We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, excellent food, amazing location, lovely and clean room....we will be back”
Review of Plas Isa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plas Isa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Criccieth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly, excellent food, amazing location, lovely and clean room....we will be back”
Reviewed 2 July 2010

My husband and I stayed in Plas Isa (20th - 24th June) for our 3rd Wedding anniversary, we had a truely delightful few days away.

The owners, Anna and Ian were so welcoming and friendly and their hotel by the sea is just beautiful. We stayed in room 12 which has a glorious sea view and a luxurious super king size bed. The room and ensuite bathroom were spotlessly clean and my husband was so impressed that the hotel provides wifi internet without charging.

We ate in the hotel restaurant on the first night, the Lamb shanks were delicious and my husband was really impressed by the large portions (He has a big appetite!). On our last day after a spectacular coastal walk we chose to eat in the hotel again, you can't beat real home cooking, my husband enjoyed every mouthful of his locally sourced welsh black steak and I had the sea bass - delicious.

The location is fantastic and we are already planning to return next summer.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandra1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plasisa, Owner at Plas Isa Hotel, responded to this review, 5 July 2010
thankyou for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    47
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
36
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2010

A stunning sea front location, well appointed (if slightly cosy) rooms and a nice library in case you forgot a book to read...Plas Isa Hotel offers all of this and quite a bit more. We went with our little 5 month old, and my mother in law. They thoughtfully provided a cot bed for our LO and a vegetarian breakfast for the mother in law - customer delight!

The hotel is a short walk from the beach front (though you can drive onto the beach if you want to), as also the criccieth's high street, with its lovely antique shops. As aside : The local ice cream - cadwaladers is a must try!

The room itself was very clean (we had a sea view room - gorgeous, and just £5 more than a non-sea view). It came with a coffee maker and a selection of teas/coffees. The en-suite had a bath though a trifle unappointed by way of products (carry your own soap/shower gel/shampoo).

Breakfast was hearty welsh (oddly similar to the full english - and come to think of it, the full scottish - but national pride is high here and you don't want to mix up names). They served black pudding (carefully put by us on the side - if you don't know what that is, please google), rashers, sausages, fried tomato, scrambled eggs and as much toast as one can quaff.

On the whole, a very nice experience. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poppysmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plasisa, Owner at Plas Isa Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2010
many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

Great quiet little hotel with very friendly and helpful owners. We stayed at the Plas Isa for 3 nights and booked 4 twin rooms. All the rooms were of a good size with a nice modern bathroom/shower. The rooms were clean and modern, with tea/coffee facilities, hairdryer etc. Clean wash and bath towels were provided daily. None of our rooms had a sea view but some of the rooms at the front of the hotel have a fantastic view over the sea to Harlech and Cricieth castle.

Private car parks to the front and rear of the hotel so no problem with parking your car. Small bar and a lovely conservatory overlooking the sea.

One night we ate in the hotel restaurant and another we just had a bar meal but both were enjoyable. Anna one of the proprietors used to run a restaurant in the town, so is well used to serving good quality food. Breakfast (which was included) is served in the restaurant with a good selection - the full Welsh breakfast is highly recommended.

The hotel is about a 5/6 minute walk into the town where there are plenty of cafes/pubs and restaurants, including a very nice Indian (Bangladesh) situated in a converted bank.

Both Anna and Ian, the proprietors were very friendly and helpful. Both are good golfers and also organise golfing holidays from the hotel if you are interested. Ian is also a ex Welsh football international and very happy to talk football with you. Check out their website it is very good with realistic photographs

Would we go again - very definately and probably spoil ourselves with a sea view room.

Many thanks to Anna and Ian and the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank santamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plasisa, Owner at Plas Isa Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2010
many thanks for you kind review we are really glad that your stay was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Criccieth
0.1 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bron Eifion Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Moelwyn
The Moelwyn
#6 of 6 in Criccieth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lion Hotel
The Lion Hotel
#1 of 20 in Criccieth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plas Isa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plas Isa Hotel

Property: Plas Isa Hotel
Address: Portmadoc Road | Gwynedd North Wales, Criccieth LL52 0HP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Criccieth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Criccieth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Plas Isa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plas Isa is a family run hotel . All rooms are ensuite with either walk in shower or bath with over head shower private facilities. We have twelve rooms with combinations of double , King size or twin. We have private off road parking . Please access our web site for prices and availability, and full discription of all rooms.We have an ala carte menu available for residents and non resident on a booking only basis. Plas Isa has a private small, but cosy bar with real ales and larger on tap and a large variety of other drinks available. Plas Isa Offer discounted Golf rates to group societies on all local golf clubs please speak to either Ian or Anna for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Plas Isa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plas Isa Hotel Criccieth, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing