We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Weekend Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bodlondeb Hotel

Bodlondeb Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bodlondeb Hotel
Ranked #16 of 21 Criccieth B&B and Inns
Kirkby-in-Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Weekend Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

As a child I spent nearly every summer in and around this part of North Wales and both my wife and I have been planning to return. With a quick search on booking.com we came up with the Bodlondeb Hotel and we immediately booked for 2 nights. We were not dissapointed in the least.
We were greeted by Nicholas who immediately made us feel at home. He showed us to our room the now famous room 10, (I've read other reviews) and we were impressed. What a view, what a room. There cannot be a better view in Criccieth. The room is well and tastefully decorated with an amazingly comfortable bed and a couch in the massive bay window to sit and watch the world go by, nice and slowly. The en-suite is modern and clean with a shower. Plenty of tea & coffee in the room.
Breakfast both mornings was excellent, full English, sorry Welsh with a buffet for the cereal fruit etc. There was no evening meal available when we stayed, but not a problem as there are plenty of good quality local restaurants and pubs.
I notice that a couple of the reviews mentioned old and leaky windows! These have now been replaced, certainly in the front rooms, with new double glazed ones, so do't let that put you off.
All in all a wonderful find and thank-you to NIcholas and Leisha for making our return to Criccieth an absolute delight!!!! We will most definitely be back to stay at the Bodlondeb Hotel

Room Tip: Make sure that you get one with a sea view, ideally room 1 or room 10, but don't tell everyone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatRogerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    29
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
38
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

On arrival an the Bodlondeb Guesthouse, we were greeted by a warm and friendly staff. We completed the transaction which began online. We spent 3 nights, with our two daughters. The rooms were clean and are tidied everyday. Breakfast was healthy and filling. We were asked about our day when we returned each evening-a lovely family atmosphere. Our rooms were at the back, but weren't bothered, we went in just in time for a wash and bed.There was a well resourced lounge area but we didn't use because we are an up and about adventurous family. The stay was great and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves in North Wales.

Room Tip: Back rooms were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieDesmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Just spent two nights in Bodlondeb with my boyfriend through an Amazon Local Deal. From the moment we arrived our hosts were friendly, accomodating and welcoming. Dinner on the first night was delightful (I wanted the recipe for the Cream of celery soup!) and breakfast each morning was tasteful and hearty enough to set up both up for a day of exploring this beautiful corner of Wales.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Findangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Just spent the weekend at the Bodlondeb Hotel in Criccieth through an Amazon Local Deal with my partner. Checking in was pleasant with Nicholas being extremely helpful. Our double room at the back of the hotel was a little on the small side with only having 1 bedside table which meant not being able to read as I got the side with no table/light. The bathroom was a good size with a good shower and the clean towels each day. Our deal was bed and breakfast with 1 evening meal which we took on the Friday evening. The meal was excellent with a lovely choice of dishes and breakfast on both days was equally substantial.

Criccieth is a lovely base to explore the area and on the Saturday we visited Port Merion and Harlech which were lovely. Criccieth itself is a lovely village with a couple of restaurants and pubs and would recommend it as a lovely weekend break.

The deal from Amazon was very good value for money. The hotel in it's defence is a little tired and could do with and in time will do doubt be renovated to eradicate shaky sash windows which kept me awake with the wind but other than that the bed was extremely comfy and the bedroom had tea making facilities which was nice. Both NIcholas and Leisha made our weekend most enjoyable and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We enjoyed a 2 day break in September using an Amazon voucher.It was excellent value for money.The food was very good, both breakfast and dinner. Pity dinner was not served on Tuesday evenings. The view from our front facing bedroom was superb.The room was large with good storage facilities but the bathroom was tiny and a little tired. Hospitality was first class.Hope to return next year.

Room Tip: Book a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STUART089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bidford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Good
We stayed here for an August Bank Holiday break. The location is set back from the front but our room had great sea views. The Hotel is within easy walking distance of the beach, town & railway station.
The room was large and had all we needed in it. There was plenty of storage with some lovely furniture and a sofa in the sea facing window. The bed was comfortable and linen, including towels, was all clean and soft.
The public lounge area was comfortable and doubles as a bar. As there’s no real bar the Beer is bottled.
The restaurant had plenty of room between tables, giving a nice comfortable atmosphere. The choice was varied but you do have to pre order, usually at breakfast time. The food was tasty and there was more than enough on every plate for me.
The Breakfast was good and set us up for the day. There was a good and varied choice for this as well.

Bad
We got the first two nights B&B plus a meal on a deal through Amazon, which made it good value. I think that the extended part of our stay was not worth it. We only stayed the extra nights as friends of ours from Swansea had joined us for a few days.
One let down with the room was the lack double glazing. You could hear the road outside being used like a race track one evening and the train passing every time. There was also lots of condensation on the inside of the sash windows, parts of the frames were rotten and the windows could only be opened a few inches as they had stoppers on the frames.

Conclusion
In their defence the owners have done a lot to the Hotel since they took it over and have a lot of plans for developments and its future.
I’m sorry to say I’d only stay here again on an Amazon type deal as I do not think the rooms are worth what we paid. Our friends agreed with us on the lack of value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brookleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We had a lovely break at the Bodlondeb Hotel via an Amazon local deal. We received a very warm welcome on arrival. Great service. Food was excellent, can really recommend the Rib eye steak and the strawberry cheesecake. Our room very comfortable and we had a lovely view from our room number 1. Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidandAnnette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Criccieth hotels
0.4 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#1 of 21 in Criccieth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Awel Mor
Awel Mor
#3 of 21 in Criccieth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plas Isa Hotel
Plas Isa Hotel
#5 of 21 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gwynle Boutique B & B
Gwynle Boutique B & B
#6 of 21 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodlondeb Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodlondeb Hotel

Property: Bodlondeb Hotel
Address: Portmadoc Road, Criccieth LL52 0HP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Criccieth
Hotel Class:3 star — Bodlondeb Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bodlondeb Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodlondeb Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing