We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a way to bring in the NEW YEAR !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marine Hotel
Ranked #14 of 21 Criccieth B&B and Inns
Clitheroe
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a way to bring in the NEW YEAR !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2010

We went for a break between xmas and new year but were made so welcome by the owners Gaynor and Martin that we decided to stay on for the new years eve celebrations. We also took our dog Riley who was made more than welcome and would have been accommodated in the sun lounge at mealtimes if necessary. Good bar in the evenings plenty of banter with the locals pets welcome bearing in mind locals also take their dogs in.[ just in case your dog is a snob ] Good evening meal if required good choice and plenty of it .Good size comfortable room with splendid views of castle and sea. This was not our first visit and look forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usandhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    40
    13
    11
    11
See reviews for
25
39
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

My partner and I stayed at this hotel in September and absolutely loved it. The location is absolutely spot on, we had room 18 with an amazing view of the castle and the sea to the right of us. The room was spacious, there was a plentiful supply of tea/coffee making facilities and the bed was incredibly comfortable which is rare in a hotel. The breakfast was spot on with good service and the owners of this hotel are incredibly friendly and made us feel very welcome, so much so in fact, that we are returning at the end of this month. I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules6863Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2009

Weve just come back from staying at this lovely hotel, myself, husband,teenage daughter and 5 year old. I booked this hotel for the weekend as a birthday present for my husband i have to say the staff are lovely, very friendly and could not do enough for us. The hotel is comfortable,cosy and clean, bedrooms are spacious with tea/coffee making facilities with free refills, also lovely comfy beds.We enjoyed having a relaxing drink in the bar during the evenings and the hotel has a separate pool room. Fabulous sea views from lounge and conservatory.Breakfast was lovely everything piping hot, really enjoyable. We had a lovely stay so thankyou to all the staff who made us feel very welcome and hopefully see you all again soon, I would certainly recommend this hotel. Criccieth is a great place to stay !!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2009

After reading some of the reviews of this hotel we approached our stay with some trepidation as we had booked for two nights. However the greeting from the owners who have only recently taken over the hotel, was warm and friendly and although the decor is somewhat dated (caught in a 1980's timewarp) it was clean and tidy. We saw no sign of the threadbare carpets described by another reviewer. We had a good view from our window, the 'rock' mentioned was actually Criccieth Castle, beautifully floodlit at night and with the sea to one side. Our room was not luxurious but it was clean and the bed was comfortable and there was a plentiful supply of tea,coffee and toiletries. The residents lounge was comfortable with a lovely sea view, the bar cosy and the dining room was bright and cheerful. We ate in the hotel both nights of our stay, the menu was varied , service good and the food well cooked. and delicious.The full English breakfaast was good. We would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imametrologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yr wyddgrug
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

Stayed for 1 night in Room 4. Plank of wood holding the bed in the middle, very uncomfortable. Shower Room was very clean but nowhere to hang towels and toilerties - needs hooks behind doors. Did have sea view but would have to have a very long neck to see it. The bedroom was facing a very large rock face. The Hotel needs a good makeover but we could see the owners doing their very best to keep their customers happy with what they got, they were very pleasant. Full cooked breakfast was poor. Will visit the Marine Hotel again once it has had a makeover as it is in a lovely location by the Castle. Wanted to stay a few more nights but for the money it was a bit too expensive, will stay in the Travelodge next time.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lwnsibwns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Criccieth hotels

Somerset
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2009

My partner and I have just returned from a trip to Criccieth, and we stayed at the Marine hotel. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel very welcome and the friendly owners couldn't do enough for us. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean with all of the facilities that you'd need. The hotel has some splendid sea and castle views and our room had a beautiful view with its own little sitting area where we could sit back in the bay window and enjoy the views. Breakfast was delicious with quite a selection to choose from, and certainly more than enough to set us up for the day. The only slight downside is that the hotel is a little date with its interior decoration, but other than that, I wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to friends and family.
Thanks very much and looking forward to staying again soon.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hthc5653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

I was disappointed in this hotel. when we were 1st shown to the room, my heart sank as I got towards the top of the hotel and I saw the state of the walls and the carpets which looked like they hadnt been cleaned in a month. The paint and the plaster was peeling off the walls.
At 1st I thought the room didn't look too bad, but when I came to draw the curtains that evening, it was like tryin to draw a small skirt with the hem hanging down and the heading falling apart. Haven't they heard of heading tape and gathered headings ! They were as thin as gauze, and didnt stop any light at all from coming in.
On the plus side, the Breakfasts were fine and the beds were comfy.
The shower didn't leave much room for entering and the water pressure was poor.
On the whole I thought £99 per night (for room no.18 which slept 4 people) was over-priced for the standard of the accommodation.
Such a shame - this hotel has a great position and such potential.
i loved Criccieth, but would look for another guest house next time we go there.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.2 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
0.2 mi away
George IV Hotel
George IV Hotel
#4 of 6 in Criccieth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel

Property: Marine Hotel
Address: Castle Street, Criccieth, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Marine Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing