We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bontnewydd
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A Nice Treat”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

On holiday in the area we decided to have a treat and eat out and wanted something a bit special. other than the local pub grub.
We were not disappointed by Meifod. Our party of 6 adults and a toddler called in on aThursday evening. We were welcomed immediately and asked if we wanted a drink and given menus to peruse.
We selected our meals whilst relaxing in the bar area, and after a short time we were shown into the restaurant area.
Four of us went for the mixed grill and my wife had the Lamb shank, my son in law had chicken and the toddler was given a lovely little children`s meal .
The whole experience was great, the food was excellent, homely and good portions. a nice treat and a bit better than the local pubs.
Thankyou to the nice lady who looked after us.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue66_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    18
    14
    5
    8
See reviews for
33
41
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Had a lovley wedding meal at the Meifod today. Leek & Potato soup followed by melt in the mouth Welsh beef (and PLENTY) of it with roasts, carrots, broccoli, mash and a huge Yorkshire pudding. The dessert was a brandy snap basket with ice cream and fresh fruit. If this is the typical food served there I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Value wise fantastic - as we didn't have to pay!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEIANOSIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I was the Maid of Honour at a wedding the Meifod Hotel and I have a lot of praise to give. I stayed the night before and the night of the wedding.

The room -
I stayed in the family room which has a put up bed on request. The beds were comfortable with luxurious bedding. The room was big, spacious with good lighting. The bathroom was on the smaller side. The only problem was when my room or the room opposite used the shower or hot water there was a terrible loud noise every 60 seconds which might annoy some people. My 5 year old slept in the put up bed all night so was obviously comfortable too.Robes, biscuits, card games, an iron with board and books were nice added touches.

The food -
We had dinner the night before in the dining room which was beautifully set out. The food was tastefully displayed and obviously freshly cooked. Delicious!

The staff -
The waiters and waitresses were polite and friendly. Cannot give enough praise to the lovely lady Babs, who never seems to stop in the Hotel. She was always there for us, nothing was too much to ask. She really made our stay and the wedding day a pleasant one. Thank you very much Babs!

The wedding -
Drinks on arrival were the marquee. A lovely setting with heart shaped welsh cakes - again the little touches make a difference! We had photographs in the grounds of the hotel which were memorial and lovely with the trees and plants. The wedding breakfast was served in The Orangery which was the most beautifully set out room I have ever seen. White drapes hanging from the ceiling, chair covers, flowers and hearts scattered around the room. It was very romantic. The food came quickly and everyone was served within good time of each other considering there were 80 guests. The food was delicious again with good portion sizes. In the evening, there was a delicious BBQ with plenty of choice although maybe not much for a vegetarian except pasta, salad or potatoes. I can't comment on drinks prices as I didn't pay for any they were bought for me.

All in all, I have a very enjoyable stay in the Meifod Hotel and will be returning for Evening meals in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

My brother got married here last year and while I can't comment on the rooms, I don't agree with the few negative comments on here. The whole thing was amazing from start to finish and the staff, especially Barbara, bent over backwards for us and the surprises we had lined up for the bride and groom. It was so good that I even considered coming back for my own wedding in 2013, but unfortunately they were already booked on the date I wanted.

The food was outstanding, the grounds stunning and all of the guests (100+) commented on how good the venue was. I loved the way they did the barbecue, the only problem was that we were still all so stuffed from lunch that we couldn't eat much! The decor in the dining room was perfect for a wedding, the table decorations, layout.... absolutely faultless.

Being local to the area, I can tell you that this is one of three venues that most couples choose for their wedding breakfast and it's widely recognised as being one of the best in this part of North Wales. For me the only downside is that there are only 6 bedrooms so I couldn't stay over, but Meifod is just a few minutes from Caernarfon, where there is plenty of accommodation to be found.

Easily the best wedding I've ever been to, and not because the groom was my brother. Meifod was fabulous from start to finish and I highly recommend it to everyone. Go for Sunday lunch, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank krousseau81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We had lunch at the meifod on monday it was excellent wonderfull service and a bit roaring fire in the lounge that was really appreciated as it was a freezing day.
Thank you all for a really good meal

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tomacco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We had Lunch at Meifod for Mother's Day and my 95 year old Mom had a ball. We have grown up children( they were too busy to come,, say no more!!!) The Carvery was excellent, service spot on, atmosphere great. We have never had bad food here. The setting is lovely and only a couple of miles away from Caernarfon. A big thankyou to everyone for making Mom's day very special.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DanaKR7964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

My family and I (wife and three young sons) stayed here in May 2011 but I've only just got round to writing this after 20 months. We turned up without a reservation, after the accommodation we had originally booked let us down. The staff were very accommodating, and managed to work out how two adults and three children (one in a cot) could stay in one room.

We were given a great room with a big comfortable bed, camp bed for two kids and space for the cot and also managed to negotiate a good rate.

The staff were relaxed and friendly and breakfast was excellent. It's never easy with three children in a hotel restaurant but here it was no problem.

During our stay, we had a meal at the Meifod with our extended families who were holidaying at the same time down the road (by intention). So that made 6 adults and 5 children for one evening meal. The food and service were excellent but the prices were a little steep.

So 5 stars for the Meifod. The only slightly negative comment would be that the bathroom (whilst very clean) was a bit dated.

I hope to return one day.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank rayk1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bontnewydd
1.6 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,253 reviews
1.7 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
989 reviews
5.5 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
731 reviews
1.8 mi away
Menai Bank Hotel
Menai Bank Hotel
#7 of 8 in Caernarfon
192 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Bontnewydd, Caernarfon LL55 2TY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon > Bontnewydd
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bontnewydd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meifod Country House Hotel And Restaurant
Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant Bontnewydd, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing