We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wee gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spice Bank

Spice Bank
Ranked #17 of 30 Restaurants in Criccieth
Price range: US$11 - US$30
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A wee gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely looking building from the outside and just as nice inside.
Waiters were attentive, efficient and friendly.
Great choice on the menu and the food we ordered was amazing.
You must try this restaurant if you are in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    87
    64
    24
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unexpected Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Had an excellent meal at Spice Bank, didn't expect to find an Indian in a small town like Criccieth every bit as good as anything I've had in London. Nice varied menu and the best Onion Bhaji's I've had for years!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SpursFan1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Had great take away will be back again. Lovely food, great quality. Meat, spices, veg, sauces all superb.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Spib28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Worst Indian food & Terrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We were a group of 8 people making a trip to wales during Easter long weekend and visited this restaurant on 19/04/2014. 4 of us were vegetarians and we picked the A-la carte menu and ordered our food by by 7:45PM. But they did not serve anything until 8:30 and when asked the manager replied that they are busy and some people who came before us were still waiting. Atlast we were served by 9PM and the quantity & quality of the food was not upto the mark. It was a total rip-off for what they provide the customers. On top of that we were not given what we have ordered, and when asked the manager told us that they will not charge us for that item and never bothered to ask about replacing them.

The other 4 who took the set menu for 2 were given dry chicken to go with the naan bread and rice. When my friend called the waiter over and said they were not happy with the meal, explaining what they were expecting. His explanation was that this is how they serve tikka masala. We decided not to go for any indian restaurant during the trip just because of the bad experience we had with this restaurant. To top that the manager was giving excuses that they were busy and that's the reason for delay. It's a pity that there were some families with kids and were waiting hours to get the food served.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bharanink2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Decent curry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Although not out for a meal, we happened across this place at dinner time, and being curry fans, decided to give it a go.

We were pleasantly surprised - both the restaurant and food were very pleasant. A wide selection of options on the menu, with fast and friendly service.

Admittedly the place was empty when we arrived, which I can't explain as it was very good.

Shame they don't do a mango lassi - not encountered that at an Indian restaurant before.

I would gladly recommend this place if you're in the mood for a casual curry and beers.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank duddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice Bank also viewed

 
Criccieth, Gwynedd
Criccieth, Gwynedd
 
Criccieth, Gwynedd
 

Been to Spice Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing