We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only redeemable feature was its staff. Terrible venue” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bontnewydd
bucks
Level Contributor
97 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“The only redeemable feature was its staff. Terrible venue”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Where do I start with this terrible terrible disaster of a place. My partners family booked a surprise birthday "treat" here . Our party of twelve arrived on time at 6pm. Half of us loitered in the hallway, half of us loitered in the cramped bar area. We waited for some acknowledgement but nothing came. Eventually some staff hurried past us with a "won't be long type of greeting. A little later whilst we were frankly all at bit embarrassed standing there, we were given some paper dinner menus to look at. A chap took a drinks order, again whilst we were split into two groups. I asked the barman/waiter was there anything not available on the menu and he assured us all was well. Whilst still split and still standing someone took a food order. By now two of our family members was clearly uncomfortable and left. To cut a long story short my lamb shank was suddenly not available and the three mixed grill we ordered were not available some time after bearing in mind it was only 6.30 ! . We were then called into the restaurant for dinner some 45 minutes later, not into the main dining room but into a giant tent with one table set up in a sea of empty tables. To add insult to injury the giant tent leaked rain on us for the remainder of the evening. A waiter did offer to set another table in the tent like structure after all there were plenty of empty ones to choose from. The food was poorly cooked, not that made any difference in this disaster of a place. Beware the photos do not do this justice. It is dirty, cold and the toilets were out of order so my family had to pee in the dark all evening in another toilet in a "camp" area called the oranagery. This restaurant is probably the worst example of an understaffed under valued and thoroughly miserable excuse for an eatery I have ever had the misfortune to stumble in to. If it wasn't to had to my family's pain my partner and I would have walked in the first 10 minutes. The staff tried hard to work but their management let them down .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mkguyukBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    15
    14
    5
    8
See reviews for
31
36
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Called here with my partner on the way to another establishment just down the road (where we were staying, Plas Dinas). We were hoping that the staff could accommodate us for an impromptu simple lunch at short notice. The venue was all set up, beautifully decorated for Xmas fare e.g. lunches and evening meals etc. However, the staff could not have been more welcoming - we had soup and a sandwich. Good value and served with a smile. All very pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Sunday Lunch here is a treat. I do not have to cook or wash up and the food is 'FAB' please support this wonderful venue. The owners are lovely and really care about how their Guests enjoy the time spent with them. Excellent venue for a Wedding by the way!!

Room Tip: We have never slept here, we only live 'down the road' but it's location means all the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanaKR7964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anglesey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Popped in for a light lunch on our day out, so glad we did. The Meifod is lovely place for any sort of function, evening out or lunch. We had our meal in the lounge in very comfy armchairs in front of the stunning fireplace, was quite reluctant to move. Our lunch was very quickly prepared, beautifully fresh ingredients and plenty of it. The lunch and dinner menus were both extensive and mouthwatering. Overall the food was excellant, great value for money and very good service. Will be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cardgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

I’ve attended a couple of functions at Meifod and visited quite a lot for food. I must say the food has always been nice, but as usual over prices.
The only negative I have is that service on a couple of times has been quite slow. The staffs are friendly but there is one large gentleman which I haven’t seen before, he could do with, getting his clothing shorted looks like that he has worn the same clothes all week (shirt out of his trousers, trousers falling off all he was doing was pulling his trousers up, get him some braces otherwise they will fall off, that will definatly put me off my food~~)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

The place could do with a make over and a good scrub to be honest. The food was lovely but what really made our night was the gentleman who served us. He said he had only been there two weeks but to talk to him and see him work you would have thought it was his own business. He was so attentive to our needs without being 'in your face'. He was happy and courteous and always smiling. He seemed to really enjoy his work and then he told us it was only a part time job as he had another full time job! What a trooper! I can't believe that someone could work full time and then go to another job after working all day and still be so enthusiastic and welcoming! I would definitely eat here again knowing that he would be there. I just wish we could have got his name. Well, whoever he his, the business is better for him being there. Well done to our wonderful waiter!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

An unplanned stop found me in Caernarfon and, in turn, the Meifod. 1st room I was put in was a claustrophobic twin room with urine on back of the loo pan & torn curtains. I asked to be moved and was put in a good sized room with fresh linen but the carpets weren't clean and the walls were dirty with splashes and stains on them. There were 4 energy saving light bulbs in the 7 armed chandelier of which 2 worked. The WiFi 'doesn't work any more, sorry' was a fair summation of the whole experience - it must have been a lovely place 10 years ago but someone has seriously taken their eye of the ball. The staff, however, were extremely helpful & polite. If I'd been staying in Caernarfon a second night I would have found somewhere else without hesitation. To give some credence to this review; I've never written a negative review before nor asked to change a room in my 52 years on this enchanting rock we all share

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jabiru_EGHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bontnewydd
1.6 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
1.6 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
5.5 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Bontnewydd, Caernarfon LL55 2TY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon > Bontnewydd
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bontnewydd
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meifod Country House Hotel And Restaurant
Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant Bontnewydd, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing