We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class and Elegance is not available at this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bontnewydd
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We had Sunday lunch at Plas Maenan the previous week and there is no comparison. The Meifod's service is ordinary and without class. The main course was very good although they forgot to offer us mint, and apple sauces. The desserts were very poor: a Pavlova with a merengue bought from the local supermarket (not homemade) and an apple crumble which was not crumbly (not the right consistency) instead it tasted rather doughy.
My advice is: have the main course and avoid the desserts. The hotel needs to train their staff in how to treat customers in an elegant and professional manner. As for our future Sunday lunches, we will return to Plas Maenan.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank FandangoEspanol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

Called here to sample Sunday lunch in a party of five so my review is of the restaurant, not the accommodation. Our table had been pre-booked, something I’d recommend because the place was very busy (always a good sign). On arrival we found our way to the dining room, a large conservatory at the back of the building. Our friends had been to the restaurant before and knew the way, but I did wonder how casual visitors would go about locating it, as this involves something of a trek through the building.

On arrival we were shown straight to our table and left with menus. Sunday lunch is a fixed-price deal with two and three course options. Unlike many similar offers, there’s a good choice of dishes, and not just roast meats. Our order was taken quickly and the food arrived promptly.

The soup was recommended to us, and proved delicious and wholesome – a far cry from the watery gruel I’ve sometimes suffered at other restaurants!

The first thing to strike us about the main course was the huge portion of meat – great for those with good appetites but a little daunting for an elderly member of the party. The roasts were served with a huge Yorkshire pudding and delicious gravy. Between us we sampled most of the meats and all were cooked to perfection, tender and flavoursome. The meats were accompanied by a good choice of fresh vegetables which were all well cooked and attractively presented.

There was a good range of desserts, of which our party sampled (and enjoyed) several. We rounded the meal off with some ‘real’ coffee.

Throughout the meal, the service was friendly and attentive but never obtrusive.

Overall, the meal was very, very good and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. I honestly can’t fault the food at all, it’s the best Sunday lunch I’ve had in a long time. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NeilT1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

just come back from having our 20th anniversary sunday lunch at the meifod hotel. what a hidden gem, right on our door step.i dont normally bother to do reviews but this place is so nice i feel i have to.it was nice to see lamb on the carvery about 1" thick and very tender, rich dark gravy puffed up yorkshire pudding and really nice veg and couliflower cheese. jobs a goodun, all this in a massive purpose built conservatory. we then walked around the very nice gardens they have there.Back in for home made bread and butter pud and ice cream. lovely staff and surroundings
cant wait to go again when the suns shining

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank broncola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

When other local eateries go somewhere for Sunday lunch, you know you are on to a good thing. The food here is 'top notch'. Staff and Mangement are fantastic and the setting beautiful. I wish I was getting married again, I would choose this venue. Good value for money, excellent parking facilities. Hd lunch here today with friends today, bliss.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DanaKR7964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Dinner at Meifod on Friday evening was so pleasant.
Nice start with drinks in the bar by an open log fire and, unlike some other places, the large glasses of wine really are "large".
Then candle-lit meals in the dining room, where my mixed grill was huge and delicious, and I can recommend the superb stilton sauce accompaniment.
Others in our party really enjoyed their duck in orange, & fish meals.
The desserts were also generous portions and arrived with classy service.
Excellent quality food and genuine value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Daf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Ive attended a couple of weddings at Meifod and visited quite a lot for food. I must say the food has always been absolutely lovely. The staff are always friendly. The only negative I have is that service on a couple of times has been quite slow but other than that I would recommend the food 100%

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lolly2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I went for dinner at Meifod just after Christmas. The staff were lovely and welcoming, the resturant beautifully decorated and the food was excellent. Thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank BerksTravellerXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bontnewydd
1.6 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,338 reviews
1.7 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,058 reviews
3.5 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
440 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
9.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Bontnewydd, Caernarfon LL55 2TY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon > Bontnewydd
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bontnewydd
Price Range: £81 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meifod Country House Hotel And Restaurant
Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant Bontnewydd, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing