We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All in all, really rather lovely.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plas Dinas Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Bontnewydd B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“All in all, really rather lovely.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

What a little gem this hotel is!! The ambience, room, grounds, food and hosts are all of the highest quality. We stayed in the Lady Armstrong suite which was delightful, if a little noisy from other guests using water early in the morning, and a little too warm, but still very comfortable. We had a peep in another couple of rooms where the doors were open, awaiting guests arrivals, and their bathrooms were a lot bigger than ours which was a bit of a shame. We wonder how other guests were offered complimentary coffee and cake, and a free mini bar, because we weren't offered either! However, it was a delightful hotel and we may well return.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel have better views, overlooking the sea in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzy072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil and Marco ... B, Owner at Plas Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thanks for the great feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay - albeit with a bit of noisy plumbing! In a house this old that originally had 14 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, it took some creative renovation to make all 10 bedrooms en-suite but we feel that adds to the attraction of Plas Dinas. We did run a special promotion via TripAdvisor and online for the month of July that included complimentary tea & cake in the afternoon and a complimentary mini-bar - as you stayed in the beginning of August we are sorry you missed this but it is certainly something we will do again in the future - watch this space! Regards, Neil, Marco, Malta and Blue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    33
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
55
400
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Plas Dinas is a wonderful place to stay. From the moment you enter the winding private drive you enter into a cocoon of relaxation and "me time".

The house and extensive grounds are analogous to a country house with decor and styling similar to some national trust properties I have visited. Although my dress code (jeans, shirt and flip flops) was not in keeping with the decor I was never made to feel anything but welcome from Neil and the staff and their relaxed attitude added to my experience.

The grounds are lush and extensive, with sunset views over the bay and shore which are little short of stunning on a summer's evening.

Neil and Marco are your hosts, and from the moment you walk in the door their houseguest approach makes you feel welcome and at ease. They provided me and my friends with an exceptional level of customer service, difficult to put a price on that sort of service, which as someone who spends around 30% of my life travelling is very much appreciated.

The food and restaurant are excellent. There is a great home cooked feel to the food which is clearly influenced my Marco. The menu is simple yet elegant, no choice (ie you are their dinner guests) which makes for an additional houseguest experience (reminds me of Miller Howe in the Lake district when owned by John Tovey).

I was using this as a base to climb Tryfan as this is a relatively short trip (25 mins) but the location is within easy reach of Bangor, Conway, Llandudno, Snowdonia etc.

Whilst I didn't have my partner with me on this trip, I have added to my "places to go" list as somewhere for a romantic break.

Highlight for me was sitting outside in the wonderful grounds, glorious sunshine, drinking iced champagne and setting the world to right with two of my closest friends - very relaxing at the end of a very stressful week.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thorborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil and Marco ... B, Owner at Plas Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thanks for the great compliments - running a restaurant is not really an option for us as we are so small so its great to know that our guests are enjoying our style of dining! We hope to welcome you back with your significant other soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed here for four nights last week
impressed by the favourable reviews.If
anything they do not do it justice.This is an
incredible place steeped in history.It's website
actually does not do it justice.

We stayed in the South room which had been recently
been decorated and it was immaculate.Large selection
of beverages,welcoming chocolates & Moulton Brown
toiletries.Lovely old cast iron fireplace & huge bed.Mattress
was too soft for me which is the only thing I can think of to criticise.
The welcoming folder is very comprenhesive and includes a
leaflet of places to eat out in Caernarfon if you don't want to
sample the hotel's fixed dining menu.We tried three of Neil &
Marco's recomendations and their observations were spot on.

The decor and cleanliess of the hotel is also superb.The drawing
room has endless supplies of magazines & intresting books.It's a
nice space to spend time in if the famous Snowdenia weather closes
in.Neil & Marco serve complementry coffee & cake every afternoon
& there is also a free mini bar available in the evening,a nice touch.

Breakfast was good,everything freshly cooked.(the bacon on Tuesday was amaizing)
Dining in the evening needed to booked in advance and was a little formal for our
tastes.

Gardens are lovely & the sunsets from "the mound" are beautifull
Wi Fi in every part was excellent.

Make sure you ask Neil to show you the old gun room which is not normally open.

To paraphrase Arnie "We'll Be Back"

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Subotnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Dina and Christopher.

I can't recommend this place enough. Beautiful place with very welcoming new owners. Complimentary cake and coffee on arrival, then a complimentary bar for the evening?! Fabulous. Our room was probably one of the cheaper ones as I got it from LastMinute or something. It has slanted floors and was really quirky. Again, loads of complimentary things in our room, water, chocolates, squash, cafetiere. Can't wait to come again. Wish these guys all the best.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Had a lovely few days celebration here, food really excellent and Neil and Marco are excellent hosts. Location great for popping over to Anglesey for a walk on the beach.
We left some clothes in the wardrobe in the room and Neil and Marco were so kind and posted them to us, customer service at its best! Thank you!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband & I recently stayed at the Plas Dinas and cannot recommend it highly enough. The house is superbly furnished with all sorts of antiques and interesting memorabilia relating to its past history. Our bedroom (the Peregrine) was beautifully furnished with views over the open countryside. The grounds are wonderful with quiet corners to sit & read and with lovely views over the Welsh countryside from The Mount at the back of the property. Neil (one of the Hosts) did everything to make our stay perfect; nothing was too much trouble for him. Marco (the other Host) was in charge of the food and once again everything was faultless. The breakfasts had plenty of choices to set us up for the day and I definitely recommend the Full Welsh breakfast. The set menu evening meals were a delight with a great variety of different courses served in a lovely dining room.
If you want somewhere to stay in North Wales that offers everything you want for a luxury holiday, you won’t find better than the Plas Dinas Country House. It’s the attention to detail which makes a place outstanding and this certainly was.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186284Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I was looking for somewhere special to propose to my partner and decided to book a night here after reading the positive TripAdvisor reviews - we were not disappointed!

Upon arrival, we were given a brief overview of the history of the house and shown to our room.

We stayed in The Mount room. The Super King bed was so comfortable and the "rainfall" shower was a great way to refresh. The complimentary chocolates were gorgeous and the Molton Brown toiletries smelt great.

After dropping off our bags we were offered a complimentary cup of tea and a piece of fruit cake in the Drawing Room - very much appreciated after a 3 hour scenic drive!

I had been in contact with Neil (one of the owners) via e-mail in the weeks before our arrival, to tell him of my plans to propose to my partner during our stay. He replied swiftly saying he would arrange a bottle of champagne for the special moment.

As we stayed on a Monday night we were unfortunately unable to sample the evening meal (only available Tuesday to Saturday), so had to make do with a meal in Caernarfon town. After returning back to Plas Dinas, I popped the question in the gardens and sure enough, champagne on ice was waiting on a picnic table overlooking the Menai Strait/Irish Sea. A great spot to watch the sunset!

Our full Welsh breakfast on the Tuesday morning was amazing. Bacon, sausage, black pudding, tomatoes on the vine, mushroom and an egg (cooked how you want) and a great choice of tea, coffee and fruit juices.

Before checking out, we took the opportunity to walk around the gardens again, taking photos of the beautiful surroundings. Plas Dinas is in such a peaceful location and everything is so well kept and presentable.

A perfect stay for a special occasion.

Thank you!

Room Tip: The Mount is the perfect spot to watch the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil and Marco ... B, Owner at Plas Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for the great feedback and may we wish you all the very best for your future together - Neil, Marco, Malta and Blue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bontnewydd
2.3 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
6.2 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
10.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.8 mi away
Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Dinas Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Dinas Country House

Property: Plas Dinas Country House
Address: Bontnewydd, Caernarfon LL54 7YF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon > Bontnewydd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bontnewydd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plas Dinas Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful things fill Lord Snowdon’s historic family home, Marco's cooking hits the spot and the ten, en-suite bedrooms offer wifi and luxurious Molton Brown amenities.This is the family home of Lord Snowdon. It dates to the 1600s and stands in 15 acres with an avenue of oak that sweeps you up to the house. Princess Margaret stayed often and much of what fills the house belongs to the family: stunning chandeliers, oils by the score, gilt-framed mirrors – an Aladdin's cave of beautiful things. There's a baby grand piano in the drawing room, where you find smart wood floors, an honesty bar and a fire that roars, but potter about the house and find masses of memorabilia framed on the walls (make sure you visit the private dining room). Bedrooms are quite something, the past mixing gracefully with modern design. Nothing is left to chance, a constant programme of refurbishment sees to that. You get four-posters, classic colours, sumptuous fabrics, a sofa if there's room. Bathrooms are excellent, some with showers, others with free-standing baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plas Dinas Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Dinas Country House Hotel Bontnewydd
Plas Dinas Country House Bontnewydd, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing