview of the history of the house and shown to our room.

We stayed in The Mount room. The Super King bed was so comfortable and the "rainfall" shower was a great way to refresh. The complimentary chocolates were gorgeous and the Molton Brown toiletries smelt great.

After dropping off our bags we were offered a complimentary cup of tea and a piece of fruit cake in the Drawing Room - very much appreciated after a 3 hour scenic drive!

I had been in contact with Neil (one of the owners) via e-mail in the weeks before our arrival, to tell him of my plans to propose to my partner during our stay. He replied swiftly saying he would arrange a bottle of champagne for the special moment.

As we stayed on a Monday night we were unfortunately unable to sample the evening meal (only available Tuesday to Saturday), so had to make do with a meal in Caernarfon town. After returning back to Plas Dinas, I popped the question in the gardens and sure enough, champagne on ice was waiting on a picnic table overlooking the Menai Strait/Irish Sea. A great spot to watch the sunset!

Our full Welsh breakfast on the Tuesday morning was amazing. Bacon, sausage, black pudding, tomatoes on the vine, mushroom and an egg (cooked how you want) and a great choice of tea, coffee and fruit juices.

Before checking out, we took the opportunity to walk around the gardens again, taking photos of the beautiful surroundings. Plas Dinas is in such a peaceful location and everything is so well kept and presentable.

A perfect stay for a special occasion.

Thank you!

Room Tip: The Mount is the perfect spot to watch the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil and Marco ... B, Owner at Plas Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for the great feedback and may we wish you all the very best for your future together - Neil, Marco, Malta and Blue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Ray & Jane Soper Staffordshire
We spent a VERY relaxing and pleasant time at Plas Dinas in May this year. The grounds are well laid out and great for walking and appreciating the fantastic scenery.
The house is full of history notably about the Armstrong-Jones family who are not only related to royalty but played a part in organising the wedding of Prince William and Kake Middleton but also the Beckhams!
We were welcomed by Neil and Marco, their family and their well behaved dogs. The mood of our stay was very informal and the evening meal (you have to book) was comparable with any smart restaurant.

Our room was very clean with excellent facilities including some locally made chocolates and information about the house and the local area.
The quiet location ensured we slept well and the full Welsh breakfast (Lighter options are available) set us up to the day.

Altogether an excellent place to stay and explore the area. We shall be back

Room Tip: Every room is different. Visit their web site
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Arrived a little late but the welcome was warm and friendly. The house was an absolute treasure. Views from end of garden were stunning, would have loved to stay for much longer to fully appreciate the surroundings. Breakfast was excellent as was the ambience. Would love to return

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boris545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bontnewydd
2.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
6.1 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
10.3 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
13.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Dinas Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Dinas Country House

Property: Plas Dinas Country House
Address: Bontnewydd, Caernarfon LL54 7YF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon > Bontnewydd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bontnewydd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plas Dinas Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful things fill Lord Snowdon’s historic family home, Marco's cooking hits the spot and the ten, en-suite bedrooms offer wifi and luxurious Molton Brown amenities.This is the family home of Lord Snowdon. It dates to the 1600s and stands in 15 acres with an avenue of oak that sweeps you up to the house. Princess Margaret stayed often and much of what fills the house belongs to the family: stunning chandeliers, oils by the score, gilt-framed mirrors – an Aladdin's cave of beautiful things. There's a baby grand piano in the drawing room, where you find smart wood floors, an honesty bar and a fire that roars, but potter about the house and find masses of memorabilia framed on the walls (make sure you visit the private dining room). Bedrooms are quite something, the past mixing gracefully with modern design. Nothing is left to chance, a constant programme of refurbishment sees to that. You get four-posters, classic colours, sumptuous fabrics, a sofa if there's room. Bathrooms are excellent, some with showers, others with free-standing baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Plas Dinas Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Dinas Country House Hotel Bontnewydd
Plas Dinas Country House Bontnewydd, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing