We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Place to Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plas Dinas Country House
Ranked #1 of 1 Bontnewydd B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2009

Plas Dinas has a friendly, homely atmosphere. Andy and Julian are excellent hosts and fantastic chefs. Nothing is too much trouble. The house is very Olde World with items of interest and a blazing log fire! This was the 2nd part of our honeymoon and was a very special time for us both. We have very happy memories which we will cherish.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkie004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

581 - 587 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2009

We stayed on Haloween night and Andy and Julien arranged a special murder mystery for the evenings entertainment. Great fun and a really got gang of guests made our stay all the more special.
Plas Dinas sits in lovely grounds with views over the Menai Straits and we were greeted by Andy and Julien at the door and shown to our luxurious and immaculate room (Butlers) All you would expect of a luxury room but with extra special attention to detail.
We went down to the beautiful drawing room for pre dinner drinks and then in between the murder mystery had dinner in the Gun Room with all of the other guests at the same table. Dinner was a fixed menu because of the murder mystery but was excellent. Good wine list with a good variety for all tastes.
Breakfast in the dinning room was served and included excellent local produce.
Andy and Julien are very good hosts and obvioulsy love what they are doing. All in all a great place to spend a few days. I only wish we could have stayed more than one night so guess what ? We will go back and do just that ! Oh and by the way we took our dog Zak and he was made very welcome too !.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greystones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

We found Plas Dinas having searched the internet for an intimate and classy venue in which to hold our civil partnership and impress our friends. Our first visit to this beautiful country house, and our meeting with Andy and Julian, confirmed that Plas Dinas was exactly what we were looking for and we booked the entire venue, including the lodge, for 24 hours. In the run up to our big day the guys were always accessible, and efficient in getting back to us, which made planning a breeze. We arrived the afternoon before, and as we drove up the drive the house looked immaculate and the gardens beautifully tended. We stayed in the Princess Margaret Suite which was welcoming, fabulous and entirely appropriate for two brides. Some of our guests were booked into the lodge and were blown away by the standard of this accommodation. On the day itself the sun shone and the place looked even better than it had done the previous day. The guys and their staff were attentive and worked with us to ensure that both the drawing room and the dining room were set out exactly as we wanted. In the impressive drawing room our 31 guests sat on settees and chairs, which gave an informal but sophisticated feel to our ceremony. The canapes and champagne were served with flair and the celebration meal was unhurried, served efficiently and was absolutely delicious. We repaired to the drawing room for coffee and were left with the honesty bar to conclude our celebration. The entire day was perfect from beginning to end. This is an amazing and very special venue and we cannot recommend it highly enough, thanks Guys. Y & M

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berylperil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

I surprised my husband with a stay at Plas Dinas for his birthday and we weren't disappointed! We were given a warm friendly welcome and our room (The Princess Margaret Suite) was delightful; beautifully furnished, clean and very comfortable. The room is decorated with photographs and memorabilia associated with Princess Margaret which was a lovely touch, particulary as this was said to have been her favourite room at the house. Breakfast was delicious particulalry fresh fruit salad and the vegetarian cooked breakfast was also very nice indeed. A lovely place to stay if you're looking for something a little special!


Combines the charm of a country house with first class hotel facilities and serviceed

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyTottington1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2009

Truely a fabulous place! Set at the end of a winding drive away well away from the main road, Plas Dinas is wonderfully set in gorgeous gardens and simply glows in the sunshine. Rooms are well furnished, clean and quiet. Our room set the balance between its history and appropriate furnishings in the bedroom area with all mod cons, hot powerful shower and double deep bath in the bathroom. Lots of nice touches in the room which really make the difference. Friendly service from both Andy and Julian and enjoyed the coffees and G and T's in the drawing room in front of the fire - which I enjoyed tending! Although meals not available every night, food is also excellant considering that it is a small hotel. Good pub and meals also available nearby. Yes the place probably has "tweeks" you could identify but that in part is because it is an old building and adds a good feel... you want uniformity there is a travelodge down the road! Thanks to the guys for a relaxing, enjoyable and stress free stay,

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesRushby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

We were looking for a quiet, relaxing night away from the kids in a nice hotel with great food and a clean, comfortable room, and that is exactly what we experienced at Plas Dinas! I expressed my fussiness to Andy when I telephoned, and he assured me we would not be dissappointed with the room, he was not wrong! You could have eaten your dinner off the bathroom floor it was so immaculate! The food in the small but cosy dining room was delicious, breakfast was also very good. Location for us was great, we didn't want too travel too far, and the grounds were lovely. Thank you Julien and Andy for making us feel human again!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grace079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Plas Dinas is a great place for a short break or a longer stay. It's location in the foothills of Mount Snowdon is perfect with amazing views of the mountains and surrounding countryside from most of the rooms. The hotel itself is spot on, with friendly and welcoming service and a fantastic attention to detail throughout - for example the list of birds that can be spotted from the dinning room window. The bedrooms are all individually and very tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. The TV above the bath in the Princess Margaret room was a unique experience and a very luxurious touch. As if this isn't enough, the food is delicious too. All hand cooked with locally sourced ingredients. A truly fantastic place to relax and rejuvenate!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katestacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bontnewydd
2.3 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,347 reviews
6.2 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
443 reviews
10.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
758 reviews
2.4 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,065 reviews
13.7 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Dinas Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Dinas Country House

Address: Bontnewydd, Caernarfon LL54 7YF, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon > Bontnewydd
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bontnewydd
Price Range: £94 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Plas Dinas Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful things fill Lord Snowdon’s historic family home, Marco's cooking hits the spot and the ten, en-suite bedrooms offer wifi and luxurious Molton Brown amenities.This is the family home of Lord Snowdon. It dates to the 1600s and stands in 15 acres with an avenue of oak that sweeps you up to the house. Princess Margaret stayed often and much of what fills the house belongs to the family: stunning chandeliers, oils by the score, gilt-framed mirrors – an Aladdin's cave of beautiful things. There's a baby grand piano in the drawing room, where you find smart wood floors, an honesty bar and a fire that roars, but potter about the house and find masses of memorabilia framed on the walls (make sure you visit the private dining room). Bedrooms are quite something, the past mixing gracefully with modern design. Nothing is left to chance, a constant programme of refurbishment sees to that. You get four-posters, classic colours, sumptuous fabrics, a sofa if there's room. Bathrooms are excellent, some with showers, others with free-standing baths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Plas Dinas Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Dinas Country House Hotel Bontnewydd
Plas Dinas Country House Bontnewydd, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing