We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marine Hotel”
Review of Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marine Hotel
Ranked #15 of 21 Criccieth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 August 2009

Stayed for 1 night in Room 4. Plank of wood holding the bed in the middle, very uncomfortable. Shower Room was very clean but nowhere to hang towels and toilerties - needs hooks behind doors. Did have sea view but would have to have a very long neck to see it. The bedroom was facing a very large rock face. The Hotel needs a good makeover but we could see the owners doing their very best to keep their customers happy with what they got, they were very pleasant. Full cooked breakfast was poor. Will visit the Marine Hotel again once it has had a makeover as it is in a lovely location by the Castle. Wanted to stay a few more nights but for the money it was a bit too expensive, will stay in the Travelodge next time.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lwnsibwns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2009

My partner and I have just returned from a trip to Criccieth, and we stayed at the Marine hotel. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel very welcome and the friendly owners couldn't do enough for us. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean with all of the facilities that you'd need. The hotel has some splendid sea and castle views and our room had a beautiful view with its own little sitting area where we could sit back in the bay window and enjoy the views. Breakfast was delicious with quite a selection to choose from, and certainly more than enough to set us up for the day. The only slight downside is that the hotel is a little date with its interior decoration, but other than that, I wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to friends and family.
Thanks very much and looking forward to staying again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hthc5653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

I was disappointed in this hotel. when we were 1st shown to the room, my heart sank as I got towards the top of the hotel and I saw the state of the walls and the carpets which looked like they hadnt been cleaned in a month. The paint and the plaster was peeling off the walls.
At 1st I thought the room didn't look too bad, but when I came to draw the curtains that evening, it was like tryin to draw a small skirt with the hem hanging down and the heading falling apart. Haven't they heard of heading tape and gathered headings ! They were as thin as gauze, and didnt stop any light at all from coming in.
On the plus side, the Breakfasts were fine and the beds were comfy.
The shower didn't leave much room for entering and the water pressure was poor.
On the whole I thought £99 per night (for room no.18 which slept 4 people) was over-priced for the standard of the accommodation.
Such a shame - this hotel has a great position and such potential.
i loved Criccieth, but would look for another guest house next time we go there.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

Me, my husband and my 2 year old Golden retriever stayed here for one night, mainly because they were dog friendly and we wanted a day at the beach. I have to say the management and staff could not be nicer. We booked at almost midnight the evening before, arrived the following day to be told they upgraded us a no extra cost to a suite, ok it was a little tired, but very comfortable. We were truly grateful of this as Zack our dog is really quite big. We had a lounge area, a seperate bathroom with a shower and a bedroom. The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. We also had tea & coffee making facilities which re-fills were free, a TV, plus radio alarm in the bedroom. It was room 4. We over looked Criccieth Castle which was a nice sight at nigt as it was lit up, and to the right hand side was the sea.

When I say they were "Dog Friendly" they really couldn't do enough for us... They welcomed Zack with no problems, infact he seemed to be the star attraction. We could take him in the bar, meals were not a problem either as they set a table for us in the front sunlounge to enable Zack to accompany us for evening meal and breakfast. Incidently the two meals we had were fresh, well cooked and presented nicely and very reasonably priced for a hotel.

We paid £71.00 for the room foer one night, and £5.00 for Zack, Had we had a normal room I would have felt this was a little expensive, but can't grumble for getting a suite at the same price.

We would certianly return for a weekend break, overall a very friendly hotel in a nice location with great staff.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaka17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2009

We have just returned from a two night stay in the Marine Hotel, Criccieth. Although the hotel was a little dated, it was extremley clean, warm, tidy and comfortable.

We were given a warm and enthusiastic welcome. We took our rescued dog (George) with us for his first holiday and he was given as much of a welcome as we were (George loved the Black Rock Sands Beach).

We had a lovely room overlooking the castle and sea and to sip a few G & T's in the lounge overlooking the sea with George snoring by ourside after a manic day at the beach was lovely.

Criccieth was a lovely little town, not much to do there, but extremley relaxing and chilled time was had by all.

Thank you for a lovely stay and we would recommend anyone to a stay.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjm1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

My wife and i stayed at this hotel for 2 nights over easter.We tried several others but they
were full.So never having stayed here before we took a chance.I now wish ihad not,on
checking in we were shown to room 14 ,on first appearances it did not look all that good.But being as there was no other available rooms we had to accept it .We have travelled extensively around the world but this is the worst bedroom we have stayed in.The paint was peeling off the ceiling and walls, cracks in the plaster in both bedroom and bathroom it also had very low water pressure , the windows were very dirty one was misted up spoilng the view .There were also very strong cooking smells on our floor.It was as though there was no kitchen air extractor. I voiced my complaints to the desk clerk thinking i might get a discount but he just ignored my compaint .So for £72 a night i found this hotel to be poor value

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rod9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2008

Stayed for a weekend in this hotel. We booked a double room with bathroom and sea view, but were upgraded to a much larger room with a settee and large tv - very large room and very comfortable, bathroom with bath and shower, complimentary toiletries were of good quality with nice smell! The room and the hotel were warm. From our window the castle was directly in front(which was lit up at night and looked lovely) and to the right the sea. Nice bar with a sea view and an open fire, and a very comfortable lounge with tv overlooking the sea with binoculars! Also a small conservatory at the front with a sea view. We had an evening meal on our first evening which was very pleasant. Breakfast was adequate - not the variety as in some establishments but nonetheless enjoyable and hot. We met Jenny and Michael who looked after us over the weekend, they were both very helpful and welcoming. Some of the decor was a tad tired looking, but the owners have plans in mind and have only been at the hotel for about 8 months and will need time to do this. We notice that the hotel was classified as 2 star, but even with the slightly tired decor think that it was above that and should be higher. Would recommend for a relaxing, friendly, comfortable stay , and in a very peaceful part of Criccieth, but only 5 mins walk to the town.Would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlesheDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.2 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
303 reviews
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
George IV Hotel
George IV Hotel
#4 of 6 in Criccieth
242 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel

Address: Marine Crescent, Criccieth LL52 0EA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Criccieth
Price Range: £81 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Marine Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing