We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great venue for a wedding with fantastic service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plas Dinas Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Bontnewydd B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire, england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great venue for a wedding with fantastic service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2009

We chose Plas Dinas for our wedding and booked out the hotel for the weekend to enable friends and family to stay with us. I can endorse all the other positive reviews on the website. Andy and Julian are great hosts with a professional approach to their management of this lovely hotel. All aspects of the weekend went without a hitch. Food and rooms are great but the service is exceptional. Thanks to you both for making our weekend so special.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollycoddle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    33
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
55
400
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Trentham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2009

Just returned from another stay at Plas Dinas, our third and certainly not our last. Superb Country House Hotel where you are made to feel at home as soon as you step inside. This together with impeccable standards throughout, wonderful food and a great big roaring log fire in the Drawing Room, what more could you want on a cold, wet February evening, do I hear you say a Remy with your coffee, well that's on offer too. Thanks guys another enjoyable stay, we'll be back in May.

Stayed February 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank awtstaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Budworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2009

Reluctant to write a review as want to keep this to myself!!!
If you want to stay in a beautiful country house this is the best. Julian and Andy are excellent hosts and the attention to detail is second to none. The minute you open the front door you could step back in time , as it has been allowed to retain most of its original splendor. The breakfast was excellent, however we did not eat in the restraunt at night, which was a shame as if it was anything like the rest of our stay, would have been perfect. The bedroom was very spacious ( South room ) and had large king size bed, flat screen tv , robes and slippers and a mini bar which was reasonably priced. we will be going back again andthe only thing we hope is better is the weather.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank beaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B'ham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2009

Andy & Julian are great hosts who understand the need to make your stay seem like home from home with nice personal touches in the room. The House is steeped in history and has a wonderful setting just 5 mins from Carmarthen and 10 minutes from Snowdon railway. The breakfast is perfect and rooms immaculate. Would definitely recommend a stay here. We Only stayed for one night but will definitely be returning in the Summer for an extended weekend. Booked thro lastminute.com and had no issues with either booking or check in. A slightly later checkout (currently 11am) would have been nice so we could enjoy the room for just a little longer.

  • Liked — History
  • Disliked — 1100am checkout
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank T474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2008

We stayed for 2 nights as a treat for our wedding anniversary in the Mount delux room. It was lovely! Especially enjoyed the evening meal on the Saturday and a quiet read in the drawing room infront of the roaring fire. Would definately recommend.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank maddogsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west mids
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2008

We have just returned from a really fantastic weekend break.
The house is beautiful and interesting.
Our rooms were huge but very cosy with lots of lovely little extras to make you feel pampered. Breakfast was excellent as was dinner on Saturday evening.
Would highly recommend it ....can't wait to return!!

  • Liked — Very relaxing
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nwhitworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BROADSTAIRS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2008

IF YOU LIKE PEACE AND TRANQUILITY THIS IS THE PLACE!!

We were intrigued by the history of this property and the grounds looked nice. We were initially disappointed at the lack of maintenance on this lovely old house - loose (non working) raditator and tired windows. But having accepted that we came to enjoy our stay in the Princess Margaret suite - apparently she liked that particular room because she could see who was coming up the drive. The breakfasts were cooked to order and very good (more fresh fruit and cereals would not go amiss though). There was so little noise around the place it was very pleasant to sit in the drawing room and read. If the owners (polite pair of chaps) read this PLEASE spend some money on the basics - refurbish the windows (not replace) and fix the radiator (and paint it - but not silver again) it would be an absolutely stunning property if restored sympathetically.

Travellmad

  • Liked — Not modern and corporate - elegant
  • Disliked — Lack of contorllable heating in the bedroom
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TRAVELLMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy_Caernarfon, Proprietor at Plas Dinas Country House, responded to this review, 19 September 2008
Thank you for your review.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay - though I'm not sure how we can increase our choice of cereals in a morning - we already have the top 6 selling brands and we usually have 9 types of fresh fruit in our fruit salad and on the fruit bowl.

We appreciate your feedback on the room. We are coming to the end of a 2 year refurbishment plan which has seen the whole hotel be completely redecorated. Your room is the last one to do as it was the best room when we took over.

It will have a completely new bathroom with roll top bath, a new heating system, and the windows will be re-painted as part of the redecoration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bontnewydd
2.3 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
6.2 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
10.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.8 mi away
Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Dinas Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Dinas Country House

Property: Plas Dinas Country House
Address: Bontnewydd, Caernarfon LL54 7YF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon > Bontnewydd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bontnewydd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Plas Dinas Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful things fill Lord Snowdon’s historic family home, Marco's cooking hits the spot and the ten, en-suite bedrooms offer wifi and luxurious Molton Brown amenities.This is the family home of Lord Snowdon. It dates to the 1600s and stands in 15 acres with an avenue of oak that sweeps you up to the house. Princess Margaret stayed often and much of what fills the house belongs to the family: stunning chandeliers, oils by the score, gilt-framed mirrors – an Aladdin's cave of beautiful things. There's a baby grand piano in the drawing room, where you find smart wood floors, an honesty bar and a fire that roars, but potter about the house and find masses of memorabilia framed on the walls (make sure you visit the private dining room). Bedrooms are quite something, the past mixing gracefully with modern design. Nothing is left to chance, a constant programme of refurbishment sees to that. You get four-posters, classic colours, sumptuous fabrics, a sofa if there's room. Bathrooms are excellent, some with showers, others with free-standing baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plas Dinas Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Dinas Country House Hotel Bontnewydd
Plas Dinas Country House Bontnewydd, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing